idealism at 3-04-2012 10:35 AM (12 years ago) (m) Nigeria’s largest sex market • Inside Benin City prostitution ring By HENRY UMAHI Saturday, April 4, 2011 Prostitutes on parade • Photo: The Sun Publishing Living index As the live band, known as the Zion Band, dished out different tunes at Time Out Fun Paradise in Benin City, capital of Edo State, two female dancers were serenading the guests with their suggestive dance steps. Indeed, their general stage mannerisms were erotic. The dancers paraded contrasting features: One was very tall and slim. The other was not so tall but blessed with more flesh, especially in the right places. The atmosphere was lively. There was hardly an empty seat or standing space, as men and women squeezed their way in. The number kept increasing and fun seekers spilled outside. Those who couldn’t bear the choking ambience simply frolicked outside. In fact, there were more people outside than inside. Most of them were women and on business. They were commercial sex workers strutting their stuff and soliciting for patronage from men. Time Out Fun Paradise could be described as world’s biggest sex market. It is a prostitutes’ paradise, a haven of sinful lust. There, women of various ages, shapes and sizes compete for attention. Indeed, the number of scarlet women on parade is simply amazing. It is usually a crowd, like political rally. And because of the stiff competition in the ‘market,’ the women adopt aggressive marketing strategies. They are desperate, throwing decorum to the wind. The provocative dressing and weird make-up the women wear show the stuff they are made of. Most of them wear bum shorts and revealing tops. Some wear micro-mini skirts that barely cover their pants. Their Bosom s spill from the half-cup bra, which they throw into the faces of men. And, in their desperation, they woo men openly. The more daring among them pull out their Bosom s for their prospective client to see and feel while bargaining, saying in Pidgin English: “Touch correct Bosom s, Bosom s wey stand well, Bosom s wey never fall.” The aim is to convince the customer to play ball. Saturday Sun had a time out at the fun paradise penultimate weekend and witnessed scenes of debauchery. From about 8pm, the commercial sex workers begin to amass. Thursday nights are special nights: ladies nights. Heavy smoking and drinking goes on there, even as hawkers of recharge cards, water, cigarettes, condoms and sundry items also ply their trade. Business comes into full swing from 10pm. Sex is not exactly cheap at the centre. Most of the practitioners peg their asking price at between N6, 000 and N10, 000 for an all night dalliances, while a quickie (short time or kpa kpa kpa) goes for about N2, 000. However, it depends on the customer’s purse and bargaining power as well as the girls’ marketing ability. Time is also a factor in the sex trade. As the night winds down, price crash. One of the scarlet ladies, who gave her name as Destiny, told the reporter that it was not her destiny to engage in the business. After some haggling and a bottle of Smirnoff Ice, she said: “If you give me N4, 000, I will go with you. I just need some money to take care of some things.” Asked why she was bartering her womanhood for cash, she quipped: “Na condition bend crayfish.” Although many of the commercial sex workers claimed to be students, investigations revealed that some actually engage in legitimate business in the afternoon but practice prostitution at night to augument their earning. Some of them work as waitresses in eateries and hotels in the afternoon but at night they transform to sex providers. Saturday Sun checks revealed that most of the hookers are from the South-South states. They find Benin attractive because of vibrant nightlife occasioned by the dwindling rate of crime in the city in recent time. Again, some of them are girls deported from Italy and elsewhere, where they had gone to seek greener pastures. Although Time Out is regarded as the hottest pub in Benin, it is certainly not the only place sex is sold and bought in the city. LJJ on Sapele Road is another sex rendezvous. A garden like affair with thatched roof, it is a perfect place for fun seekers. The icing on the cake is that waiters there also serve as pimps. Photographs of call girls are available for patrons to make their pick. So, if you make your choice, the girl’s mobile phone numbers