Can u fall in love with a deaf and dumb? (Page 3)

Date: 07-06-2010 10:54 am (13 years ago) | Author: Stan N. (Waco Janta)
1 2 [3] 4 5
- igboprincess at 8-06-2010 04:47 AM (13 years ago)
It's not even socially/politically correct to say "deaf and dumb" anymore which means that society has come to terms with the fact that those who are Visually/Audio Impaired are human beings capable of affection, emotion, and expression of Love/Feelings.  What makes an Audio/Visual Impaired person different and incapable of falling in love with another person?  ABSOLUTELY Nothing.  They can communicate quite effectively.  The ignorance stems from those who are still seeing the Stigma attached to this group of individuals. 

Everyday on TLC/Discovery Channel are shows that demonstrate individuals who have unique capabilities that makes them stand apart from everyone.  One thing that I find amazing is that back home there seems to be a level of ignorance about illnesses, conditions that cause people to ostracize people who may be affected by such.  Even Nollywood has taken a stab at projecting these individuals as if they are monsters in society and not accepted.  I saw a movie where a guy happened to have Epilepsy and people acted like he had the Plague.  In another, a girl had Sickle Cell trait and the guy wouldn't marry her.  All of this is absurd because there is treatment for most conditions and they aren't as life threatening as people back home perceive them to be.  Is it a lack of resources, knowledge, medical care?  I believe it is and therefore attitudes won't change until people are properly educated in these areas.

I remember a cousin of mine was getting married and she was making a BIG deal about  whether the guy was AA or AS and I didn't react like she did and she wondered why.  I explained to her that in other parts of the world I've never heard people make a HUGE deal about it or let it be a determinant to whether they will marry or not.  She was shocked until I showed her two friends who didn't even inquire about it with each other and later discovered one of them was a carrier after they had gotten married and had a child.  With proper medical attention they are living a wonderful life.

Please let us stop stigmatizing, stereotyping, labeling those who may have impairments as if they aren't human beings.
Posted: at 8-06-2010 04:47 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- humblej at 8-06-2010 06:59 AM (13 years ago)
Have heard all u have said, if u can set the example, perhaps I will be one among  those who will join your train.

Posted: at 8-06-2010 06:59 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- esonu at 8-06-2010 07:49 AM (13 years ago)

Posted: at 8-06-2010 07:49 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- waco at 8-06-2010 08:57 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: igboprincess on  8-06-2010 04:47 AM
It's not even socially/politically correct to say "deaf and dumb" anymore which means that society has come to terms with the fact that those who are Visually/Audio Impaired are human beings capable of affection, emotion, and expression of Love/Feelings.  What makes an Audio/Visual Impaired person different and incapable of falling in love with another person?  ABSOLUTELY Nothing.  They can communicate quite effectively.  The ignorance stems from those who are still seeing the Stigma attached to this group of individuals. 

Everyday on TLC/Discovery Channel are shows that demonstrate individuals who have unique capabilities that makes them stand apart from everyone.  One thing that I find amazing is that back home there seems to be a level of ignorance about illnesses, conditions that cause people to ostracize people who may be affected by such.  Even Nollywood has taken a stab at projecting these individuals as if they are monsters in society and not accepted.  I saw a movie where a guy happened to have Epilepsy and people acted like he had the Plague.  In another, a girl had Sickle Cell trait and the guy wouldn't marry her.  All of this is absurd because there is treatment for most conditions and they aren't as life threatening as people back home perceive them to be.  Is it a lack of resources, knowledge, medical care?  I believe it is and therefore attitudes won't change until people are properly educated in these areas.

I remember a cousin of mine was getting married and she was making a BIG deal about  whether the guy was AA or AS and I didn't react like she did and she wondered why.  I explained to her that in other parts of the world I've never heard people make a HUGE deal about it or let it be a determinant to whether they will marry or not.  She was shocked until I showed her two friends who didn't even inquire about it with each other and later discovered one of them was a carrier after they had gotten married and had a child.  With proper medical attention they are living a wonderful life.

Please let us stop stigmatizing, stereotyping, labeling those who may have impairments as if they aren't human beings.

u wan textbook for my thread?

Posted: at 8-06-2010 08:57 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- simele at 8-06-2010 09:00 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: waco on  7-06-2010 10:54 AM
Is it bad for one to love a deaf and dumb
beauty queen?

not at all
Posted: at 8-06-2010 09:00 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- waco at 8-06-2010 09:07 AM (13 years ago)
i have one available Mr Smimele.
U need am?

Posted: at 8-06-2010 09:07 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- igboprincess at 8-06-2010 03:14 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: waco on  8-06-2010 08:57 AM
Quote from: igboprincess on  8-06-2010 04:47 AM

u wan textbook for my thread?

