“They’re Angry You Love Your Igbo Wife” — Rotimi Akeredolu’s Wife, Betty Slam Critics

Date: 24-02-2024 1:16 pm (2 months ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 24-02-2024 01:16 PM (2 months ago)

The town of Owo, Ondo state, stood somber on Friday as it bid farewell to one of its most esteemed sons, the late Rotimi Akeredolu. Laid to rest on February 23, 2024, the former governor's funeral service took place at St. Andrew’s Cathedral, drawing a crowd of mourners from all walks of life.

Dignitaries including Vice-President Kashim Shettima, George Akume, Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF), Abdullahi Ganduje, the national chairman of the All Progressives Congress (APC), alongside various state governors, politicians, family members, friends, lawyers, and residents of Ondo state, gathered to pay their respects to the departed leader.

Akeredolu's journey alongside his beloved wife, Betty, began during their one-year National Youth Service Corps (NYSC) stint in Enugu state, a testament to the enduring bond that defined their relationship.

During the late governor's illness, Betty faced unwarranted criticism, accused by some of wielding undue influence over state affairs and impeding her husband from delegating power to his deputy governor. In her poignant tribute, Betty addressed these criticisms, lamenting the loneliness of facing ridicule alone and defending her late husband against accusations of weakness.

Asserting that Akeredolu's love for her did not signify weakness but rather strength of character, Betty challenged societal norms and questioned the understanding of love among their critics. Drawing attention to the prevalence of domestic violence and gender-based mistreatment in some households, she emphasized the universality of love and the power of their enduring bond, which transcended ethnic boundaries.

In her heartfelt address, Betty reminisced about the purity of their love, rooted in a chance encounter that blossomed into a lifelong partnership. She recalled Akeredolu's pride in their relationship and his public declaration of their unity, symbolized by his memorable proclamation that he "voted for one but got two."

In her tribute, Betty said,
“Darlin,….It’s me, your adorable Betty. You just left me. Just like that! It hurts. Badly it hurts. Now alone to face all manners of mockery from the so-called friends and adversaries alike. Now alone. A beg o! Can an Amotekun generalissimo be a weakling? Mbanuu! It doesn’t add up nau. Haba!”

“Not a few lashed out that you (Akeredolu) were a weakling because you loved me. I don’t think so in their homes while growing up they saw their mothers trampled upon as doormats. By the way, do they know what love is?

“They copied the template and treated their wives as pieces of furniture that can be easily discarded as trash. In many instances, the subjugation was garnished with beatings while the community looked the other way and remained unperturbed by gender-based violence. Beaten up like punch bags.

“They copied the template and treated their wives as pieces of furniture that can be easily discarded as trash. And in many instances the subjugation was garnished with beatings while the community looked the other way and remained unperturbed as gender based violence reigned supreme nationwide.

“In civilised climes, if you beat your wife, jail awaits you even if you are a Governor. They marvel that a Nigerian man can love his wife. To them na only Oyibo man dey love. They are infuriated that a Yoruba man can love his wife who is Igbo. How can? Igbo lasan, lasan!

“Na love at first sight brought us together, biko. No be juju! Na love make me cross the Niger. That love at first sight turned out to be true and pure. And you were proud to say it. You were proud to show it.

“You were even prouder to tell the people of Ondo State and beyond that we were a team. You were audacious to tell your people that “you voted for one but got two”.

“A testimony of my positive contribution to your life and career, emotionally and intellectually.”

As Owo laid to rest one of its most beloved sons, the echoes of Betty's tribute resonated, reminding all present of the enduring legacy of love and unity that defined the life of Rotimi Akeredolu.

Posted: at 24-02-2024 01:16 PM (2 months ago) | Addicted Hero
- gogoman at 24-02-2024 01:26 PM (2 months ago)
madam no find fight again just focus on ur pikin...
Posted: at 24-02-2024 01:26 PM (2 months ago) | Grande Master
- Benti247 at 24-02-2024 03:32 PM (2 months ago)
Yes. They killed him. Like they killed Davido' son Ifeanyi. God pass them.
Posted: at 24-02-2024 03:32 PM (2 months ago) | Gistmaniac
- fineboy77 at 24-02-2024 05:51 PM (2 months ago)
 Cool Cool Cool

Posted: at 24-02-2024 05:51 PM (2 months ago) | Addicted Hero
- kp45 at 24-02-2024 06:14 PM (2 months ago)
Hmmm
Posted: at 24-02-2024 06:14 PM (2 months ago) | Addicted Hero
- nikiniki at 24-02-2024 06:32 PM (2 months ago)
Mama, go and rest from all battles. Your relationship with him remains a great memory for you not for anyone else and, lot of people married across tribes including me. Cherish what you have and do not taunt others who doesn't have it. But, how can a people vote for one and get two? You got it wrong there...you cannot be a governor alongside your husband but you can be the strong wind that makes him soar!
Posted: at 24-02-2024 06:32 PM (2 months ago) | Gistmaniac

1. VID: Lady Shares How She Got Pregnant After Visiting Man To Teach Him How To Cook

2. 5 Soldiers Reportedly Killed, Others Injured As Bandits Attack Military Camp In Katsina

3. Young Girl, Dorothy Shocks Many As She Bags Ph.D At Age 17

4. Nigerian Journalist, Reuben Abati Pens Lovely Note To Wife On Their 4th Wedding Anniversary

5. Funke Akindele Stuns Many Over Her Birthday Message To Singer, Mo Eazy’s Mum Amid Relationship

6. PHOTOS: Betty Irabor Opens Up On Her Unsuccessful Suicide Attempt

7. VIDE: Speed Darlington Mocks Portable After His Recent Police Arrest

8. Nigerian Man, Abodunde Who Killed His Wife In The UK To Spend His Whole Life In Jail

9. Actress, Nkechi Blessing Reveals Why Celebrities Bash Each Other Online

10. I’m Not Hugging Anyone Until The Price Of Deodorant Goes Down Says BBNaija's Vee

11. 2 Jobless Men Land In Prison For Stealing Church ACs Worth ₦350k In Lagos

1. POLITICAL TURMOIL UNVEILED! 'Wike Was Instrumental To Peter Obi's Exit From PDP' - Paul Ibe

2. Man Caught Shoving Nozzle From Petrol Pump Up His Bum While Stroking His Member At Fuel Station

3. Peter Obi Visits Atiku in Abuja as Speculation of Unified Front For 2027 Elections Intensifies

4. Wetin She Wear - Movie Producer, Stanley Nwoko Mocks Destiny Etiko Over Her AMVCA Outfit

5. Lady Raises Alarm Over State of Actor, Nonso Diobi After Spotting Him in Her Area (Video)

6. Reactions as Naira Marley and Sam Larry Were Spotted Vibing to Portable's Diss Track About Them

7. Never Relocate to These Two Countries Even If Their Visa is Free - Lady Sternly Warns Nigerians

8. Nigeria Rapper, Dremo Hits Back At Sarkodie’s Shade Of Nigeria’s Big 3 Artists With Diss Track

9. Afrobeat Singer, Davido Blasts Popular Blog For Calling Him “Papa Ifeanyi”

10. 'We Kidnap, Extort & Rap3 Male Victims' - Gang Of Homosegxwal Criminals Arrested In Lekki