“We’re Not Politicians, Stop Inviting Us To Impromptu Meetings” – Obas tell GEJ

Date: 22-02-2015 7:25 am (9 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 22-02-2015 07:25 AM (9 years ago)

President Goodluck Jonathan on Friday held a short meeting with some Ogun State traditional rulers. The News Nigeria reports that the parley held on the sidelines of the commissioning of the Olorunsogo Power Plant.

The monarchs were led by the Akarigbo of Remoland and Chairman of the Ogun State Traditional Council, Oba Michael Sonariwo, Alake of Egbaland, Oba (Dr.) Aremu Adedotun Gbadebo, Olowu of Owu,Oba Adegboyega Dosunmu, Olu of Itori,Oba Fatai Akamo, Oniro of Iro,Oba Adebari, Olu of Owode- Egba, Oba Sowemimo and other traditional rulers, mostly from the Ogun Central Senatorial District.

The monarchs were said to have lamented the various attacks on the former Nigerian President, Chief Olusegun Obasanjo, after he announced his departure from the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP.

They also demanded that the President caution his aides to cease verbal assaults on Obasanjo.

One of the monarchs, apparently speaking the mind of his colleagues, protested the impromptu meeting, which he regarded as a disrespect to the royal class.

“We must be respected because we are not politicians and cannot just be summoned into a meeting without prior notice,” he said.

FacebookTwitterEmailPrintMore

imagePresident Goodluck Jonathan on Friday held a short meeting with some Ogun State traditional rulers.

The News Nigeria reports that the parley held on the sidelines of the commissioning of the Olorunsogo Power Plant.

The monarchs were led by the Akarigbo of Remoland and Chairman of the Ogun State Traditional Council, Oba Michael Sonariwo, Alake of Egbaland, Oba (Dr.) Aremu Adedotun Gbadebo, Olowu of Owu,Oba Adegboyega Dosunmu, Olu of Itori,Oba Fatai Akamo, Oniro of Iro,Oba Adebari, Olu of Owode- Egba, Oba Sowemimo and other traditional rulers, mostly from the Ogun Central Senatorial District.
The-Ogun-Obas-at-the-meeting-with-Jonathan

Ogun Obas, Gbenga Daniel at the meeting with Jonathan

The monarchs were said to have lamented the various attacks on the former Nigerian President, Chief Olusegun Obasanjo, after he announced his departure from the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP.

They also demanded that the President caution his aides to cease verbal assaults on Obasanjo.

One of the monarchs, apparently speaking the mind of his colleagues, protested the impromptu meeting, which he regarded as a disrespect to the royal class.

“We must be respected because we are not politicians and cannot just be summoned into a meeting without prior notice,” he said.

“Also, we down here, always respect elders, we don’t say because of politics, one will not know his elders.”

After the meeting, the Obas reportedly proved their displeasure by reluctantly agreeing to take photographs with President Jonathan.

Speaking, President Jonathan appealed for support for his re-election and that of other PDP candidates in the State.

In attendance were former governor of the State, Gbenga Daniel, his former deputy, Alhaja Salmot Badru, Minister of Power, Prof. Chinedu Nebo, his Culture and Tourism counterpart, Edem Duke, former Speaker of the State House of Assembly, Titi Oseni-Sodunke, Senior Special Assistant to the President on Public Affairs, Doyin Okupe, Chief of Staff to the President, Brig. General Jones Arogbofa.

Others are Governor Emmanuel Uduaghan of Delta State, Peter Obi, Ex-governor of Anambra State, Ogun PDP Governorship candidate, Gboyega Nasir Isiaka, MD/CEO, Niger Delta Power Holding Company Limited, James Abiodun Olotu among others.

Earlier at the commissioning, Jonathan commended the people of the State for creating an enabling environment for the project, which was started by the Obasanjo administration.

“I must commend all our people from Ogun State, especially, people from the catchment areas, the trading leaders, the youth leaders, the women leaders for creating the enabling environment for this project to go on to this level that we are here today commissioning. This is your project and we shall expect your continued cooperation in safeguarding it.

“With the support we are getting from our traditional rulers, religious and youth leader, community and women leaders, we will get to where we want to go. I am pleased that I have lived up to my campaign pledges to make power sector reform a priority and a reality.

“This agenda has ushered in new capital investment and would continue to boost more investment opportunities for the private sector players, widening the horizon of our transformation agenda through the multiplier effects.

“I urge you all to support the federal government. This is the way we can improve electricity services to the entire country,”Jonathan said.

“We are also thinking about the very unpopular one, the issue of energy from atomic sources which we are working on very hard. Of course, international agencies and companies would always control you because of the implications of developing that sector.

“And of course, the renewed sources the Honourable Minister mentioned, the solar, that is abundant especially in the northern part of the country. We have all these potential and if we can annex all these and make sure that we get power supply to stimulate the growth of our micro enterprises.
“We are lucky as a nation because we have gas, so the mega companies and the big companies don’t depend on the national grid. They buy the gas and generate their own power but without a stable power supply. Small businesses can not survive, they can not survive by buying small generators and buying fuel and sometimes, there are hazards leading to death or destruction of properties”.