will be given to you to reach her and discuss business. On entering there, waitresses always announce, gleefully, that they have everything, including girls. When the reporter feigned interest, one of the waitresses pulled out her phone and wrote a telephone number. According to her, the number belongs to “one hot girl, who knows how to give value for money. Her name is Faith.” However, when Faith’s number was called, she said that she was “running things somewhere.” Free girls are also on the prowl in the premises of Jonvee Kitchen. Some of them sit at tables and make passes at men. The more daring ones accost men leaving the place and offer their company. One of the side attractions at Jonvee is the performance of semi-clad female dancers, who entertain guests. When Saturday Sun was there, a rotund dancer dished out suggestive stuff, as Makossa music blasted from the speakers. A few meters away from Jonvee is De Konsolate nite club. There, sex workers keep vigil, in anticipation of patronage. They are alert, watching out for the slightest signal from potential clients. A middle-aged woman simply known as Omowunmi runs a prostitution ring in Benin. To pick an “Omowunmi girl,” the client will pay for the girl’s taxi fare, food, drinks and N10, 000 per night. Omowunmi, who cruises about town in a cute Kia sedan car, also supplies girls at rich men’s parties. Toast of social events, when a client ‘places an order’, she will send text message to her girls, briefing them accordingly Her girls are said to be some of the hottest in Benin City. TUFIAKWA EDO PEOPLE AS A WHOLE IS SO SAD YOU HAD TO WASH YOUR DIRTY LIL LEG OUTSIDE...I MEAN YOUR HISTORY CHEI Posted: at 3-04-2012 10:35 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming | |
steve222 at 3-04-2012 10:36 AM (12 years ago) (m) Nigeria’s largest sex market • Inside Benin City prostitution ring By HENRY UMAHI Saturday, April 4, 2011 Prostitutes on parade • Photo: The Sun Publishing Living index As the live band, known as the Zion Band, dished out different tunes at Time Out Fun Paradise in Benin City, capital of Edo State, two female dancers were serenading the guests with their suggestive dance steps. Indeed, their general stage mannerisms were erotic. The dancers paraded contrasting features: One was very tall and slim. The other was not so tall but blessed with more flesh, especially in the right places. The atmosphere was lively. There was hardly an empty seat or standing space, as men and women squeezed their way in. The number kept increasing and fun seekers spilled outside. Those who couldn’t bear the choking ambience simply frolicked outside. In fact, there were more people outside than inside. Most of them were women and on business. They were commercial sex workers strutting their stuff and soliciting for patronage from men. Time Out Fun Paradise could be described as world’s biggest sex market. It is a prostitutes’ paradise, a haven of sinful lust. There, women of various ages, shapes and sizes compete for attention. Indeed, the number of scarlet women on parade is simply amazing. It is usually a crowd, like political rally. And because of the stiff competition in the ‘market,’ the women adopt aggressive marketing strategies. They are desperate, throwing decorum to the wind. The provocative dressing and weird make-up the women wear show the stuff they are made of. Most of them wear bum shorts and revealing tops. Some wear micro-mini skirts that barely cover their pants. Their Bosom s spill from the half-cup bra, which they throw into the faces of men. And, in their desperation, they woo men openly. The more daring among them pull out their Bosom s for their prospective client to see and feel while bargaining, saying in Pidgin English: “Touch correct Bosom s, Bosom s wey stand well, Bosom s wey never fall.” The aim is to convince the customer to play ball. Saturday Sun had a time out at the fun paradise penultimate weekend and witnessed scenes of debauchery. From about 8pm, the commercial sex workers begin to amass. Thursday nights are special nights: ladies nights. Heavy smoking and drinking goes on there, even as hawkers of recharge cards, water, cigarettes, condoms and sundry items also ply their trade. Business comes into full swing from 10pm. Sex is not exactly cheap at the centre. Most of the practitioners peg their asking price at between N6, 000 and N10, 000 for an