Amarachi, my love

Date: 29-08-2010 9:50 pm (13 years ago) | Author: charles omeze
- at 29-08-2010 09:50 PM (13 years ago)
Money, money, and money. That was what Amarachi was all about. Money to buy shoes, clothes, perfume, underwear, jewelry and so on and so forth. Emeka was tired, fed up completely with Amarachi's endless demands for money. But he loved her deeply, and was afraid that if he couldn't meet her demands, she would dump him for another guy. Emeka was a third year student at the University of Benin, where he was studying Sociology. Amarachi was in second year, studying Theatre Arts in the same school. Both faculties of Social Sciences and Arts buildings stood facing each other in the Ugbowo campus of UNIBEN.

And this thrilled Emeka to no length. He and Amarachi saw everyday; he could walk over to her class anytime he wanted to see her, which was every time. Standing on the corridors of the third floor of the Social Science building, he could see her sometimes on the corridors of the faculty of Arts building, when she was having a lecture break. Amarachi was beautiful; tall, slim and dark complexioned. She walked like a princess and smiled like a queen. Her smile was infectious. Her laughter was deep-throated and unpretentious. Amarachi left Emeka besotted. His love for her left him powerless.

Emeka came from a middle class home. Both his parents were bankers; and he was the first of only three children. Money was not a problem. He was well-off; at least his parents were, and they were not stingy. So money wasn't tight for him. He had good pocket money; and to meet Amarachi's never ending needs, Emeka came up with all sorts of excuses to get more money from his parents. And they obliged him, sometimes willingly; at other times grudgingly. They were bankers for God's sake they would tell him; not politicians or contractors.
The problem was that Amarachi was never satisfied. Or so it seemed to Emeka. She always seemed to want more and more. Emeka could not know it, because she was not very comfortable talking about her family background, but the truth was that even though she always seemed to buy new clothes and shoes like most girls, Amarachi spent most of the money Emeka gave her on taking care of her own family. Her father was retired, and his pension was nothing to write home about.

Her mother was a petty trader, who sold roasted yam and plantain at the street corner. Her capital was usually not more than N500, and she spent whatever profit she made on taking care of her children. Amarachi had four younger ones, for whom she was financially responsible. In fact, Emeka did not know it, but Amarachi was responsible for paying their school fees, and giving them pocket money. Any yet she was a student herself! Besides, Emeka, Amarachi had other male friends, whom Emeka did not know about of course. Amarachi usually travelled to Lagos, Port Harcourt and Abuja at intervals, claiming to be visiting with uncles and aunts. Actually, and you guessed it, she was visiting with other men. She usually hung out at the top hotels in those cities, where there was an abundance of rich, married or single men who were always happy to pay good money to beautiful girls to spend time with them.

Emeka did not suspect any of such things, and he loved Amarachi deeply. He suspected however that Amarachi's endless need for money must be because of her poor family background. Amarachi had never told him much about her family background. She always liked to say that she was a mystery girl, and that she loved to remain such until the time was ripe. Emeka did not know when that time would come, but he really did not care. After all it was her he was in love with, not her family background; whatever that might be. He honestly did not care whether she was of a poor background, or of a rich family background. What did it matter? All that mattered to him was the love he felt for her and the love he knew she felt for him; and that was all that mattered. Wasn't it?
Emeka wanted to marry Amarachi as soon as he graduated from UNIBEN.

His father, who was an assistant general manager at Skye Bank had assured him of a job with the bank as soon as he was done with his National Youth Service Corps programme. Emeka couldn't wait. He wanted to settle down as soon as possible and begin to have his own family. Three weeks later in his hostel room, Emeka sat and gazed into Amarachi's gorgeous face, and beautiful eyes. They had just become intimate, and Amarachi sat propped up on the bed, naked. Emeka was filled with contentment and wonder, both from having become intimate with her, and from gazing at her beautiful, naked body.

"I love you," he said. "Me too," she replied, and she meant it. Amarachi truly loved Emeka; more than words could express. She said nothing else. She was not the chatty type, and moreover, she always felt guilty with cheating on Emeka. She made sure he never had any suspicion about the secret life she lived.

"Are you happy with me?" He asked. "Of course," she said sweetly. And then she wore a serious look. "Why do you ask?" Emeka thought he saw a frightened look cross her beautiful face. But he wasn't sure. It seemed to have come and gone in a flash. 'Nothing, just wanted to make sure you are happy, and that you know how much I love you," he said. "Of course I am happy. Of course, I know how much you love me," she said sweetly. "I love you too very much, baby," she cooed. Emeka felt weak in the knees. "And you know I would propose to you and marry you as soon as I get out of school and get employed with my father's bank, don't you? He asked. Amarachi leaned forward and kissed him, and tousled his hair. "Of course, you have told me a hundred times. I can't wait. Don't keep a girl waiting, cos I would be so mad with you, you would think a tsunami has hit Nigeria." They laughed, rolled on the bed, and went back to their business.

A week later, Emeka was hospitalized for a minor injury he sustained playing football. On the second and last day of his hospitalization, the doctor came to his room. He was a young gangling man from Idoma ethnic group in Benue State, who had come to UNIBEN for his medical studies, loved the city, and decided to spend his life there after he got a job offer at the University of Benin Teaching Hospital, UBTH. His name was Dr. Theo Adigie.
"Hi doc," Emeka said, upon seeing the doctor. He had taken to the young doctor, and was delighted to see him. "Only a few hours now, I will be saying good-bye, but not to worry I will be coming around to check up on you." "Sure you would, my friend," Dr Adigie said, sadly. "You don't look your usual happy self. Problems with the madam?" Emeka asked.

"I wish, my friend. I have to be straight with you." He paused, looked pained, and continued: "We ran a blood test. I am afraid to tell you that you tested positive to HIV." Emeka stared in disbelief. He opened his mouth to speak, but no words came. "You must be joking," he said.
"No, I am not unfortunately," the doctor said. "What do you mean?" Emeka finally asked. "How could that be? I don't fool around. I have been faithful to my girlfriend. How could I possibly have tested positive to HIV?" Dr. Adigie looked more pained than before. "I am sorry. You have to ask her to come. We have to test her too."

"Why? She is not HIV positive."
"How do you know? Has she been tested recently?"
"No," Emeka admitted.
"So how can you be sure?" Dr. Adigie asked gently.
"I am sure. I know she does not fool around. She loves me. There must be a mistake. She is faithful to me." He said.
"How do you know?" The doctor asked. "How do you know? We have to run a test on her too, to eliminate all possibilities." Emeka wrapped his arms around his head, dumbfounded. "This cannot be happening to me," he told himself. "This is all a mistake."

By Ese Onakpoma, Assistant Editor

Editor’s Note:

Do you have a story for us for our “Love & Passion” column?

Please send your contribution to: [email protected]

ENJOY FREE CLASSIFIEDS ADVERTS ON XCLUSIVENIGERIA.COM

Buy & sell? Romance? Love? Nigerian wife or husband? Jobs? Employees? Careers? Business? Weddings? Birthdays? Events? Check out xclusivenigeria.com  ‘ classifieds pages.’

Are you looking for love, romance, Nigerian wife or husband, casual friendship, a job, career, employees or business opportunities? Do you want to buy and sell in Nigeria and to Nigerians worldwide? Go to xclusivenigeria.com classifieds section. It is free. Simply register on the website free of charge and then you can log on to the classifieds section and begin to upload your text and photos. Check it out: http://www.xclusivenigeria.com/index.php?option=com_aclassf&Itemid=10

Posted: at 29-08-2010 09:50 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- tyabo at 29-08-2010 10:04 PM (13 years ago)
too long jooo.. Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry
Posted: at 29-08-2010 10:04 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Kennee at 29-08-2010 10:25 PM (13 years ago)
Who come be dis na?

Hissssssssssss

Posted: at 29-08-2010 10:25 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- onyiis at 30-08-2010 03:32 AM (13 years ago)
lolz

Posted: at 30-08-2010 03:32 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- aliaaz at 30-08-2010 04:39 AM (13 years ago)
Christ!!

Posted: at 30-08-2010 04:39 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- onyiis at 30-08-2010 04:41 AM (13 years ago)
heheheheeeeeeee

Posted: at 30-08-2010 04:41 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- esonu at 30-08-2010 09:05 AM (13 years ago)
no time to read any long shit

Posted: at 30-08-2010 09:05 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- Agatex at 30-08-2010 09:21 AM (13 years ago)
why Amarachi poster?
Posted: at 30-08-2010 09:21 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Austinerapido at 30-08-2010 10:11 AM (13 years ago)
Am dumb founded  Huh? ? Huh? Huh?
Posted: at 30-08-2010 10:11 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- qunodinga at 30-08-2010 10:23 AM (13 years ago)
just Copy & past next time in a trash bin
Posted: at 30-08-2010 10:23 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- onyiis at 30-08-2010 10:25 AM (13 years ago)
heheheeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

Posted: at 30-08-2010 10:25 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- macgreat at 30-08-2010 10:40 AM (13 years ago)
I read small... Emeka should know that he can never satisfy her. she's a load of responsibility which he can not carry being an undergraduate.

Posted: at 30-08-2010 10:40 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- AKIOLUFUNMILAYO at 30-08-2010 11:43 AM (13 years ago)
Posted: at 30-08-2010 11:43 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- justloveme at 30-08-2010 12:30 PM (13 years ago)
ebi like say i don chop amarachi before oo! kai wetin i go do?
Posted: at 30-08-2010 12:30 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- onchedu at 30-08-2010 12:34 PM (13 years ago)
Dem don dey submit novels for NP?
Posted: at 30-08-2010 12:34 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- atamajim at 30-08-2010 01:40 PM (13 years ago)
peeped and went away
Posted: at 30-08-2010 01:40 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- cyndi3 at 30-08-2010 02:14 PM (13 years ago)
sad story
Posted: at 30-08-2010 02:14 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- kokokool at 30-08-2010 02:22 PM (13 years ago)
and im supposed to read all this?
Posted: at 30-08-2010 02:22 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- blessedme at 30-08-2010 02:42 PM (13 years ago)
abi oo
Posted: at 30-08-2010 02:42 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- SAmyrocko at 30-08-2010 02:47 PM (13 years ago)
Lol, no be small thing. Grin

Posted: at 30-08-2010 02:47 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero

1. Edo Man Arrested For Posting Explicit Images of 4-Year-Old Daughter on Social Media (Photos)

2. Kogi University Lecturer Stripped Nak3d Over Alleged Sexual Misconduct

3. Nyesom Wike Acknowledges Mistake in Supporting Successor, Fubara, Promises Correction

4. Hunters Save Baby Buried Alive In Benue Forest

5. Five-Year-Old Boy, Ditebogo Junior Shot Dead In Hijacking Outside Family Home

6. NAFDAC Shuts Down Illicit Alcohol Factory in Lagos, Urges Vigilance Against Counterfeits

7. Five-Year-Old Girl Crushed To Death While Crossing Expressway With Her Mother In Lagos

8. Delta Police Apprehend Suspect With Pistol & Suspected Drugs During Stop & Search Operation

9. Three Dead, 21 Injured In Ogun Road Accidents

10. NFF To Officially Introduce Finidi George As New Super Eagles Head Coach @ Media Session Monday

11. Operation Delta Safe Uncovers 50 Illegal Refining Sites In Biseni Forests, Bayelsa

12. EFCC Nabs 26 Suspected Internet Fraudsters In Port Harcourt Raid

13. Delta Police Apprehend Suspected Cultists Linked To Kidnappings, Recover Weapons

1. POLITICAL TURMOIL UNVEILED! 'Wike Was Instrumental To Peter Obi's Exit From PDP' - Paul Ibe

2. Reactions as Naira Marley and Sam Larry Were Spotted Vibing to Portable's Diss Track About Them

3. Nigeria Rapper, Dremo Hits Back At Sarkodie’s Shade Of Nigeria’s Big 3 Artists With Diss Track

4. EFCC Boss, Olukoyede Faces Visa Ban Threat Over Yahaya Bello's Case

5. Niger Speaker, Sarkindaji Initiates Mass Marriage For Orphaned Girls Affected By Banditry

6. 'We Kidnap, Extort & Rap3 Male Victims' - Gang Of Homosegxwal Criminals Arrested In Lekki

7. Afrobeat Singer, Davido Blasts Popular Blog For Calling Him “Papa Ifeanyi”

8. Man Shoots Stepmom Who Tried To Give Him Hug During Graduation Ceremony

9. Muslim Man Criticised After Sharing Photos Of Him & His Christian Wife Praying In Different Way

10. "Ikpeazu Transferred N10bn Airport Funds Into 32 Different Accounts" — Abia Gov. Alex Otti