confess thy sin, & thou shall be set free?

Date: 06-11-2009 9:50 pm (15 years ago) | Author: z4 Beamer
- at 6-11-2009 09:50 PM (15 years ago)
too bad this wasnt the case

'Praying' murderer jailed for life

George Maben's "confession" was played to an Old Bailey jury, which found him guilty on Thursday of murdering his girlfriend's wealthy mother.

It was after detectives heard his emotional, whispered words "God, forgive me for what I have done" that they arrested Maben, of Rosehill, Surrey, for strangling Maureen Cosgrove, 65.

Unemployed Maben, 45, had denied murdering Mrs Cosgrove at her home in Southway, Carshalton Beeches, Surrey, on March 24.

Mrs Cosgrove was asphyxiated with a ligature in the kitchen of her £1 million, five-bedroom home after a visit to the dentist.

Maben was the partner of her daughter Lucy Rees, 34, who was expecting his baby.

Judge Jeremy Roberts ordered that Maben, whose family are from Dungannon, Northern Ireland, should serve a minimum of 13 years.

Judge Roberts told him he was reducing the term which might have been expected from a pre-meditated murder because it was out of character and because Maben had been under pressure.

Judge Roberts said Maben was under "enormous pressure" and must have seen no other way to be with the woman he loved and their baby. He added: "It was illustrated by your prayer for forgiveness which was recorded by police."

The judge said he did not want anything he said to be interpreted as criticism of Mrs Cosgrove, who was the innocent victim of the crime. He said: "It was no-one's fault that the situation developed where your relationship with Lucy, whom you loved deeply, and her mother, whom you must have seen as a obstacle, drove you to such an act of desperation."

Posted: at 6-11-2009 09:50 PM (15 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- NKEMJOU at 11-11-2009 02:10 AM (15 years ago)
hehehe, dey caught him
Posted: at 11-11-2009 02:10 AM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- ezecyyyy at 11-11-2009 08:20 AM (15 years ago)
Chaii
Posted: at 11-11-2009 08:20 AM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- teeco at 11-11-2009 08:22 AM (15 years ago)
Quote from: Toks-E on  6-11-2009 09:50 PM
too bad this wasnt the case

'Praying' murderer jailed for life

George Maben's "confession" was played to an Old Bailey jury, which found him guilty on Thursday of murdering his girlfriend's wealthy mother.

It was after detectives heard his emotional, whispered words "God, forgive me for what I have done" that they arrested Maben, of Rosehill, Surrey, for strangling Maureen Cosgrove, 65.

Unemployed Maben, 45, had denied murdering Mrs Cosgrove at her home in Southway, Carshalton Beeches, Surrey, on March 24.

Mrs Cosgrove was asphyxiated with a ligature in the kitchen of her £1 million, five-bedroom home after a visit to the dentist.

Maben was the partner of her daughter Lucy Rees, 34, who was expecting his baby.

Judge Jeremy Roberts ordered that Maben, whose family are from Dungannon, Northern Ireland, should serve a minimum of 13 years.

Judge Roberts told him he was reducing the term which might have been expected from a pre-meditated murder because it was out of character and because Maben had been under pressure.

Judge Roberts said Maben was under "enormous pressure" and must have seen no other way to be with the woman he loved and their baby. He added: "It was illustrated by your prayer for forgiveness which was recorded by police."

The judge said he did not want anything he said to be interpreted as criticism of Mrs Cosgrove, who was the innocent victim of the crime. He said: "It was no-one's fault that the situation developed where your relationship with Lucy, whom you loved deeply, and her mother, whom you must have seen as a obstacle, drove you to such an act of desperation."

Na him time finish Cheesy

Posted: at 11-11-2009 08:22 AM (15 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Toks-E at 11-11-2009 09:21 AM (15 years ago)

Posted: at 11-11-2009 09:21 AM (15 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- teeco at 11-11-2009 09:27 AM (15 years ago)
yes na

Posted: at 11-11-2009 09:27 AM (15 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- blings_is_back at 11-11-2009 11:43 AM (15 years ago)
Posted: at 11-11-2009 11:43 AM (15 years ago) | Hero
- teeco at 11-11-2009 06:00 PM (15 years ago)
weytin you dey ok

Posted: at 11-11-2009 06:00 PM (15 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- onuorahuchenna at 14-11-2009 12:14 AM (15 years ago)
HE TALK TO YOU?
Posted: at 14-11-2009 12:14 AM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- Toks-E at 14-11-2009 02:36 AM (15 years ago)
Quote from: teeco on 11-11-2009 06:00 PM
weytin you dey ok