all night dalliances, while a quickie (short time or kpa kpa kpa) goes for about N2, 000. However, it depends on the customer’s purse and bargaining power as well as the girls’ marketing ability. Time is also a factor in the sex trade. As the night winds down, price crash. One of the scarlet ladies, who gave her name as Destiny, told the reporter that it was not her destiny to engage in the business. After some haggling and a bottle of Smirnoff Ice, she said: “If you give me N4, 000, I will go with you. I just need some money to take care of some things.” Asked why she was bartering her womanhood for cash, she quipped: “Na condition bend crayfish.” Although many of the commercial sex workers claimed to be students, investigations revealed that some actually engage in legitimate business in the afternoon but practice prostitution at night to augument their earning. Some of them work as waitresses in eateries and hotels in the afternoon but at night they transform to sex providers. Saturday Sun checks revealed that most of the hookers are from the South-South states. They find Benin attractive because of vibrant nightlife occasioned by the dwindling rate of crime in the city in recent time. Again, some of them are girls deported from Italy and elsewhere, where they had gone to seek greener pastures. Although Time Out is regarded as the hottest pub in Benin, it is certainly not the only place sex is sold and bought in the city. LJJ on Sapele Road is another sex rendezvous. A garden like affair with thatched roof, it is a perfect place for fun seekers. The icing on the cake is that waiters there also serve as pimps. Photographs of call girls are available for patrons to make their pick. So, if you make your choice, the girl’s mobile phone numbers will be given to you to reach her and discuss business. On entering there, waitresses always announce, gleefully, that they have everything, including girls. When the reporter feigned interest, one of the waitresses pulled out her phone and wrote a telephone number. According to her, the number belongs to “one hot girl, who knows how to give value for money. Her name is Faith.” However, when Faith’s number was called, she said that she was “running things somewhere.” Free girls are also on the prowl in the premises of Jonvee Kitchen. Some of them sit at tables and make passes at men. The more daring ones accost men leaving the place and offer their company. One of the side attractions at Jonvee is the performance of semi-clad female dancers, who entertain guests. When Saturday Sun was there, a rotund dancer dished out suggestive stuff, as Makossa music blasted from the speakers. A few meters away from Jonvee is De Konsolate nite club. There, sex workers keep vigil, in anticipation of patronage. They are alert, watching out for the slightest signal from potential clients. A middle-aged woman simply known as Omowunmi runs a prostitution ring in Benin. To pick an “Omowunmi girl,” the client will pay for the girl’s taxi fare, food, drinks and N10, 000 per night. Omowunmi, who cruises about town in a cute Kia sedan car, also supplies girls at rich men’s parties. Toast of social events, when a client ‘places an order’, she will send text message to her girls, briefing them accordingly Her girls are said to be some of the hottest in Benin City. TUFIAKWA EDO PEOPLE AS A WHOLE WE ARE BETTER THAN YOUR STINKY MOTHER OGUN HAMMER YOU Posted: at 3-04-2012 10:36 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming | |
You Can say tht again
I AM WHO I AM, IF YOU DON'T LIKE IT, YOU CAN BLOODY DO THE OTHER THING AND FCUK ALL HATERZ Posted: at 3-04-2012 10:39 AM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero | |
idontno at 3-04-2012 10:39 AM (12 years ago) (m) CHECK THE LINK WEBSITE: http://www.sunnewsonline.com/webpages/features/living/2011/apr/02/living-02-04-2011-001.htm WITH ANOTHER BAD NEW IN THE SAME EDO. OMG www.edofolks.com/html/pub57.htmANOTHER NEWS www.naijapals.com/modules/naijapals/.../topic,63847.15.html ANOTHER NEWS www.nairaland.com/112553/sex-trafficking-benin-city-nigeriaANOTHER NEWS http://www.nairaland.com/112553/sex-trafficking-benin-city-nigeriaANOTHER NEWS Sex Trafficking In Benin City, Nigeria Nigeria seems to have turned into a hotspot for women being smuggled into the sex trade. This poo is crazy. Trafficking women for prostitution became a problem in Benin City in the mid-1980s when