Nigerian-Spanish Footballer, Samu Omorodion Drops Surname, Adopts Mother's Name

Date: 14-11-2024 7:45 pm (3 weeks ago) | Author: kacy lee
- at 14-11-2024 07:45 PM (3 weeks ago)

Samu Omorodion, a promising 20-year-old Spanish striker eligible to represent Nigeria, recently revealed the motivation behind changing his surname and jersey name. Omorodion, who was part of Spain’s squad that won the gold medal at the Paris 2024 Olympics, played alongside talented Barcelona youngsters like Pau Cubarsi and Fermin Lopez.

Omorodion initially had a deal set with English Premier League side Chelsea, with a medical successfully completed. However, the move unexpectedly collapsed before being finalized. Known for his time with Atlético Madrid, Omorodion continues to draw attention for his potential on the field.

Instead, Samu joined Portuguese giants, FC Porto, and has been impressive for Sérgio Conceição’s side, scoring eleven goals in twelve outings across all competitions.

However, in a not so conventional move, the striker has opted to change his surname from Omorodion to Aghehowa, and this reflects on his jersey as “Samu A”.

The Spain U-21 forward was born in Mellila, Spain, to Nigerian parents, and stated he changed his surname to recognize the struggles his mom went through to give him the life he’s currently living.

“Everything that my mother did for me has no price and I want to pay homage to her by using her surname. I want to be known through her surname. People know me by my other name [Omorodion, his father’s surname], but I want to be known as Aghehowa,” Samu told Porto’s Revista Dragões magazine in quotes revealed by Portugoal.

While Samu is eligible to represent the Super Eagles of Nigeria, his International future inks closer to the Spanish team.

Some reactions below:

Posted: at 14-11-2024 07:45 PM (3 weeks ago) | Addicted Hero
- gogoman at 14-11-2024 08:31 PM (3 weeks ago)
Up mummy!!! Mummy rules  Cool Cool Cool men una go see pepe Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 14-11-2024 08:31 PM (3 weeks ago) | Grande Master
- fineboy77 at 14-11-2024 08:59 PM (3 weeks ago)
Young man, where is thy father?

Posted: at 14-11-2024 08:59 PM (3 weeks ago) | Addicted Hero
- Dopybadass at 15-11-2024 06:52 AM (3 weeks ago)
Hey boy no matter what, even if your father is dead or alive, it is a taboo to bear the surname of your mother, and your mother allows you to bear her surnames which shows she hates your father and is misleading you, she wants to have all your wealths and properties alone Sad
Posted: at 15-11-2024 06:52 AM (3 weeks ago) | Gistmaniac
- SweetDaddy1 at 15-11-2024 12:11 PM (3 weeks ago)
A father who was never there for his children while alive, can not be call a DAD. Some men make babies all over the place without caring for the children, leaving the women with the responsibilities of bringing up the children alone. Samu's mother did not register her son with her family name but the son did the correct thing at the age of 20 years old. Bravo !!! big boy you did what is best for YOU.
Posted: at 15-11-2024 12:11 PM (3 weeks ago) | Gistmaniac
- nikiniki at 15-11-2024 09:45 PM (2 weeks ago)
lobatan.....
Posted: at 15-11-2024 09:45 PM (2 weeks ago) | Hero

1. Afe Babalola SAN Highlights Conditions For Dele Farotimi's Release

2. Panic As Suspected Assassins Kill Businesswoman, Clergyman in Their Homes in Taraba

3. I Wonder Why I Was Born a Man - Crossdresser, James Brown Says as He Rolls Out S3nsual Photos

4. Police Vans Razed as Unknown Gunmen Attack Policemen, Vigilante Operatives in Anambra

5. Residents Fault Police Reports on Zamfara Explosions, Say Bandits Behind Attack, Not Lakurawa

6. PDP Berates Governor Alia, Accuse Him of Running Benue State Like Catholic Church Parish

7. Moment Man City Coach Pep Guardiola Almost Lashed At Fan Who Mocked Him On The Street (VID)

1. Popular Skitmaker, Phoebe Reacts As Her Alleged S3x Tape Leaks, Video Goes Viral

2. I Love It When My Husband Cheats — Egungun of Lagos wife Replies Critics Amid S3x Scandal

3. Nigeria Starboy, Victor Osimhen Reportedly Acquires Private Jet

4. Sowore, Adeyanju Join Peter Obi, Others to Lead #FREEDELEFAROTIMI Campaign Online

5. Popular Nollywood Actor, Mcmorris Ndubueze “Terror” Now A Medical Doctor In US (Photos)

6. 'Lagos Is Wild, How Do We Find Wives In This Kind Of Place' - Reality TV Star, Tochi Queries

7. "I'm Cutting Off Everyone In That Country Called Nigeria" -Bobrisky Weighs In On Egungun Leaked

8. Why Dele Farotimi Was Arrested - Human Right Lawyer, Falana Reveals

9. Content Creator Egungun Breaks Silence After Private Video Surfaces Online

10. Lagos Pastor, Wife Jailed 10 Years Over N52M Fraud As Court Orders Church To Be Deregistered