Marriage Isn’t An Achievement- Linda Ikeji, Other Speak On The Pressure To Marry Before 30

Date: 11-08-2016 2:30 pm (8 years ago) | Author: CLARA JANCITA
- at 11-08-2016 02:30 PM (8 years ago)

In a recent chat with Genevieve Magazine, publisher Betty Irabor, comedian/actress Chioma ‘Chigul’ Omeruah and celebrity blogger Linda Ikeji shared their thoughts on the pressure women face to get married before the age of 30.
Read their thoughts below ...
Linda Ikeji:

Marriage is not an achievement. There is so much more to life than being someone’s wife.

Get married please, but don’t be pressured into it. I don’t know how many of you single girls are under pressure to get married but I am. Pressure from family, friends and people who just can’t mind their business. The pressure is so intense right now I feel like going to husband market – if there is any such thing- to buy myself some breathing space.
Give me a break you people.
Chigul:

In my opinion, the pressure is not a fabrication. It is very real! After you have worn asoebi about a million times, you begin to wonder when it is going to be your turn to sell asoebi too! And when you factor in mums and aunties constantly reminding you of the shelf life of women.

It gets to you, even if it is just a bit. People may even suggest some very strange things to you to do to ‘earn’ marriage. Well, I have come to realise that we allow ourselves to be pressured. The decision to get married should not be taken because you are being pressured, that could lead to a disaster.

Don’t let anyone make you go into anything you are not ready for or your joy may be shortlived. And to those mounting pressure on others to go and get married, there is simply no justification for your behaviour
Betty Irabor:

I don’t think women should be worried about being married before 30 because many women before that age have not yet gone through the school of life which prepares them for marriage

Posted: at 11-08-2016 02:30 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- CHRISETTE at 11-08-2016 02:35 PM (8 years ago)
Tell them oo
Posted: at 11-08-2016 02:35 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- GermoDon at 11-08-2016 02:41 PM (8 years ago)
gud
Posted: at 11-08-2016 02:41 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- chimkey at 11-08-2016 02:51 PM (8 years ago)
Though there may be pressures from families, friends, etc. But the worst pressure is the one women gave
themselves because the truth still remains that every woman wants to settle down before 30.
Posted: at 11-08-2016 02:51 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- beneno at 11-08-2016 03:01 PM (8 years ago)
Make una dey give una self hope there,if to say Linder Ikeji don marry and she never make money,she for also say money no everything Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 11-08-2016 03:01 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- morgan1 at 11-08-2016 03:58 PM (8 years ago)
Na u talk am oo
Posted: at 11-08-2016 03:58 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- zezprincess at 11-08-2016 04:05 PM (8 years ago)
I concur.
Posted: at 11-08-2016 04:05 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Mynameis1 at 11-08-2016 04:13 PM (8 years ago)
Spoken from the heart..
Posted: at 11-08-2016 04:13 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ruthie at 11-08-2016 04:15 PM (8 years ago)
GOOD TALK, DONT MIND ALL THE THOSE PEOPLE.. NA DEM THEY SUFFER PASS FOR HUSBAND HOUSE, THEY WANT MAKE WE JOIN THEM... TUFIA
Posted: at 11-08-2016 04:15 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- schmit at 11-08-2016 05:17 PM (8 years ago)
Ur suggestions
Posted: at 11-08-2016 05:17 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Trueyarn at 11-08-2016 06:58 PM (8 years ago)
Make una continue,una eyes go clear very soon.
Posted: at 11-08-2016 06:58 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- kima77same at 11-08-2016 09:21 PM (8 years ago)
IF MARRIAGE IS NOT AN ACHIEVEMENT TO YOU, TO OTHERS, IT IS OOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!
   THEN, GO ON AND BE MASTURBATING.
      I DON'T KNOW WHY PEOPLE LIKE COVERING THE TRUTH WITH LIES, SWEET MOUTH, DECEPTION, POWER, MONEY, SOCIAL STATUS, ACADEMICS LEVEL, INFLUENCE, CARRIER, AND SO ON.I WIST I CAN GET YOU SIT DOWN FOR 5 MINUETS, IT WILL CHANGE YOUR WAY OF REASONING.
     OR, YOU DON'T KNOW, LATE MARRIAGE IS DANGEROUS TO WOMEN'S HEALTH?  THERE ARE LOTS OF CLINICAL ISSUES TRACEABLE TO WOMEN LATE MARRIAGE. EVEN THE ALMIGHTY FIBROID.
     DON'T ENCOURAGE PEOPLE TO DO THE WRONG THING