free-market economic reforms led to massive job losses and impoverished many Nigerians.Today, the Nigeria-Italy prostitution trade has become a sinister, self-propagating cycle. Now, more than 80 percent of Nigerian women trafficked abroad to work in the sex trade come from Edo state, where Benin City is located, according to United Nations estimates. The main destination is Italy. The reality is some women choose this, but many are smuggled not only for sex work, but for forced labor and domestic help. But this is the part that really got me. Women are being manipulated using local traditional oaths to scare them and force them into sex work. Before they leave Nigeria, women are taken to traditional shrines where they swear to pay their debts to their madams and not to denounce them to the police. The women leave fingernails, pubic hairs, soiled underwear and other intimate items at the shrines. These, according to traditional beliefs which are strong in Benin, give the priests power to harm them wherever they are in the world. Finally, the article talks about this notion of sacrifice and how in this particular culture sacrifice is a sign of femininity. I think that unfortunately is a global phenomenon. The gendering of sacrifice and its connection to women's work http://feministing.com/archives/006133.html Posted: at 3-04-2012 10:39 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming | |
idealism at 3-04-2012 10:41 AM (12 years ago) (m) YOU CHECK YOUR MEDIOCRAZY LINK HERE http://www.africaguide.com/culture/tribes/ibo.htm ( There is a negative side to the Ibo culture, however. Since the British invaded and settled Iboland in the beginning of the 16th century, things have changed drastically, mostly to the disadvantage of women. Today, women are considered second-class citizens, and subservient to men, and sometimes treated as slaves. Women are also forced to study certain “womanly” subjects in school. ) IS IT NOT OBVIOUS JUST IN CASE YOU DONT KNOW....SO I EDUCATE YOU ON YOUR HISTORIES.. Posted: at 3-04-2012 10:41 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming | |
idealism at 3-04-2012 10:42 AM (12 years ago) (m) Reply |
steve222 at 3-04-2012 10:44 AM (12 years ago) (m) WHEN YOU GO STOP THAT YOUR ASHAWO WORK FOR ITALY che bella my foot smelling honeypot Posted: at 3-04-2012 10:44 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming | |
I AM WHO I AM, IF YOU DON'T LIKE IT, YOU CAN BLOODY DO THE OTHER THING AND FCUK ALL HATERZ Posted: at 3-04-2012 10:44 AM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero | |
steve222 at 3-04-2012 10:48 AM (12 years ago) (m) YOU CHECK YOUR MEDIOcr*zy LINK HERE http://www.africaguide.com/culture/tribes/ibo.htm ( There is a negative side to the Ibo culture, however. Since the British invaded and settled Iboland in the beginning of the 16th century, things have changed drastically, mostly to the disadvantage of women. Today, women are considered second-class citizens, and subservient to men, and sometimes treated as slaves. Women are also forced to study certain “womanly” subjects in school. ) IS IT NOT OBVIOUS JUST IN CASE YOU DONT KNOW....SO I EDUCATE YOU ON YOUR HISTORIES.. WELL DONE THOSE COWARDS WILL NEVER LERAN Posted: at 3-04-2012 10:48 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming | |
steve222 at 3-04-2012 10:51 AM (12 years ago) (m) WE ARE BETTER THAN YOUR STINKY FAMILY OLE Posted: at 3-04-2012 10:51 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming | |
ndycharly at 3-04-2012 10:55 AM (12 years ago) (m) Ok, u don't a man that will poke-nose in everything you do, so that u can prostitute around.....carry on is all abt u and HIV. Posted: at 3-04-2012 10:55 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie | |
arsenal123 at 3-04-2012 10:57 AM (12 years ago) (m) Reply |
arsenal123 at 3-04-2012 10:58 AM (12 years ago) (m) does this mean that Edo men doesn't care, all they want if for you to make money and they allow mess aroun??? Point of correction, if you've dated a nosy igbo does not mean dat all igbo men are nosy, come to think of it, you ain't ready for marriage whomsoever loves you will always care about your personal affairs. It seems u just want to get married and continue living the life of a single lady, no way girl No Igbo Man can take that so wake up. Edo men, una don hear abi, u guys want the good things of life without caring about how it came.
