President Robert Mugabe's 92nd Birthday To Be Marked With £550,000 Festivities - Photos

Date: 23-02-2016 2:27 pm (8 years ago) | Author: CLARA JANCITA
- at 23-02-2016 02:27 PM (8 years ago)

Robert Mugabe who has been in power in Zimbabwe for 36 years turned 92 this week and staff at his office presented him with a huge cake to mark the occasion. A bigger party will be held this weekend in the city of Masvingo featuring a huge 92kg cake and the whole party costing £550,000.
The 'thank you' bash for the world's oldest head of state will see banners and billboards carry the slogan 'Thank you, Bob, for giving us a voice to be heard'. Mugabe's birthday has been a public celebration since 1986 and while officials are reticent to disclose costs, past festivities have been said to run up to $1million for the transportation, accommodation and feeding of thousands of guests.
it was published a 16-page supplement to celebrate this year's occasion with posters in the newspaper reading 'Mugabe's birthday is like that of Jesus Christ'.

With Zimbabwe in the midst of a drought that has left over 3million people reliant on food aid supplied mainly by the United States and the European Union, opponents of the president have criticised the lavish celebrations at a time of hardship but supporters insist they must party on.
Ruling party members and business people paid between $5000 and $100000 for a table of 10 at a sold-out dinner this weekend to raise funds for the festivities.

Outside the banquet, some Zimbabweans were bitterly critical of the birthday plans.
'Maybe they have no shame, openly feasting amid such hunger,' said Denias Munongoza, 27, a college graduate who sells cigarettes and condoms to feed his family. 'This year the president should have said `no.''
'Mugabe and his cronies are planning to feast instead of attending to the resuscitation of the comatose economy and addressing the effects and impact of the drought,'
said Obert Gutu, spokesman for the opposition Movement for Democratic Change-T.

Posted: at 23-02-2016 02:27 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- gogoman at 23-02-2016 02:37 PM (8 years ago)
lol blow the candle make your teeth fly comot
Posted: at 23-02-2016 02:37 PM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- zezprincess at 23-02-2016 02:44 PM (8 years ago)
Oga mugabe,I dey hear the cry of your subjects,is like your government is not doing well&you dey here de party,hmmmm,anyway congrats&HBd,live long mugabe.
Posted: at 23-02-2016 02:44 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- okatee at 23-02-2016 02:45 PM (8 years ago)
MY GR8T COUNTRY NAIJA BETTER PAST MANY COUNTRIES IN D WORLD OOOO.
#FAKE MUGABE #FAKE 92 #FAKE COUNTRY ZIMBABWE #FAKE PEOPLE.
 DATZ Y TINASHE PREFER TO CLAIM AMERICAN DAN ZIMBABWE.
Posted: at 23-02-2016 02:45 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- cocoeni at 23-02-2016 02:56 PM (8 years ago)
@ 92  Mr president you no won retiree  for life? anyway HBD
Posted: at 23-02-2016 02:56 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- kp45 at 23-02-2016 03:02 PM (8 years ago)
HBD
Posted: at 23-02-2016 03:02 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Powerfulify at 23-02-2016 04:03 PM (8 years ago)
Born 2 die in d office
Posted: at 23-02-2016 04:03 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- princedafe at 23-02-2016 04:06 PM (8 years ago)
Another senseless post
Posted: at 23-02-2016 04:06 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- emma4love3 at 23-02-2016 04:08 PM (8 years ago)
abeg make dem no use dat word say him
birthday na like jesus christ...jesus christ is not
his mate oooh....old fool wey no won hand over to the young....
Posted: at 23-02-2016 04:08 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- kison at 23-02-2016 04:48 PM (8 years ago)
PRESIDO FOR LIFE....JUST  be careful,be very very careful, CAREFULLLLLLLLL...... ..
Posted: at 23-02-2016 04:48 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Trueyarn at 23-02-2016 04:56 PM (8 years ago)
HBD papa but the 500,000pounds nah him go say make you no die again?
Posted: at 23-02-2016 04:56 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- winace at 23-02-2016 05:42 PM (8 years ago)
Dats d greed African leaders have. How can somebody up to 80 to 100 still be on power till now. Wen then will d leaders of 2mrw start ruling or taking care of d country.
Posted: at 23-02-2016 05:42 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- ujmaria at 23-02-2016 08:45 PM (8 years ago)
Happy birthday, but make u retire
Posted: at 23-02-2016 08:45 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- softhils at 23-02-2016 10:19 PM (8 years ago)
Greed at it's peak... 92 years old black greedy ape like man.
Posted: at 23-02-2016 10:19 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- AmazingMarie at 23-02-2016 11:49 PM (8 years ago)
he is so strong and agile for a 92years old man
Posted: at 23-02-2016 11:49 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Eazyatumeyi at 24-02-2016 12:00 AM (8 years ago)
I like this man, oga flex nothing do you.
Posted: at 24-02-2016 12:00 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- deboalabi262 at 24-02-2016 12:10 AM (8 years ago)
HBD...

Posted: at 24-02-2016 12:10 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- imaria at 24-02-2016 01:56 AM (8 years ago)
Happy birthday but oga try make you step down because you are too old for that sit
Posted: at 24-02-2016 01:56 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- emma4love3 at 30-03-2016 11:30 PM (8 years ago)
mmmm we hear ojn
Posted: at 30-03-2016 11:30 PM (8 years ago) | Hero