Nigerian Doctor, Lawal Haruna Removes Woman Ovary Instead Of An Appendix During An OP In UK

Date: 12-05-2017 10:11 pm (6 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
- at 12-05-2017 10:11 PM (6 years ago)

A senior surgeon who accidentally removed a woman's ovary instead of her appendix has been struck off after being branded a 'danger to patients'.

Dr Lawal Haruna, 59, botched up three operations over the course of two years - including removing a woman's ovary because he said the appendix and fallopian tubes were similar 'worm-like structures' in the same area.

The unnamed woman, known as Patient B, was treated by him when she was admitted for abdominal pain while he was working for Sheffield Teaching Hospitals Trust in Sheffield, South Yorkshire.

During the operation, one of her ovaries was removed leaving her appendix - which was causing her great pain - in situ. A tribunal heard how it was lucky she was not of child-bearing age as it could have affected her fertility.

Dr Haruna botched up two further operations - mistaking a lump of fat for an appendix in one case and a skin tag for a harmful lump in another. 

A man known as Patient A was supposed to be treated for acute appendicitis - but Dr Haruna removed a pad of fat instead by mistake.

Colleagues described the operations as poorly executed and 'never events'.   

When health bosses began investigating, Haruna botched a third operation on a woman known as Patient C who had been admitted with a cyst - only for him to remove a skin tag instead.

Posted: at 12-05-2017 10:11 PM (6 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Afriqueenn at 12-05-2017 10:22 PM (6 years ago)
Nawao, handiwork of village NRCs.
Reminds me of Ben Carson in "Gifted Hands" who always prayed before surgeries, major or minor.
We should take prayers seriously in everything we do, whether as executors of an act or recipients.
Imagine if that woman were of child bearing age and children lover!
As "simple" as going to the salon to have my hair done, I always pray to God to weave my hair through the hairdresser, so that it'll not turn out poorly Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 12-05-2017 10:22 PM (6 years ago) | Upcoming
- owolaborn at 12-05-2017 10:41 PM (6 years ago)
I feel for that man. They say "surgeries can be so difficult"
Posted: at 12-05-2017 10:41 PM (6 years ago) | Upcoming
- osarobo62 at 13-05-2017 01:07 AM (6 years ago)
he should become  a carpenter to avoid further damage
Posted: at 13-05-2017 01:07 AM (6 years ago) | Hero
- morgan1 at 13-05-2017 02:07 AM (6 years ago)
Haba!!! Dockie???
Posted: at 13-05-2017 02:07 AM (6 years ago) | Hero
- waffibabe at 13-05-2017 03:35 AM (6 years ago)
He should be made the gate man of the hospital
Posted: at 13-05-2017 03:35 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Mikexp at 13-05-2017 06:30 AM (6 years ago)
Engr haruna
Posted: at 13-05-2017 06:30 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- benosky4 at 13-05-2017 08:33 AM (6 years ago)
He should be sent back to skool

Posted: at 13-05-2017 08:33 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- schmit at 13-05-2017 09:06 AM (6 years ago)
See him coat
Posted: at 13-05-2017 09:06 AM (6 years ago) | Hero
- Zadok1 at 13-05-2017 09:43 AM (6 years ago)
Hhahahah Aboki doctor
Posted: at 13-05-2017 09:43 AM (6 years ago) | Upcoming
- livinus5 at 13-05-2017 12:01 PM (6 years ago)
See  yie coat sef abi
Posted: at 13-05-2017 12:01 PM (6 years ago) | Upcoming
- Larry28 at 13-05-2017 12:45 PM (6 years ago)
Your village people don follow u oo
Posted: at 13-05-2017 12:45 PM (6 years ago) | Hero
- ColinGill at 26-09-2020 07:42 PM (3 years ago)
Sound horrible. I cannot imagine how such people can be declared doctors. Sometimes I think that they do not learn at the university but sleep there. I don't like doctors, sorry for that, I know that we have great doctors that save lives every day but I always have a bad experience with them. The last one was when I went to a vet to see what is happening with my little dog. He had some skin tags and i wanted to see if everything is ok. He started to tell me that my baby needs an operation. I was very afraid and started to search for the information and found a skin tag on scrotum that can help me very quickly to solve the problem. And I did this. Now my baby is clear without any operations.
Posted: at 26-09-2020 07:42 PM (3 years ago) | Newbie

1. Female Student Who Assaulted Namtira Bwala at Lead British School Apologises For Her Action

2. VIDEO: Carter Efe Calls Out Sydney Talker Over Singer, Khaid’s Health Status

3. Davido’s Manager, Asika Speaks On why Davido is Yet to Collaborate With Wizkid, Burna Boy

4. Wives Of Osun State Gov Adeleke Battle For Position Of 1st Lady As Nigeria's 1st Lady Visits

5. Rita Edochie Throws Shade As She Celebrates May Edochie On Her Double Achievement

6. Reno Omokri Reacts To Abuja Chinese Supermarket 'Racist', Demands Wike's Action

7. NAFDAC Uncover Illegal Activities Of Fake Cosmetics Producer In Lagos

8. Police Deploy Officers to Investigate Bullying at Leads British International School

9. Niger: Gov Bago Dragged For Spraying Naira Notes At Citizens

10. I Am Not In EFCC Custody - APC Gov. Aspirant, Akinterinwa Denies Being Detained By EFCC

11. Singer, Simi Reveals How She Wrote & Sang Her Hit Song, ‘Joromi’ With Irritation

12. OAP Do2dtun Reacts To Viral Bullying Videos, Calls Out Secondary School Bullies

13. BULLYING: Lead British School, Abuja Releases Public Statement

14. Owner Of Abuja Chinese Supermarket Denies Barring Nigerians

15. Police Seek Family Of Missing Child Found Wandering In Osogbo

5. Pastor, David Odeniyi Seeks Divorce After Wife Strips Him Nak3d In Front Of His Congregation

7. Abia State Police Arrest Suspects Linked To Mysterious Death of 23-Yr-Old Hope Chinedu Prosper

8. Nollywood Actress Toyin Abraham Extends Olive Branch To Funke Akindele,Calls For Industry Unity

9. Nigerian Man Introduces Innovative Solution For Money Spraying At Parties Amidst EFCC Crackdown

10. Owner of Cybercrime 'Yahoo Yahoo' Training School, Ikemesit Edet Jailed 10 Years in Uyo