Sorry, you wanted a one word answer right?  Like Passing, Hiss, etc? 
Posted: at 8-06-2010 03:14 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- igboprincess at 8-06-2010 03:19 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: humblej on  8-06-2010 06:59 AM
Have heard all u have said, if u can set the example, perhaps I will be one among  those who will join your train.

Always BE YOUR OWN PERSON!  NEVER STRIVE TO FOLLOW ANYONE, SET YOUR OWN PATH.  LIVING YOUR LIFE THROUGH OTHERS WON'T ENSURE YOU A PLACE AT THE FINISH LINE.  I'LL LEAVE YOU SOME WORDS OF ADVICE FROM COLIN POWELL, LET IT MARINATE! HOPE IT HELPS.

COLIN POWELL SPEECH -
The less you associate with some people, the more your life will improve.  Any time you tolerate mediocrity in others, it increases your mediocrity. An important attribute in successful people is their impatience with negative thinking and negative acting people.  As you grow, your associates will change.  Some of your friends will not want you to go on.  They will want you to stay where they are.  Friends that don't help you climb will want you to crawl.  Your friends will stretch your vision or choke your dream. Those that don't increase you will eventually decrease you.

Consider this:

Never receive counsel from unproductive people.  Never discuss your problems with someone incapable of contributing to the solution, because those who        never succeed themselves are always first to tell you how.  Not everyone has a right to speak into your life.  You are certain to get the worst of the bargain when you exchange ideas with the wrong person.  Don't follow anyone who's not going anywhere.

With some people you spend an evening:  with others you invest it.  Be careful where you stop to inquire for directions along the road of life.  Wise is the person who fortifies his life with the right friendships.  If you run with wolves, you will learn how to howl.  But, if you associate with eagles, you will learn how to soar to great heights.  " A mirror reflects a man's face, but what he is really like is shown by the kind of friends he chooses."

The simple but true fact of life is that you become like those with whom you closely associate - for the good and the bad.

Note:  Be not mistaken.  This is applicable to family as well as friends.  Yes.....do love, appreciate ate and be thankful for your family, for they will always be

your family no matter what.  Just know that they are human first and though they are family to you, they may be a friend to someone else and will fit somewhere in 

the criteria above. 

"In Prosperity Our Friends Know Us.  In Adversity We Know our Friends."

"Never make someone a priority when you are only an option for them."

"If you are going to achieve excellence in big things, you develop the habit in little matters. Excellence is not an exception, it is a prevailing attitude..."

Colin Powell

Posted: at 8-06-2010 03:19 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- legodilaka at 8-06-2010 03:21 PM (13 years ago)
long speeeeeeech
Posted: at 8-06-2010 03:21 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- legodilaka at 8-06-2010 03:21 PM (13 years ago)
long speeeeeeech Huh? Huh? Huh?
Posted: at 8-06-2010 03:21 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- qunodinga at 8-06-2010 03:30 PM (13 years ago)
.....%fud 4 thot%..........
Posted: at 8-06-2010 03:30 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- igboprincess at 8-06-2010 03:43 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: qunodinga on  8-06-2010 03:30 PM
.....%fud 4 thot%..........

Indeed, food for thought-those who don't read things or complain about reading will be LEFT behind.
Posted: at 8-06-2010 03:43 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- legodilaka at 8-06-2010 04:18 PM (13 years ago)
OK OOOOOOOOOO.MAKE I PASS ABEG COMOT FOR ROAD
Posted: at 8-06-2010 04:18 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- Mr-World at 8-06-2010 09:20 PM (13 years ago)
beauty queen?

NO

Posted: at 8-06-2010 09:20 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ceejay58 at 9-06-2010 12:26 AM (13 years ago)
beauty queen?

akuba adaba...... Lips Sealed
Posted: at 9-06-2010 12:26 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- iyke1 at 9-06-2010 05:26 AM (13 years ago)
beauty queen?
NO

i think is gud to give it a try
Posted: at 9-06-2010 05:26 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- Mr-World at 9-06-2010 06:47 AM (13 years ago)
u will try first

Posted: at 9-06-2010 06:47 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- bomsiluv at 9-06-2010 08:45 AM (13 years ago)
Mr-world, you try it first
Posted: at 9-06-2010 08:45 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Mr-World at 9-06-2010 09:00 AM (13 years ago)
but am IN LOVE WITH U

Posted: at 9-06-2010 09:00 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- bomsiluv at 9-06-2010 09:08 AM (13 years ago)
In luv fire
Posted: at 9-06-2010 09:08 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
1 2 [3] 4 5