Quote from: onuorahuchenna on 14-11-2009 12:14 AM
HE TALK TO YOU?

una 2 dey make me laff

Posted: at 14-11-2009 02:36 AM (15 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- onuorahuchenna at 14-11-2009 03:15 AM (15 years ago)
Quote from: Toks-E on 14-11-2009 02:36 AM
weytin you dey ok

HE TALK TO YOU?

una 2 dey make me laff

HOW?
Posted: at 14-11-2009 03:15 AM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- Toks-E at 15-11-2009 02:51 AM (15 years ago)
Quote from: onuorahuchenna on 14-11-2009 03:15 AM
Quote from: Toks-E on 14-11-2009 02:36 AM
weytin you dey ok

HE TALK TO YOU?

una 2 dey make me laff

HOW?

make u llook wetin u talk for dat place  na Grin Grin

Posted: at 15-11-2009 02:51 AM (15 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- cyril4christ at 16-11-2009 04:31 AM (15 years ago)
NA WA OHHHHHHHHHHHHHH
Posted: at 16-11-2009 04:31 AM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- divineproject at 27-05-2010 04:55 PM (14 years ago)
He may not have been freed by humans........but he has asked for forgiveness from HIM dat matters most - GOD!  That is more important..........

Posted: at 27-05-2010 04:55 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- ndjoe at 27-05-2010 05:40 PM (14 years ago)
una sure?
Posted: at 27-05-2010 05:40 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- omatu at 27-05-2010 07:11 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: divineproject on 27-05-2010 04:55 PM
He may not have been freed by humans........but he has asked for forgiveness from HIM dat matters most - GOD!  That is more important..........

How are we so sure this was a confession?  What if he was praying about something else?  I still have my doubts.  This type of justice is questionable.
Posted: at 27-05-2010 07:11 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ngfineface at 3-09-2015 02:48 PM (9 years ago)
Na wa. See fight for here
Posted: at 3-09-2015 02:48 PM (9 years ago) | Hero

1. Lady Calls Out JAMB After Mysterious Overnight Change in Brother’s UTME Result

2. "Why Was I Held Hostage?" — VeryDarkMan Blasts GTBank Over EFCC Arrest Ordeal (Video)

3. "How My Mother’s Lover Rap3d Me" — 12 Year Old Victim Narrates Ordeal

4. Football Star, Lionel Messi-Marriage Rumours Stir Online Frenzy As Divorce Speculations Grow

5. Ex-AUN Provost, Professor Yusuf Attahir Baba Loses Three Children in Devastating Car Crash

6. Female Kidnapper, Three Others Nabbed in Police Raid on Notorious Anambra Criminal Hideout

7. El-Rufai &Peter Obi Meet At Cambridge Conference, Sparking Political Speculation Ahead Of 2027

8. NDLEA Officer Arrested After Failed Armed Robbery Attempt, Shooting Of Bolt Driver in Abuja

9. Fresh Wave of Violence In Benue As Herdsmen Attacks Leave Nine Farmers Dead

10. Federal Government Sets Plans In Motion To Repatriate 15,000 Stranded Nigerians Abroad

11. JAMB Faces Legal Heat as Aggrieved Candidates Drag Board to Court Over Low UTME Scores

1. 18Yr Old Boy Impregnates 10 Girls, Including His Boss' Daughter After He Was Sent To Learn A

2. "Many Have Suffered From Stroke" -Pastor Oyakhilome’s Sermon On Salt Sparks Heated Debate (Vid)

3. VDM And I Are Officially Married - Actress Sarah Martins Drops Bombshell

4. LA HOTTIE! Davido’s Wife, Chioma Adeleke, Flaunts Her Hot Bod In Lovely New Photos

5. "Why I Would Choose Davido Over Burnaboy, Wizkid" – Singer, Zinoleesky

6. 'Some Men Are Praying For Their Wives To Die So They Can Marry Another' -Nigerian Man Blows Hot

7. Nollywood Star, Uche Ogbodo Undergoes 'BBL & Tummy Tuck'; Shares Recovery Journey (Video)

8. I’m Married To Jesus — Pretty Reverend Sister Tells Asaba Boys Asking For Her Number (VID)

9. What God Said I Should Tell You..- Female Bishop Sends Warning to Gospel Singer Mercy Chinwo

10. Kunle Remi Reacts To Trending Video Showing The Toilet In A ‘Luxury Apartment’ In Lekki, Lagos