WELL SAID BROTHER Posted: at 3-04-2012 10:58 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac | |
arsenal123 at 3-04-2012 10:59 AM (12 years ago) (m) BENIN CITY TRAFFICKING, PROSTITUTION AND SOCIAL INCLUSION OF THE GIRLS OF BENIN CITY IN ITALY Claudio Magnabosco April 13, 2004 A survey on living conditions of Nigerian girls in Italy involving 150 clients / friends, 34 girls / prostitutes and 12 volunteers scattered throughout Italy. The reality is different and more serious than that depicted by ministries, international organizations, law enforcement , voluntary associations and media. Continue to arrive in Italy young Nigerian clandestine, no longer come from urban areas, but from domestic ones, where the news is less prevalent it is - that is - changed the strategy of recruiting the girls. The girls do not confide to anyone how the arrival of their journey in Italy, but certainly did not end the journeys of despair made through the desert littered with suffering and death. The maman are supported by more and more African men, supposed friends / brothers / boyfriends of the girls, and these, in fact, exploit and control them, through an emotional deception to this day largely unknown in the African, but used racket from Eastern Europe, it is - that - changed control strategy of the girls. It note a mixture between the underworld rackets Eastern European, African and Italian, Romanian and Albanian, and monitor African girls is, however, a surprising and if only occasional, early rackets will clash for control of the market has changed - that is - the racket and girls are increasingly being sold. Without accompaniment after the complaint, the Community's path, document capture and starting to work, when the girls find themselves in trouble returning to prostitution; rehabilitation measures - so - are not effective. Even couples (customer / girl) are regularized problems for the home (jumping the leases) and for the work, and men at risk of losing the children of the previous marriage because their relationship with Africa is morally stigmatized by family members; the social context - then - is still steeped in racism. The media emphasize their interest in instrumental customers and prostitutes, rather than to listen to voice-demands and proposals, To bring raw and tearful testimony, spettacolarizzando parodisticamente problems and refusing to make real information. Most girls do not more prostitutes on the street, but in apartments: apartment buildings in the most decent, the protests of tenants are mitigated by pity for the girls and the fear of retaliation explicitly threatened by who controls them. Increase in the number of immigrants customers who have fewer financial resources and consider the girls only as objects, many Italian customers are unscrupulous, but at least some of them become a positive resource for girls has changed, and thus the type of customers and is tolerant attitude of the authorities, because it considers the availability of prostitutes for foreigners as a ceiling price. The Italian clientele consists of an increasing number of profiteers who can offer girls casual work, housing, loans, food, etc. . require in exchange for segxwal favors and money has increased - that is - the number of exploiters of the girls. A growing number of businesses run by foreigners who have temporary work to the girls, true and false documents, loans, contacts with new customers, the house, the girls are charged with segxwal performance, deliver the documents (which are cloned and recycled), making committees (including delivery of drugs through careless customers / friends) are - ie - increased the constraints of the underground girls. With fewer customers and less generous and more burdens to survive, many girls moving in different Italian and foreign locations to the futile search squares of profitable, after a few weeks trying to return to Italy, undocumented and money, they resort to friends / Italian customers or incur new debts by binding to new exploiters. More than 100 African girls murdered in Italy in 2 years. Victims of violence that have used public health facilities are many, many more than that, out of fear, have not had to treat, a growing number of visitors to psychiatric services. Are multiplying initiatives and projects aimed at customers, the most interesting is the site www.chisei.org , turned to Rome. These data, a second part of the investigation, dedicated to opinions and ideas of the girls and their friends, is being developed. Posted: at 3-04-2012 10:59 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac | |
steve222 at 3-04-2012 11:00 AM (12 years ago) (m) Reply |
arsenal123 at 3-04-2012 11:00 AM (12 years ago) (m) Benin City prostitution ring is Nigeria’s largest sex market
GIRL OF BENIN CITY
Living in Italy, and clandestine prostitutes, thousands of Nigerian girls, exploited by a racket that has brought to Europe with false promises and reduced them in a state of real schiavitù.L 'unawareness of customers - in fact - to contribute exploit them, and the respectability of those who believe that the problem can be solved only rispedendole in Africa and the moralism of those who can not bear even the idea of having to talk about prostitution, the indifference of those who live only for the selfish and do not know much hoped that solutions and punitive detention, racism always present, the imperfect civil commitment of those who have expressed solidarity with Safiya and Amina, who risked being stoned to death in Nigeria, but he can not do nothing for the many who live Safiya and Amina in Italy .... These are the stones with which, every day, African women are stoned in Italia.Il Project "The Girl from Benin City" addresses the issue of African girls who arrive in Italy, reduced to slavery and does not become an instrument of sectarian practical action, working on four fronts: 1 - with the "voluntary organizations", encouraging them to favor the flow of financial support through which they can pursue paths of recovery of these girls, 2 - with the "institutions", urging them to not solve the problem only with the return of the girls; 3 - to the "customers", recovering to behave responsibly and helping them to overcome their own discomfort with the support of grassroots groups of self-help; 4 - toward ' public opinion by proposing initiatives sensibilizzazione.Il Project does not collect directly and does not handle money, but invites those who can and want to adopt a girl from a distance, funding, in a mutually anonymous, the rehabilitation process implemented by organizations of volontariato.Il Project wants to be a multiplier of initiatives and work there former customers, cultural workers, volunteers, the testimonial. The basic idea is that if you do not involve all the actors, the phenomenon will be neither understood nor defeated. Who wants to spend in the first person can do it, and whoever wants to do something, but to remain anonymous may do so; those who want to leave your discomfort can farlo.Al end of media attention and the initiative to enhance the role of the media, has been created Prize "The Girl from Benin City" will be awarded annually to a person who has helped create a culture of solidarity on the issue of slavery and the status of women. At the Turin Book Fair 2002, the first edition of the Prize went to Toni Capuozzo reporter for Channel 5.Il project starts from an Italian love story of a young Nigerian woman. Some readers of the novel that he was born, "Akara-Ogun and the girl in Benin City" by Claudio Magnabosco, published by Which Culture - Viking, have "network" with each other, transforming the experience of each in a concrete action of human solidarity and social and civil engagement.
Posted: at 3-04-2012 11:00 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac | |
steve222 at 3-04-2012 11:00 AM (12 years ago) (m) Reply |
arsenal123 at 3-04-2012 11:01 AM (12 years ago) (m) A beginning of reflection on the phenomenon of prostitution of Nigeria. An exodus of girls from Benin City to prostitute on the streets of Europe. Nigerian prostitution They come from a city of Nigeria in Benin City. These are the girls who prostitute themselves on the streets of Europe '. There are about 50000 Nigerian girls into prostitution. They are trafficked by an international racket. April 15, 2004 - P. Giorgio Poletti Source: Comboni Missionaries Castel Volturno NIGERIAN PROSTITUTION
Thousands of Nigerian girls that we meet on our streets, day and night, on the outskirts of the city or on highways. Some years ago, in Nigeria, I asked a Nigerian Bishop: My lord what are you doing for your bishops daughters prostitute themselves to thousands in Europe? They estimated about 50,000 girls in prostitution on European roads. The answer was: "Dear Father, Nigeria has about 120,000 million inhabitants, what would you have 50,000 people." Another Nigerian bishop said: "The Nigerian prostitution concerns above all a city in Benin City, talks with the Bishop of Benin City . " They are two of the many answers that I and my colleagues have received on our trip to Nigeria in search of an explanation to the phenomenon of Nigerian prostitutes on our streets. Prostitution some say has existed since the beginnings of human life and can be true , but most of these times is inserted into human trafficking for segxwal purposes. There is certainly nothing new, there is the segxwal slavery for centuries, but today the phenomenon is global in international racketeering. Prostitution exists because there is a huge demand, millions of Italians of all ages, even adolescents, requiring segxwal favors to girls on the street. Are reports furtive, most of the time expeditious. The archipelago of "customer" is very diverse and mostly reveals the failure of human relationships and especially the difficulties of living an authentic relationship with your family, or simply to satisfy the segxwal drive. Married and unmarried are turning to these girls and often are involved in relationships which are in turn exploited by the girls. I often get the call from the customer who is attracted by the girl who constantly makes requests for money, even millions, and "fools" take the bait and give, give money ... The girls were trained to dupe customers, have taught them before leaving as use their body and all the "spells" for bamboozle possible European men. And the Italians we constantly fall ... In the African lived in Mozambique, I never had occasion to address this problem, because the culture did not promote prostitution in Mozambique. Prostitution flourished especially around large cities where there were Europeans , the "white" "azungu" who bought sex with money.