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - @Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 22-02-2015 07:25 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- maizaxx at 22-02-2015 07:43 AM (9 years ago)
With due respect sir. The problem stemmed from you the Oba's. At least on of you was seen endorsing a  political candidate outrightly
Posted: at 22-02-2015 07:43 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- bashoo8888 at 22-02-2015 08:01 AM (9 years ago)
Return d ghana must go too.... 1st 2 comment Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 22-02-2015 08:01 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- bamilok2008 at 22-02-2015 08:01 AM (9 years ago)
Money at work Obas, I know none of them will reject his offer,GEJ going to market to campaign and convince is better to this Obas they can't help u,
Posted: at 22-02-2015 08:01 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- DJSNIPPER at 22-02-2015 08:13 AM (9 years ago)
That's why they are asking him to put the agreement in writing and that I think is a smart move. If GEJ reneges on his promises after their support his signed agreement will be all over the newspapers unlike the purported one-term agreement that no one was able to publish any tangible evidence. The other party, APC, does not look good to them. They want PDP and won't take any back-pedaling. It was clear Tinubu scuttled the appointment of Mulikat as the Speaker. It is also clear, even from APC's comment here, that Timubu does not hide his disrespect and disdain for the Obas. Obas in SW are highly respected institutions. Ridiculing them for no just cause as Tinubu has done will definitely not go unpunished--- this elections is where they have been waiting to respond to Tinubus' insurbodination. Though the polls will be keenly contested especially in the SW given the propagander agenda of APC the Obas are nonetheless the game changers there and will turn the tide in favor of GEJ if GEJ agrees and signs to accede to their demand. Their demand is sensible--- give our people prominence and impliment the confab resolution which was a negotiated agreement between all stakeholders in the country. My gut feeling is GEJ will win SW fair and square-- may not be landslide but majority votes is his.
Posted: at 22-02-2015 08:13 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- beneno at 22-02-2015 08:23 AM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 22-02-2015 08:23 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- EmekaBlue at 22-02-2015 08:33 AM (9 years ago)
president dey invite u..una dey form..all these jobless pple sitting in palace
Posted: at 22-02-2015 08:33 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- freethinker at 22-02-2015 10:20 AM (9 years ago)
TRASH, U CAN WRITE WHATEVER U LIKE, U ARE ON PAYROLL OF APC LIKE SAHARA
SO GO AHEAD AND WRITE WHATEVER OK
Posted: at 22-02-2015 10:20 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- royalsam450 at 22-02-2015 05:44 PM (9 years ago)
I wonther what will hapen to some people here if jona win this election it will be like chelsea bayern final
Posted: at 22-02-2015 05:44 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- DemmyBlack at 22-02-2015 08:49 PM (9 years ago)
Desperado President...
Posted: at 22-02-2015 08:49 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- BobGbadus at 22-02-2015 11:34 PM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 22-02-2015 11:34 PM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- Tanjible at 23-02-2015 12:18 AM (9 years ago)
Ofemmanu People and there Longthroat after they will do Owambe  Grin
Posted: at 23-02-2015 12:18 AM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- mensch at 23-02-2015 05:33 AM (9 years ago)
if he had held the meeting without inviting you, you will still say it is an insult for the
president to hold meeting s in your town without consulting you.

what exactly do you want?
Posted: at 23-02-2015 05:33 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Abubu86 at 23-02-2015 06:22 AM (9 years ago)
They have already sell dia respect 4 a Ghana must go
Posted: at 23-02-2015 06:22 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Abubu86 at 23-02-2015 06:24 AM (9 years ago)
Quote from: Tanjible on 23-02-2015 12:18 AM
Ofemmanu People and there Longthroat after they will do Owambe  Grin
U be ewu,onye'ara
Posted: at 23-02-2015 06:24 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Andybest1 at 23-02-2015 07:30 AM (9 years ago)
Obas
Posted: at 23-02-2015 07:30 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- Nicksam at 23-02-2015 07:46 AM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 23-02-2015 07:46 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- echeeche at 23-02-2015 10:24 AM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 23-02-2015 10:24 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- discollins at 23-02-2015 11:26 AM (9 years ago)
what exactly do you want?
Posted: at 23-02-2015 11:26 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- sweetgirl11 at 23-02-2015 01:19 PM (9 years ago)
 Grin >: Grin Grin
Posted: at 23-02-2015 01:19 PM (9 years ago) | Newbie

1. 74Yr Old Woman Robs Bank At Gunpoint After Losing Her Life Savings To Online Scammers

2. How Abusive Nigerian Man, Beat Wife To Death Months After Relocating To The UK

3. We Find Love in Unexpected Places – Bimbo Ademoye Writes As She Shares Loved-up Photo With Timi

4. Ex-runs Girl Lands Herself In Trouble After Finding Out Her Former Client Is Her Brother-in-Law

5. Actress, Stella Udeze Reveals Why Actresses Have Unhappy Relationships

6. Late Mohbad’s Toxicology Result Ready As Pathologist Begins Evaluation

7. Interior Minister, Tunji-Ojo To Relocate Suleja Correctional Centres To Avoid Inmate Escape

8. 'Avoid Panic Buying, Petrol Prices Not Changing' — NNPC To Nigerians

9. Nigerian Actress, Doris Simeon Reveals Why She Relocated To America

10. NSCDC Arrest 8 Illegal Security Guards, Recovers Firearms In Anambra

11. I Foresee ‘Earth-Shaking’, Climatic Problems In Lagos, Abuja, Others – Primate Ayodele Warns

1. 'Brand Ambassador', Phyna Calls Out Pepsi For Supplying Her Expired Drinks

2. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

3. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So

4. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office

5. VID: Peter Obi Replies Critics Asking Him Why He Didn't Build a School in Anambra as a Governor

6. "Emefiele, Kanu Arrested Arbitrarily As Pre-Trial Detention Persists In Nigeria" – US Govt Says

7. Watch Touching Video Of Lady Surprising Boyfriend Who’s An Okada Rider

8. Yoruba Nation: Akintoye, Sunday Igboho Write Open Letter To Tinubu, Seek Exit From Nigeria

9. Rapper Megan Thee Stallion Sued By Cameraman Claiming He Was Forced To Watch Her Have S3x

10. Divide Nigeria Before June 15 - Yoruba Nation Agitators, Sunday Igboho, Akintoye Tells Tinubu