Posted: at 11-08-2016 09:21 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Knowman at 11-08-2016 09:43 PM (8 years ago)
Which Linda #doneherhoneypotsmell.   Quote wizkid.   Which chigul #doneweybelikeelephant  .  Quote me.  Just passing have to go grab myself some Mickey'Ds
Posted: at 11-08-2016 09:43 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- kison at 11-08-2016 09:52 PM (8 years ago)
Y'ALL SHOULD KEEP ON MASTURBATING WITH YA LIFE,,,Y'ALL BETTER BE careful, be very very careful, CAREFULLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL……………………………….
Posted: at 11-08-2016 09:52 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- dareper at 11-08-2016 10:12 PM (8 years ago)
See hope wey this people dey give themselves. I pity una conditions
Posted: at 11-08-2016 10:12 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- winace at 11-08-2016 11:43 PM (8 years ago)
U are all entitle to ur opinions anyway.
Posted: at 11-08-2016 11:43 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Abiola14 at 12-08-2016 06:37 AM (8 years ago)
Liar.
Posted: at 12-08-2016 06:37 AM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- lexyclasy at 12-08-2016 08:28 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: ruthie on 11-08-2016 04:15 PM
GOOD TALK, DONT MIND ALL THE THOSE PEOPLE.. NA DEM THEY SUFFER PASS FOR HUSBAND HOUSE, THEY WANT MAKE WE JOIN THEM... TUFIA
And for your mind you think people that got married suffer....then you must still be in your sleep.....that's just a consolation for you.....The Bible says He that findeth a wife findeth a good thing and receive favour from the lord......when you have big eye and marry the wrong person is when you suffers....Marriage is a sweet thing ......Is people like you that prefer to date married men than singles reason best known to you.....so stop acting skeptical....in as much as am not in support of pressurization but all the 3 above and others of that same categories may not tell me on the face that men of valour have not been approaching them for marriage.....But the point is that...they are afraid to be subjected under a mans headship that's all
Posted: at 12-08-2016 08:28 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- jjiofor at 12-08-2016 10:23 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: ruthie on 11-08-2016 04:15 PM

Gas cooker is risky to those who cannot afford it, Aeroplane is also risky for dem so they prefer road travel.----------Whatever you cannot afford you make it look like it is not good, my pryaer for you is that you should wake up from your delusion, it is not by force to make comment.
Posted: at 12-08-2016 10:23 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- ngfineface at 12-08-2016 10:42 AM (8 years ago)
Chigul you were sooo honest that I asked God to bless you with a husband before the year runs out.
Posted: at 12-08-2016 10:42 AM (8 years ago) | Hero

1. Lady Calls Out JAMB After Mysterious Overnight Change in Brother’s UTME Result

2. "Why Was I Held Hostage?" — VeryDarkMan Blasts GTBank Over EFCC Arrest Ordeal (Video)

3. "How My Mother’s Lover Rap3d Me" — 12 Year Old Victim Narrates Ordeal

4. Football Star, Lionel Messi-Marriage Rumours Stir Online Frenzy As Divorce Speculations Grow

5. Ex-AUN Provost, Professor Yusuf Attahir Baba Loses Three Children in Devastating Car Crash

6. Female Kidnapper, Three Others Nabbed in Police Raid on Notorious Anambra Criminal Hideout

7. El-Rufai &Peter Obi Meet At Cambridge Conference, Sparking Political Speculation Ahead Of 2027

8. NDLEA Officer Arrested After Failed Armed Robbery Attempt, Shooting Of Bolt Driver in Abuja

9. Fresh Wave of Violence In Benue As Herdsmen Attacks Leave Nine Farmers Dead

10. Federal Government Sets Plans In Motion To Repatriate 15,000 Stranded Nigerians Abroad

11. JAMB Faces Legal Heat as Aggrieved Candidates Drag Board to Court Over Low UTME Scores

1. 18Yr Old Boy Impregnates 10 Girls, Including His Boss' Daughter After He Was Sent To Learn A

2. "Many Have Suffered From Stroke" -Pastor Oyakhilome’s Sermon On Salt Sparks Heated Debate (Vid)

3. VDM And I Are Officially Married - Actress Sarah Martins Drops Bombshell

4. LA HOTTIE! Davido’s Wife, Chioma Adeleke, Flaunts Her Hot Bod In Lovely New Photos

5. "Why I Would Choose Davido Over Burnaboy, Wizkid" – Singer, Zinoleesky

6. 'Some Men Are Praying For Their Wives To Die So They Can Marry Another' -Nigerian Man Blows Hot

7. Nollywood Star, Uche Ogbodo Undergoes 'BBL & Tummy Tuck'; Shares Recovery Journey (Video)

8. I’m Married To Jesus — Pretty Reverend Sister Tells Asaba Boys Asking For Her Number (VID)

9. What God Said I Should Tell You..- Female Bishop Sends Warning to Gospel Singer Mercy Chinwo

10. Kunle Remi Reacts To Trending Video Showing The Toilet In A ‘Luxury Apartment’ In Lekki, Lagos