2023: Osinbajo Disagrees With Tinubu Over Muslim-muslim Ticket

Date: 12-07-2022 11:07 am (1 year ago) | Author: Abasiodu Sunday
- at 12-07-2022 11:07 AM (1 year ago)

Vanguard is reporting that Vice President Yemi Osinbajo has expressed reservation over the party's choice of a Muslim-Muslim ticket.

Recall that All Progressives Congress Presidential Candidate, Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu had yesterday announced Senator Kashim Shettima as his running mate.

A Presidency source disclosed to Vanguard yesterday that Osinbajo had expressed serious objection to the adoption of a Muslim-Muslim ticket.

Professor Osinbajo is opposed to this thing announced on Sunday, and his objections are well known both to the party and even the flagbearer himself,” the source said, adding that the VP opposed a Muslim-Muslim ticket in 2014 even before what later turned out as his own eventual nomination as VP.

Then he was reported to have explained to Tinubu that a Muslim-Muslim ticket would simply isolate Christians. Later the then APC flagbearer, President Buhari, also shared that position and rejected overtures to name Tinubu as his running mate after emerging as the presidential candidate.

The informed source said that recently, Osinbajo counselled APC chieftains and Tinubu to avoid an unbalanced ticket, arguing that such would simply be untenable and an unnecessary risk.

Said the source: “The VP explained the logic, fairness and justice of a balanced ticket is unassailable. The argument that merit should be considered above a Muslim- Christian balance presents a false choice. It is not one or the other. You can get all the merit you want in a balanced ticket.

“The VP said anything short of a balanced ticket creates a needless tension and further aggravates some of the country’s fault-lines. But a balanced ticket certainly sends a positive signal.”

As political tensions brewed, fresh talks of political realignments were already buzzing since after the announcement on Sunday as some other registered parties are said to be making plans to build a new coalition with Vice President Osinbajo in what is seen as an opportunity to offer a credible and faith-balanced option in next year’s presidential election. A source said a meeting to explore such a possibility is now in the works.

“APC may have shot itself on the foot with this kind of ticket, and the tensions going on in the party and the country since the announcement was made is a bad thing,” the source said.

Posted: at 12-07-2022 11:07 AM (1 year ago) | Gistmaniac
- olowoinlionsden at 12-07-2022 11:49 AM (1 year ago)
Perhaps, too late or not late to cry. When we all siddon look and allow Buhari to turn Nigeria into his private property, didnt we envisage he could envisage a Greeting Beyond the Elbow.
Posted: at 12-07-2022 11:49 AM (1 year ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 12-07-2022 12:06 PM (1 year ago)
foolish talk!! u no be Christian, in fact, u claimed to be pastor... wetin come happen for 8yrs?  yeye people
Posted: at 12-07-2022 12:06 PM (1 year ago) | Grande Master
- kima77same at 12-07-2022 07:38 PM (1 year ago)
ISAIAH 5:20
Posted: at 12-07-2022 07:38 PM (1 year ago) | Gistmaniac
- kima77same at 12-07-2022 07:55 PM (1 year ago)
Some Christians and non-Christians in the south, are "NORTHERN MUSLIMS' DONKEYS"
Posted: at 12-07-2022 07:55 PM (1 year ago) | Gistmaniac
- Goldtime at 12-07-2022 10:31 PM (1 year ago)
Quote from: gogoman on 12-07-2022 12:06 PM
foolish talk!! u no be Christian, in fact, u claimed to be pastor... wetin come happen for 8yrs?  yeye people
hey bro ! You are  very manipulative.How would you blame Osinbajo for Buhari lackluster service to the nation ? Please do a fact findings on the role of a Nigeria VP in our constitution.Let’s be prudent to criticism and be proactive in our opinion .If it’s directed at Buhari ,all you will reply is it wasn’t Buhari’s fault ,but when it’s Osinbajo who by no means deserves any of such condemnation for Buhari woeful performances then you will nail him and  not even collectively but singled him out . There’s no honesty in your involvement
Posted: at 12-07-2022 10:31 PM (1 year ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 12-07-2022 11:14 PM (1 year ago)
Quote from: Goldtime on 12-07-2022 10:31 PM
hey bro ! You are  very manipulative.How would you blame Osinbajo for Buhari lackluster service to the nation ? Please do a fact findings on the role of a Nigeria VP in our constitution.Let’s be prudent to criticism and be proactive in our opinion .If it’s directed at Buhari ,all you will reply is it wasn’t Buhari’s fault ,but when it’s Osinbajo who by no means deserves any of such condemnation for Buhari woeful performances then you will nail him and  not even collectively but singled him out . There’s no honesty in your involvement

Very good!! if the role of a VP is worthless Why do people come dey cry Muslim -Muslim is an issue? all we need na good person to do better.. even na babalawo, as long as he/she is a nigerian
Posted: at 12-07-2022 11:14 PM (1 year ago) | Grande Master

1. Betty Akeredolu Called Out By Aide, Folasade For Abandoning Her After Serving Her For 7Yrs

2. Former ECOWAS Court VP Berates EFCC Chairman Over Press Briefing On Yahaya Bello

3. Nigerian Man Allegedly Stabs Roommate To Death During Argument In Portugal

4. Pandemonium As Bandits Strike Again, Kill Four, Abduct Six In Zamfara

5. Drama Looms As Accountant Accuses Ex-Employer, Police Of Harassment In Lagos

6. Residents Flee As Soldiers Leave Niger Community After Deadly Ambush

7. VIDEO: Warri Pikin Hails Veteran Actor, RMD As He Visits Her Family

8. Reactions As 23Yr Old Man Flaunts Wealth Online, Shows Off Expensive House He Newly-Built

9. Rising Singer, Shine TTW Lament On How Policemen Damaged His Car, Harassed Him After Tagging

10. How Police Nabbed Kidnappers Who Killed Victim After Collecting N3m Ransom In Jigawa

11. VIDEO: Abroad-Based Nigerian Cries Profusely Over Failure To Make It In The UK

12. Man Sentenced To Physical Castration And 50 Years In Jail For Raping 14 Year Old Girl

13. Eight Mobile Suspected Phone Snatchers Arrested In Kano

14. FCT Police Denies Reports Of Thugs Attacking Drivers In Traffic, Watch Video Of The Alleged Mom

2. Pastor, David Odeniyi Seeks Divorce After Wife Strips Him Nak3d In Front Of His Congregation

3. Abia Police Parade Suspected Criminals, Including ABSU Student Involved In Fatal Shooting

9. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So

10. Abia State Police Arrest Suspects Linked To Mysterious Death of 23-Yr-Old Hope Chinedu Prosper