"I am Afraid Of Coming To Court Because The EFCC Will Arrest Me" - Yahaya Bello

Date: 23-04-2024 11:44 am (1 week ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
- at 23-04-2024 11:44 AM (1 week ago)

The former Governor of Kogi State, Alhaji Yahaya Bello, has sparked controversy by claiming he is ready to face his 19-count charge by the EFCC, yet fears arrest could keep him from court. Despite his absence during the scheduled arraignment on Tuesday, his legal team was present to voice his concerns.

Lead counsel, Mr. Adeola Adedipe, SAN, explained to the Federal High Court in Abuja that Bello is hesitant to appear due to an outstanding arrest warrant. "The defendant is eager to appear before the court but is deterred by the fear of arrest," Adedipe stated, requesting the court to reconsider the arrest order previously issued.

Adedipe argued that at the time the arrest order was issued, the charges had not been formally served, a situation rectified only during Tuesday's proceedings with the court approving a substituted service through his lawyer.

In a bold legal move, Bello's team also challenged the legitimacy of the EFCC itself, claiming the federal agency was illegally established as it lacked the necessary approval from all 36 state assemblies, as mandated by the constitution.

Countering, EFCC’s counsel, Mr. Kemi Pinheiro, SAN, insisted that the arrest warrant remain in place until Bello physically appears in court. "The defendant’s continuous absence and subsequent motions are merely delaying tactics to frustrate the judicial process," argued Pinheiro. He emphasized that no applications from Bello should be entertained until he presents himself for arraignment.

The EFCC also reassured that the legality of its establishment had been affirmed by the Supreme Court, dismissing the former governor’s claims as unfounded. They noted the severity of the charges against Bello, including allegations of laundering public funds to purchase properties in high-profile areas and transferring funds overseas.

The drama continues as the court awaits Bello’s next move, with his legal team hinting at a possible appearance if assurances against immediate arrest are confirmed. The case, laden with constitutional and legal complexities, promises further developments as both parties stand their ground.

Posted: at 23-04-2024 11:44 AM (1 week ago) | Addicted Hero
- KDoinspire at 23-04-2024 11:52 AM (1 week ago)
Useless people.
Posted: at 23-04-2024 11:52 AM (1 week ago) | Upcoming
- gogoman at 23-04-2024 12:40 PM (1 week ago)
soulless fool  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 23-04-2024 12:40 PM (1 week ago) | Grande Master
- Holopid at 23-04-2024 12:53 PM (1 week ago)
This man Grin
Posted: at 23-04-2024 12:53 PM (1 week ago) | Gistmaniac
- OmoNobaUku at 23-04-2024 01:42 PM (1 week ago)
What a buffoon! Se bi you call yourself a white Lion. Why did you run away in the first place and turned yourself to a blue Lioness? Why did you want do the honourable thing and walk majestically into the hands / or office of EFCC?
Posted: at 23-04-2024 01:42 PM (1 week ago) | Gistmaniac
- fineboy77 at 23-04-2024 01:56 PM (1 week ago)
But you were not afraid to embezzle the people's commonwealth.

Posted: at 23-04-2024 01:56 PM (1 week ago) | Addicted Hero
- ficull at 23-04-2024 02:09 PM (1 week ago)
What a cry cry baby. Go and face your ugba. I tot you said you were tough?
Posted: at 23-04-2024 02:09 PM (1 week ago) | Gistmaniac
- Patode at 23-04-2024 02:12 PM (1 week ago)
The same way that Dino Melaye went to hide on a tree.
Posted: at 23-04-2024 02:12 PM (1 week ago) | Upcoming
- Jiiitk4 at 23-04-2024 02:57 PM (1 week ago)
When you ordered for the killing and burning of the PDP women's leader in her house you weren't afraid. Your hour has come. Yeye man. Yeye Bello
Posted: at 23-04-2024 02:57 PM (1 week ago) | Gistmaniac
- kp45 at 23-04-2024 03:03 PM (1 week ago)
What type of excuse is this
Posted: at 23-04-2024 03:03 PM (1 week ago) | Addicted Hero