What's so wrong with Having an HND?

Date: 07-02-2009 3:11 pm (16 years ago) | Author: Linus Abba
- at 7-02-2009 03:11 PM (16 years ago)
If you stay in Nigeria, you must know that most Nigerian corporate bodies prefer to use graduates with a B.sc certificate to an HND holder. Even top government parastals follow this trend in principle even though their policy speak in the contrarly. The irony of the whole is that most HND holders are better graduates than degree holders- I stand to be corrected. So my questionis: Is having an HND certificate a waste of time? why not cancel the Polytechnic system as a whole if you think her graduates aren't good enough?

Posted: at 7-02-2009 03:11 PM (16 years ago) | Newbie
- peacetee at 8-02-2009 03:19 PM (16 years ago)
Y settle 4 HND if u can get a degree?

Posted: at 8-02-2009 03:19 PM (16 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- bilol at 17-02-2009 03:03 PM (16 years ago)
nothing do hnd
Posted: at 17-02-2009 03:03 PM (16 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Dguy at 17-02-2009 09:13 PM (16 years ago)
Employers prefer BSC thats what is wrong with it

Posted: at 17-02-2009 09:13 PM (16 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- bilol at 18-02-2009 01:37 PM (16 years ago)
bsc or hnd water wey person go drink no go pass person
Posted: at 18-02-2009 01:37 PM (16 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- hope4real at 5-03-2009 04:47 PM (16 years ago)
that is true
Posted: at 5-03-2009 04:47 PM (16 years ago) | Newbie
- kesterjoe at 5-03-2009 05:59 PM (16 years ago)
I wonder, in advanced countries they have polytechnics and no one discriminates HND HOLDERS. this country is F**ked
Posted: at 5-03-2009 05:59 PM (16 years ago) | Upcoming
- Controversial at 6-03-2009 08:36 AM (16 years ago)
Not only in Nigeria, South Africa even discriminate certain degrees (BA, Bsc etc) obtaind from Nogerian Institutions let alone if you have 'mere' HND. Sory... We need to follow the trend the labour market is introducing.

Is either All polythecnic are mandated to offer degrees for more years or You and I will despise HND for good. Controversial.
Posted: at 6-03-2009 08:36 AM (16 years ago) | Newbie
- Ikoojo at 6-03-2009 04:25 PM (16 years ago)
Don't mind dem with there CORRUPTION mind
 Nothing do HND my guy
Posted: at 6-03-2009 04:25 PM (16 years ago) | Newbie
- doubleo at 10-03-2009 12:59 PM (16 years ago)
Its a serious issue.
Posted: at 10-03-2009 12:59 PM (16 years ago) | Newbie
- Dan_Fulani at 28-11-2011 06:12 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: Biglinus on  7-02-2009 03:11 PM
If you stay in Nigeria, you must know that most Nigerian corporate bodies prefer to use graduates with a B.sc certificate to an HND holder. Even top government parastals follow this trend in principle even though their policy speak in the contrarly. The irony of the whole is that most HND holders are better graduates than degree holders- I stand to be corrected. So my questionis: Is having an HND certificate a waste of time? why not cancel the Polytechnic system as a whole if you think her graduates aren't good enough?

SIMPLE SOLUTION: Convert all HND to B.Sc in Technology degrees. All polytechnics
should stop issuing the HND and start offering the bachelor of Technology degrees.

The open secret is that the HND is equivalent to the B.Sc degree. The only difference
is where you got your education. One was in a building called University and the other
was from another building called Polytechnic. Usually they used the same text books and
are taught by equally qualified instructors.

dan fulani
Posted: at 28-11-2011 06:12 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Dan_Fulani at 28-11-2011 06:41 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: peacetee on  8-02-2009 03:19 PM
Y settle 4 HND if u can get a degree?

They did not settle for HND. They went in most cases because they could
not find a place at the universities. Reasons could include 1) the universities
are too expensive or 2) they just did not know people who could help them
get in. Another reason could be they refused to give bribes to corrupt university
officials. Corruptions are everywhere.

dan fulani

Posted: at 28-11-2011 06:41 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Liliya at 12-12-2011 03:45 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: dguy on 17-02-2009 09:13 PM
Employers prefer BSC thats what is wrong with it
you are wrong...they say that but the truth is that evry business owner needs a worker with brain, initiative and practcability. try applying for a job that is posted for BSC, you will be amazed to find out that you can be called and so long as u impress them, its yoours...nothing do HND...
Posted: at 12-12-2011 03:45 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- kp45 at 17-04-2012 09:08 AM (13 years ago)
Poster dis days employer prefer HND
Posted: at 17-04-2012 09:08 AM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- sophiebaby at 17-04-2012 09:11 AM (13 years ago)
Bsc are paid better of than Hnd grad..but the truth is..Hnd does the job better

Posted: at 17-04-2012 09:11 AM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero

1. "How My Mother’s Lover Rap3d Me" — 12 Year Old Victim Narrates Ordeal

2. Fresh Wave of Violence In Benue As Herdsmen Attacks Leave Nine Farmers Dead

3. Federal Government Sets Plans In Motion To Repatriate 15,000 Stranded Nigerians Abroad

4. El-Rufai &Peter Obi Meet At Cambridge Conference, Sparking Political Speculation Ahead Of 2027

5. Football Star, Lionel Messi-Marriage Rumours Stir Online Frenzy As Divorce Speculations Grow

6. Female Kidnapper, Three Others Nabbed in Police Raid on Notorious Anambra Criminal Hideout

7. NDLEA Officer Arrested After Failed Armed Robbery Attempt, Shooting Of Bolt Driver in Abuja

8. "Why Was I Held Hostage?" — VeryDarkMan Blasts GTBank Over EFCC Arrest Ordeal (Video)

1. 18Yr Old Boy Impregnates 10 Girls, Including His Boss' Daughter After He Was Sent To Learn A

2. "Many Have Suffered From Stroke" -Pastor Oyakhilome’s Sermon On Salt Sparks Heated Debate (Vid)

3. VDM And I Are Officially Married - Actress Sarah Martins Drops Bombshell

4. LA HOTTIE! Davido’s Wife, Chioma Adeleke, Flaunts Her Hot Bod In Lovely New Photos

5. "Why I Would Choose Davido Over Burnaboy, Wizkid" – Singer, Zinoleesky

6. 'Some Men Are Praying For Their Wives To Die So They Can Marry Another' -Nigerian Man Blows Hot

7. Nollywood Star, Uche Ogbodo Undergoes 'BBL & Tummy Tuck'; Shares Recovery Journey (Video)

8. I’m Married To Jesus — Pretty Reverend Sister Tells Asaba Boys Asking For Her Number (VID)

9. What God Said I Should Tell You..- Female Bishop Sends Warning to Gospel Singer Mercy Chinwo

10. Kunle Remi Reacts To Trending Video Showing The Toilet In A ‘Luxury Apartment’ In Lekki, Lagos