Armed Robber Nabbed In Lagos After Missing His Way After Operation

Date: 23-12-2015 5:26 am (8 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 23-12-2015 05:26 AM (8 years ago)

The police in Lagos have arrested a suspected robber, Saliu John, on the Old Apapa Road, Oyingbo, after allegedly dispossessing some market women of about N28,000.

PUNCH Metro gathered that John, who came to the area with two others, was nabbed by members of a vigilance group after he reportedly missed his way after the operation.

It was learnt that John and other accomplices had suddenly become separated, forcing the suspect to
hide behind a tanker parked on the road. Some local security men later sighted him there.

John was arrested at about 9pm on Monday, was questioned by the security men and he told them that he had come to do business in the area from Ijora, after which he missed his way.

When the suspect was, however, searched, the vigilance group members were said to have found different purses containing money, arousing the suspicion of the security men that John allegedly attacked some market women.

The suspect was said to have been taken to the Iponri Police Division on Tuesday.

A member of the vigilance service executive, identified only as Musibau, told PUNCH Metro that John’s three-man gang usually came from the Ijora area to rob on Jones, Atitebi and neighbouring streets on the Old Apapa Road.

Musibau added that when John could not account for the cash found on him, the security men knew he was a robber.

He said:
 “It was at about 8.30pm on Monday. The robber was hiding behind a tanker parked by the roadside. It was a security man at a hotel nearby who noticed the stranded robber and alerted the vigilance group.

When we searched him, we found purses containing sums of N1,500, N3,000, N2,500 among others, which added up to around N28,000. He could not give account of where he got the purses. He initially lied that he was coming from the Ijora area to do business and he had missed his way.

Later, he confessed to robbery, and we held him until the morning when policemen from Iponri came to take him away. The hoodlums have a culture of robbing women who are returning from markets in the evening. They would attack them with broken bottles and clubs and collect their day’s sales.

We learnt that the suspect came with two others who had escaped, but he got separated from them and was left behind. We did not find any weapon on John. But he came from the Ijora Badia, Apapa area.”

A resident, identified only as Kareem, said the gang also stole the batteries of two cars parked on Atitebi Street.

One of the car owners, who declined to be named, told Punch that he wanted to warm his car when he discovered that the hoodlums had removed the battery.

He said:
 “When I opened the bonnet, I did not see the battery. As I searched for it, I was told that some robbers had struck on the neighbouring street, and one of them was caught. But it is their custom to sneak into our street and remove car batteries. I have yet to see the battery.”
The vigilance group and the police were making efforts to track the two other suspected robbers.

The Lagos State Police Public Relations Officer, DSP Joe Offor, promised to get back on the incident. He, however, had yet to do so as of press time, Punch reports.

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - https://twitter.com/Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 23-12-2015 05:26 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- whylex4show at 23-12-2015 06:08 AM (8 years ago)
Na so,every day for the thief but one day for the owner.
Posted: at 23-12-2015 06:08 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- gogoman at 23-12-2015 09:53 AM (8 years ago)
christmas thing, see him face thief
Posted: at 23-12-2015 09:53 AM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- Novic at 23-12-2015 10:48 AM (8 years ago)
Chaii... your time has end, God has catch you. End of time robber.
Posted: at 23-12-2015 10:48 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- zezprincess at 23-12-2015 11:46 AM (8 years ago)
Nawaooo,local criminal,see your life,just cos of xmas flezin wit ur girlfriend,so na jail you go go do your xmas.
Posted: at 23-12-2015 11:46 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Oworen25 at 23-12-2015 08:22 PM (8 years ago)
Instead of you guys to stay at home and prepare for the Christmas season you decide to go for robbery, that the end of the road for you.
Posted: at 23-12-2015 08:22 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- botlex at 23-12-2015 10:32 PM (8 years ago)
Nice one by the members of the vigilante group. The guy cup don full sha
Posted: at 23-12-2015 10:32 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- AmazingMarie at 23-12-2015 10:46 PM (8 years ago)
robbing innocent women face the crime.
Posted: at 23-12-2015 10:46 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- okatee at 27-12-2015 12:14 AM (8 years ago)
lolzzzz datz gud fr him. everydae fr d thief, one dae fr d owner.
Posted: at 27-12-2015 12:14 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Mopera at 28-12-2015 06:28 PM (8 years ago)
Nawaooo,local criminal,see your
life,just cos of xmas flezin wit ur
girlfriend,so na jail you go go do
your xmas.
Posted: at 28-12-2015 06:28 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- moralemike07 at 3-01-2016 01:03 PM (8 years ago)
Isn't this funny? That's how our enemies will miss their ways.
Posted: at 3-01-2016 01:03 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- charisVEC at 5-07-2016 05:55 PM (7 years ago)
I seeee
Posted: at 5-07-2016 05:55 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Toks-E at 5-07-2016 09:39 PM (7 years ago)
OK, e son red for am na.

Posted: at 5-07-2016 09:39 PM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero