COVID-19 Pandemic Causes Sudden Increase In Fuel Price And Electricity Tarrif - Buhari

Date: 07-09-2020 8:25 pm (3 years ago) | Author: Olusanya Akinrinola
- at 7-09-2020 08:25 PM (3 years ago)

The President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, Muhammadu Buhari has explained the reason for the sudden increase in the price of Premium Motor Spirit (PMS) and electricity tariff across the country.
Buhari, who was represented by the Vice President, Yemi Osinbajo, made the statement at the ministerial performance review retreat on Monday, September 7, 2020.

The Federal Government blamed the COVID-19 pandemic as the reason for the increase in petrol pump price and electricity tariff.
He said,

“The COVID-19 pandemic has led to a severe downturn in the funds available to finance our budget and has severely hampered our capacity. One of the steps we took at the beginning of the crisis in March when oil prices collapsed at the height of the global lockdown was the deregulation of the price of Premium Motor Spirit such that the benefit of lower prices at that time was passed to consumers.

This was welcome by all and sundry. The effect of deregulation though is that PMS prices will change with changes in global oil prices. This means quite regrettably that as oil prices recover we would see some increases in PMS prices. This is what has happened now. When global prices rose, it meant that the price of petrol locally will also go up.
There are several negative consequences if government should even attempt to go back to the business of fixing or subsidising PMS prices. First of all, it would mean a return to the costly subsidy regime. Today we have 60 per cent less revenues, we just cannot afford the cost. The second danger is the potential return of fuel queues – which has, thankfully, become a thing of the past under this administration.

“We do not have the resources at this point to continue in this way and it will be grossly irresponsible to borrrow to subsidise a generation and distribution which are both privatised. But we also have a duty to ensure that the large majority of those who cannot afford to pay cost reflective tariffs are protected from increases. NERC, the industry regulator, therefore approved that tariff adjustments had to be made but only on the basis of guaranteed improvement in service.”

Posted: at 7-09-2020 08:25 PM (3 years ago) | Hero
- dopygenius at 7-09-2020 09:42 PM (3 years ago)
Mr president Muhammed Okechukwu Buhari.....I am not surprised that someone of your caliber will come out and spill out this nonsense you are saying publicly that you Increased PMS because of Covid-19 pandemic

I see no reason why PMS should be increased as this hardship times instead you as the petroleum Minister should even bring down the price down more minimum,is really a big shame that we have a president that only cares for himself and his families instead of the voice of the Masses

By the way which Covid-19 are you talking about,I can recall that the Federal government says it spent up to 50billion naira or more including some charity organizations gave to Nigeria,Even from outside countries,Nigeria had support all through out the out break of Covid-19 pandemic,from China,and from U.S,what about the money donated by highly personal elites,but we heard some of the money was lost or got burnt as a result of greed and selfishness......Mr President wetin una use all those billions of money do Including the returned abacha stolen loot??? Na wa oh

Now Mr President,you come out and talk it was because of Covid-19,you are talking to us as if na small pikin you dey talk to,On April 1, 2020, the government announced that it will make transfers of 20,000 Naira ($52) to poor and vulnerable households registered in the National Social Register (NSR). Currently, the NSR has only 2.6 million households (about 11 million people) registered on its platform. The government hopes to increase this to 3.6 million households during the COVID-19 crisis. However, 87 million Nigerians live on less than $1.90 a day. Therefore, the cash payments by the federal government will reach only a fraction of poor. Besides, Nigeria does not have a robust national information management system, making electronic payments difficult. This has resulted in many people in the NSR not receiving the money promised by the government.....Now lemmt ask you Mr President,since the so called sharing of money from Federal Government,you don come out ask Nigerians if they received the money,have you asked them,did you care,if I go on to dey list your phyuk up for this country it will take the whole pages of this site.....You are incompetent,you are greedy,you are careless,you are Evil,You are Brutal,You have changed Democracy to autocracy,If we talk DSS will come after you...

My candid advise for is,you better divide this country because Nigeria is too big for you alone to handle.....Una don use Covid-19 loot money out from Nigeria,now come increase PMS to regain what has been lost,what kind of Set of humans species are Nigeria Governments,One single conscience them no get......No no this is too much to bear,see wetin this man dey talk Angry
Posted: at 7-09-2020 09:42 PM (3 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dareper at 7-09-2020 10:01 PM (3 years ago)
Thunder!!!.
Posted: at 7-09-2020 10:01 PM (3 years ago) | Hero
- tyomon at 7-09-2020 10:29 PM (3 years ago)
the china loan is biting hard now.
Posted: at 7-09-2020 10:29 PM (3 years ago) | Upcoming
- davinoguy at 8-09-2020 12:07 AM (3 years ago)
Thunder fire you there stupid and useless Aboki man wen nor Sabi read or speak English. U will die there wicked man... So you don’t even care about your citizens bastard.
Posted: at 8-09-2020 12:07 AM (3 years ago) | Newbie
- isah2006 at 8-09-2020 05:12 AM (3 years ago)
Free Bitcoin Mining
Posted: at 8-09-2020 05:12 AM (3 years ago) | Newbie
- KDoinspire at 8-09-2020 07:46 AM (3 years ago)
I have nothing to say  other  than calling calling God to have judgement on all of you.
Posted: at 8-09-2020 07:46 AM (3 years ago) | Upcoming

1. 74Yr Old Woman Robs Bank At Gunpoint After Losing Her Life Savings To Online Scammers

2. We Find Love in Unexpected Places – Bimbo Ademoye Writes As She Shares Loved-up Photo With Timi

3. Ex-runs Girl Lands Herself In Trouble After Finding Out Her Former Client Is Her Brother-in-Law

4. Late Mohbad’s Toxicology Result Ready As Pathologist Begins Evaluation

5. How Abusive Nigerian Man, Beat Wife To Death Months After Relocating To The UK

6. Actress, Stella Udeze Reveals Why Actresses Have Unhappy Relationships

7. Interior Minister, Tunji-Ojo To Relocate Suleja Correctional Centres To Avoid Inmate Escape

8. 'Avoid Panic Buying, Petrol Prices Not Changing' — NNPC To Nigerians

3. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

4. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So

5. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office

6. VID: Peter Obi Replies Critics Asking Him Why He Didn't Build a School in Anambra as a Governor

7. Nollywood Actress Toyin Abraham Extends Olive Branch To Funke Akindele,Calls For Industry Unity

8. "Emefiele, Kanu Arrested Arbitrarily As Pre-Trial Detention Persists In Nigeria" – US Govt Says

9. Watch Touching Video Of Lady Surprising Boyfriend Who’s An Okada Rider

10. Yoruba Nation: Akintoye, Sunday Igboho Write Open Letter To Tinubu, Seek Exit From Nigeria