Constitutional review: What does it portent for our collective future? (Page 2)

Date: 09-08-2008 6:43 pm (15 years ago) | Author: FORTUNE A
- blackberryPearl at 12-10-2008 01:29 AM (15 years ago)
read it up
it will tell u whose votes counts and why constitutions r amended or ratified
Posted: at 12-10-2008 01:29 AM (15 years ago) | Hero
- Godsson at 13-10-2008 12:01 AM (15 years ago)
What are we reading up?We ve read the 1999 Constitution and saw that it was a bad constitution.Almost all in this country ve a consensus on that.However,how to go about amending it now it the crux of a new problematic.
Many,including yours truly,are not sure about the outcome of the process.We are now living at the mercies of the Nigerian Comprador bourgeoisie hoping against hope that they come up with a ggod constitution.Only God and time will tell.
Posted: at 13-10-2008 12:01 AM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- blackberryPearl at 13-10-2008 12:19 AM (15 years ago)
now, am lost
Posted: at 13-10-2008 12:19 AM (15 years ago) | Hero
- khadijah at 13-10-2008 02:24 AM (15 years ago)
well...i thought the constitution was pretty much the same as before...well..i think it wont make much difference cause i'm yet to see a change in govt and a change in attitude

Quote from: Godsson on 13-10-2008 12:01 AM
What are we reading up?We ve read the 1999 Constitution and saw that it was a bad constitution.Almost all in this country ve a consensus on that.However,how to go about amending it now it the crux of a new problematic.
Many,including yours truly,are not sure about the outcome of the process.We are now living at the mercies of the Nigerian Comprador bourgeoisie hoping against hope that they come up with a ggod constitution.Only God and time will tell.
Posted: at 13-10-2008 02:24 AM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- zie85er at 15-10-2008 11:13 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: khadijah on 13-10-2008 02:24 AM
well...i thought the constitution was pretty much the same as before...well..i think it wont make much difference cause i'm yet to see a change in govt and a change in attitude

i'm beginning 2 see some changes

Posted: at 15-10-2008 11:13 PM (15 years ago) | Hero
- Godsson at 15-10-2008 11:33 PM (15 years ago)
ZIE
What changes are U talking about?E bi like say me & U dey live 4 different countries oo?So far,I never see anything.
Posted: at 15-10-2008 11:33 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- blackberryPearl at 16-10-2008 02:13 AM (15 years ago)
i think is getting worse
Posted: at 16-10-2008 02:13 AM (15 years ago) | Hero
- zie85er at 16-10-2008 08:38 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: Godsson on 15-10-2008 11:33 PM
ZIE
What changes are U talking about?E bi like say me & U dey live 4 different countries oo?So far,I never see anything.
sorry if i used d word 'see'  i meant 2 say feel... cos there aint nothing  2 be seen.....i just feel a good wind blowing...i may be wrong though

Posted: at 16-10-2008 08:38 PM (15 years ago) | Hero
- Godsson at 16-10-2008 09:05 PM (15 years ago)
Hmmmmmmmmm?I pray I feel same soon.lol
Posted: at 16-10-2008 09:05 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- blackberryPearl at 17-10-2008 01:52 AM (15 years ago)
ok oooo
Posted: at 17-10-2008 01:52 AM (15 years ago) | Hero
- Godsson at 8-11-2008 05:19 PM (15 years ago)
The Senate President,David Mark has identified 15 items that should be touched by any constitution review process by the National Assembly.The include among others,the follow:1.Ways & means of attaining complete Autonomy & independence of the Legislature;(2)Harmonization of the tenure for Chief Executives at Federal,State & LGs;(3)The issue of removal or retention of Immunity clause;(4)The Desirability or otherwise of of maintaining State Electoral Comms,;(5)The Autonomy of INEC;(6)The Autonomy or otherwise of LGAs as truly 3rd tier of Gov't  & where their powers should be located;(7)True Federalism within the Nigerian State;State Creation;(8)Revenue Sharing & Related matters.

I'll state the rest later.These are the areas Sen.Mark identified has needing attention.
Posted: at 8-11-2008 05:19 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- kentorito at 9-11-2008 05:01 PM (15 years ago)
its just clear to us all....................its just for "their" good. its obvious that it is not people oriented
Posted: at 9-11-2008 05:01 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- Godsson at 13-11-2008 10:36 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: kentorito on  9-11-2008 05:01 PM
its just clear to us all....................its just for "their" good. its obvious that it is not people oriented

Well,I dont want to conclude yet.Let's keep watching to see how events turn out.
Posted: at 13-11-2008 10:36 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- Godsson at 23-11-2008 02:00 PM (15 years ago)
The Joint Constitution Review Committee was set up last week.Let's keep our fingers cross,as always and see what goes down.
Posted: at 23-11-2008 02:00 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- Godsson at 24-01-2009 10:46 PM (15 years ago)
The on going beef between the House & Senate on the Review of this Constitution is another pointer that they are not concern with creating a "Peoples' Constitution".Cus if they do,they wont be wasting time fighting over who is to be Chairman of the Joint Constitution Review Committee.Let's keep watching & see where the drama leads us next.
Posted: at 24-01-2009 10:46 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- lonelyzeal at 13-02-2009 12:18 AM (15 years ago)
Constitutional Review for where?Who are those to carry out the exercise?Is it the same folks that are lucked in a senseless battle of supremacy?I dont think so.This present National Assembly lacks the competence & maturity needed to handle such a delicate national assignment.Let us continue to move on with this our present defective 1999 Constitution,instead of handing our collective destiny to some riff-raffs.
Posted: at 13-02-2009 12:18 AM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- Asimole at 16-02-2009 05:06 PM (15 years ago)
Let’s wait and see what the feature hold for us
Posted: at 16-02-2009 05:06 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- Godsson at 8-03-2009 11:46 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: lonelyzeal on 13-02-2009 12:18 AM
Constitutional Review for where?Who are those to carry out the exercise?Is it the same folks that are lucked in a senseless battle of supremacy?I dont think so.This present National Assembly lacks the competence & maturity needed to handle such a delicate national assignment.Let us continue to move on with this our present defective 1999 Constitution,instead of handing our collective destiny to some riff-raffs.

Zeal.
I wont add any word to this.U ve said what I had in mind.If I add anything,I will spoil this great comments.lol!
Posted: at 8-03-2009 11:46 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- Godsson at 18-04-2009 11:18 PM (15 years ago)
With what Yar'Adua and Aondooka had  done to the Muhammed Uwais led Committee on Electoral Reforms Report, all in the name of White paper, I dont see any good coming out of the so called Constitutional Review. Who are those to Review or amen it? Is it the Bankoles of this world? A Speaker that was quoted as saying that his party will deploy the Military to Ekiti re-run gubernatorial Election cannot be trusted to provide us with a democratic Constitution. Already, Mark is a retired General in the Army. So, I wont even talk about him. Let's see what's next.
Posted: at 18-04-2009 11:18 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- Godsson at 19-08-2009 08:22 PM (14 years ago)
I still ca,t believe that some Nigerians actually believed that the present stock of law-makers can actually carry out any meaningful review of the 1999 Constitution. This is another jock that has rest for a while now. Kiakiakiakiakiakiakiakiakiakiakia! Nigeria is really a circus sometimes.
Posted: at 19-08-2009 08:22 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming