18 passengers burnt to death along Benin-Ore road

Date: 21-01-2011 6:42 am (13 years ago) | Author: ultimate
- at 21-01-2011 06:42 AM (13 years ago)
16 others seriously injured in a multiple road accident

TRAGEDY struck yesterday along the Benin-Ore express road when 18 persons whose identities are yet to be known were burnt to death while 16 passengers were seriously injured in a multiple accident involving an 18-seater-bus and other vehicles.

The accident was said to have occurred near Okada in Ovia North East Local Government Council of Edo State when an on-coming truck was said to have veered off its track apparently trying to avoid bad spots and rammed into the bus which burst into flames.

It was said that another bus coming behind the burnt bus and two other vehicles ran into the bush while trying to avoid the burning bus. All the passengers in the 18-seater bus were roasted to death while injuries sustained came from the other vehicles that tried to avoid the burning bus.

Four women and 14 men sustained serous injuries in the accident while two others were safe. Eyewitness account said the bus loaded with the passengers was mangled beyond recognition as it somersaulted severally. The incident which occurred at about 5 p.m. yesterday, created a long queue in the area.

The victims were said to have been trapped inside the mangled bus with no rescue in sight. An eyewitness told Vanguard: “We were watching helplessly as the bus was on fire with the occupants. There was no help in sight, there was no body to help, there was nothing we could do.”

Contacted, the Federal Road Safety Commission, FRSC, spokesman, Olu Olumotomi, confirmed the incident, saying: “Our men are already on the spot trying to save the survivors.”

Those who survived were rushed to the University of Benin Teaching Hospital, UBTH.

link- http://www.vanguardngr.com/2011/01/18-passengers-burnt-to-death-along-benin-ore-road/

Posted: at 21-01-2011 06:42 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- purityjustice at 21-01-2011 07:17 AM (13 years ago)
christ in me
may their soul rest in peace
Posted: at 21-01-2011 07:17 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ultimatelaron at 21-01-2011 07:32 AM (13 years ago)
Amen oooo....
Posted: at 21-01-2011 07:32 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- ajanni at 21-01-2011 08:52 AM (13 years ago)
very very pathetic , i feel so sad seeing the pics of the victims , may their souls rest in peace
Posted: at 21-01-2011 08:52 AM (13 years ago) | Grande Master
- judichi at 21-01-2011 08:54 AM (13 years ago)
R....I....P
Posted: at 21-01-2011 08:54 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- ajanni at 21-01-2011 08:59 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: ajanni on 21-01-2011 08:52 AM
very very pathetic , i feel so sad seeing the pics of the victims , may their souls rest in peace

[attachment deleted by admin]
Posted: at 21-01-2011 08:59 AM (13 years ago) | Grande Master
- enoeno at 21-01-2011 01:06 PM (13 years ago)
This occurs because the truck leave his rack apparently trying to avoid bad spots leaders of Nigeria when will you pple do something concerning that raod you pple know quiet well that there is no other root apart from that and April we are voting you guys again i believe u pple listen to this and be happy with your family while others are in sorrow, loosing their life pls something has to be done abeg we can not continue like this.
Posted: at 21-01-2011 01:06 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- ajanni at 22-01-2011 05:39 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: bablon20 on 21-01-2011 12:36 PM
ARE U SURE THIS IS THE PICTURE FROM THE SCENE THE POSTER IS TALKING ABOUT? THE PEOPLE IN THIS PICTURE ARE MORE THAN 18. MAY THEIR SOULS REST IN PERFECT PEACE AFTER SUCH AN AGONIZING DEATH.

i think its . thats how i got it
Posted: at 22-01-2011 05:39 AM (13 years ago) | Grande Master
- conakry at 24-01-2011 05:31 PM (13 years ago)
For the upteenth time FG pls repair this road and stop this carnage.
Posted: at 24-01-2011 05:31 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- moniconyez at 24-01-2011 06:24 PM (13 years ago)
GOD HAVE MERCY.

LET THE GOV HELP BUILD AND CONSTRUCT OUR ROADS TO THE STANDARD LEVEL, TO AVOID OCCURENCE OF SUCH THINGS PLEASE GOV SHOULD HELP.

RIP TO THE DEAD.
Posted: at 24-01-2011 06:24 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- ajanni at 24-01-2011 06:52 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: conakry on 24-01-2011 05:31 PM
For the upteenth time FG pls repair this road and stop this carnage.

i hope they are hearing you so ooo
Posted: at 24-01-2011 06:52 PM (13 years ago) | Grande Master
- Bismack at 26-01-2011 09:30 AM (13 years ago)
d no is more than 18
Posted: at 26-01-2011 09:30 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- tuklan at 26-01-2011 10:54 AM (13 years ago)
This is sad....My condolence to the families affected and to Naija people....Will there be a presidential debate that will be televised and aired in radio? If so I beg make our brave journalists ask the presidential candidates serious questions how much they value the lives of every Nigerian worldwide(Rich or Poor)Huh? This bad road issue has turned to blood sucking demon year after year.....I also think an intensive action programm similar to "inviromental day" should compliment the Government's effort whereby all citizens will support road maintainance project once in a month, if necessary the Military should be involved...This situation is worse than War.....Na my idea be dat sha!!!.....Godbless Naijapals for this forum...Please make a cooperation with our National Media so that selected contibutions hear can go round Naija...We need to step up the pressure on most of our leaders and policy makers!!!!
Posted: at 26-01-2011 10:54 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- mallorca at 26-01-2011 05:56 PM (13 years ago)
speechless

Posted: at 26-01-2011 05:56 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- goody4info at 28-01-2011 03:10 PM (13 years ago)
Oh God ve mercy. Keep ur angel charge over us!

May dir soul rest in peace
Posted: at 28-01-2011 03:10 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- JzeeWiz at 28-01-2011 06:22 PM (13 years ago)
May their gente souls rest in perfect peace
Posted: at 28-01-2011 06:22 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- ajanni at 28-01-2011 09:13 PM (13 years ago)
AMIN
Posted: at 28-01-2011 09:13 PM (13 years ago) | Grande Master
- popo2009 at 28-01-2011 10:27 PM (13 years ago)
I hope the people who are looting the money meant for the repair
of these roads are happy wherever they are now?
Posted: at 28-01-2011 10:27 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- donaldmoo11 at 28-01-2011 11:06 PM (13 years ago)
this picture is not in any way related to the Benin accident,they should stop this....
Posted: at 28-01-2011 11:06 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- apprehended at 29-01-2011 01:25 AM (13 years ago)
wut da hell!!!!!!!!!
Posted: at 29-01-2011 01:25 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming

1. Netizens React As a Catholic Reverend Sister is Spotted in Public Drinking Alcohol (Video)

2. FAAN Shuts Down KFC Outlet At The Lagos Airport Over Discriminatory Treatment of Ex Gov's Son

3. Nigerian Man Videos The Living Condition of Immigrants Who Were Not Granted Asylum in Portugal

4. Court Awards Late Biafran Leader, Ojukwu's Will to Bianca, Throws Out First Son, Debe's Case

5. Singer Waje Expresses Pride as Her Daughter, Emerald Turns 25, Pens Emotional Note to Her

6. A Thief Who Robbed me Was Dating The Police Officer in Charge of my Case – Lady Recounts Ordeal

7. Man Emmanuel Okpara Arrested For Reportedly B£ating His Wife to D£ath in Lagos

8. See List: Nigeria, Egypt Named Among World’s Lowest Salary Earners

9. Rapper, Cynthia Morgan Reveals Why She Was Never S3xually Harassed in The Industry

10. Binance Executives Drag NSA Ribadu, EFCC To Court

11. VIDEO: NAFDAC Raids Factory Where Fake Bottled Water is Produced in Port Harcourt

12. Why I Eventually Became a Woman - Nigeria Crossdresser, Bobrisky Finally Opens up

13. CEO of TCN,Abdulaziz Sule Reportedly Bribes Min. of Power With N290m Lexus SUV to Retain Office

14. PHOTOS: Woman Caught With Over 50 Pellets Of Cocaine Hidden In Her Private Part At Airport

15. 13 Persons Arrested and Charged to Court For Failing to Use Pedestrian Bridge in Lagos

16. Ex President, Buhari Celebrates President Tinubu on His 72nd Birthday

17. VIDEO: NNPC Fuel Station in Yola, Adamawa State Razed By Fire

18. 20yr Old Man Arrested For Kidnap, Murder Of Police Officer’s Son In Bauchi

19. 50% of Husbands in Nigeria Are Fathering Other Men's Children - Calabar OAP Reveals

2. Netizens React To Influencer, Enioluwa’s Alleged Leaked S*x Tape

3. Kim Kardashian Finally Opens Up On Why She Divorced Kanye West

4. Selena Gomez Shares Sexy Photo As She Put On A Very BUsty Display

5. Man Videos Himself Taking His Own Life on Facebook Because His Girlfriend Cheated on Him

6. Photos: Customs Officers Attacked By Suspected Smugglers In Adamawa

7. "Why I Broke Up With My Girlfriend When I Became A Star" – Singer, Asake

8. 44Yr Old Bassirou Faye Wins Senegal's Presidential Election, Defeats 62Yr Old Ex Prime Minister

9. Stop Harassïng Enioluwa, I'm The One in The Leaked S*x Tape - US P0rn Star, Briggs Speaks (VID)

10. Black Sunday In Nollywood As Another Actor, Amaechi Muonagor Reportedly Passes Away