For years in Castel Volturno together with my colleague we faced the problem of prostitution, because in our area is booming. The Nigerian African world met at Castel Volturno is very far from the world that I lived in Mozambique, although now the news coming Mozambique also reveal that there has begun the cultural disintegration brought by economic liberalism, consumerism ... It 's a question that sometimes comes to me: if Africa and Africans remain orphans of the West might be best for them? First slavery, then colonialism, political and now economic colonialism and corruption of the Africans are doing (at least in some countries) and their real world a dunghill: corruption, waste, prostitution ...
Do not know the world of prostitution East, I wanted to get me enough problems of prostituted Nigerian girls. Africa is very big and there are many African states, different from each other in culture, religion, language. The European colonizing power has greatly influenced the growth of these nations. And 'different Portuguese colonization of Angola, Mozambique, Guinea Bissau, Cabo Verde, from the English Uganda, Sudan, Nigeria. The evangelization itself has created considerable diversity to be evangelized by Catholic missionaries English is very different from ' evangelization of the Catholic Portuguese missionaries ... Among the Italians is the belief that "blacks" are all the same. We speak of Nigerian prostitution, but it is wrong because most of the girls comes from the Nigerian city of Benin City and in a certain way Bishop was right when he said that to apply to the Bishop of Benin City to address the problem (which we did). What cultural destruction suffered Benin City, where it seems that the only value is money (in Italy we are not far) where there is a terrible hunger for money across all the institutions. The disproportion between men and women, the low cultural level of the woman, the impossibility of a future, the same African extended family that can become a terrible trap for these girls, are all underlying causes of the mass exodus of girls from Benin city. The same world that carries deep religious and symbolic blackmail on the psyche of these young women requiring them to observe oaths (voodoo) and take to it with this racket playing and practicing on the credulity of religious blackmail by playing on fear, is one reason that prevents the output from prostitution. There are many aspects of the phenomenon of "prostitution." I think our girls in "rehabilitation" and I realize more and more of the cultural destruction to which they were subjected. A much anger there is in them, often sold by the father (if you can call it) that are known to be in Italy to be prostitutes, and even they know it, there is also their responsibility, even a choice If conditioning. It is true that they are completely enslaved. The tragedy is that most often buy mentality "slut" and it becomes very difficult to change, because it is a life project for which they were shipped: make money fast, in any way. The drama is in renewal, change ways of looking the world, to others, men (not all are clients) And 'this undertaking was miraculous. Think of a girl who was on the road for three years, with dozens of daily meetings and that kind of meeting where met men of all kinds, what will there? What anger and crushing! They can live in this world most of the time using the mechanism of dissociation. E 'deep cultural change needed in Benin City, a city that lives much of the remittances from abroad, money in the drug trade and prostitution. Dominates the god of money ... could have a big role in Benin City where the Church undertook to unite churches in the presence and participation in the sacraments with a real commitment to social justice and a society of values, but God remains in churches and often in the vestry ... These girls are victims of a cultural model linked to easy money, moreover, is the model that we export media: mass media of Italy is the country of plenty, just answer a few little question and give you thousands and thousands euros. The Italian example is not the best: A country adrift (writing this I wonder if I am not pessimistic, but then reading the newspaper and looked around and far abroad did not think so), that squalor and misery that the political forces that govern us. I pose a question: are still so dumb Italians of a dupe of the political campaign underway, "the English and the Internet in the first year of school." One of the many posters made to dupe the gullible. Of course if you have a lot of money then keep it up, but those who struggle to live ... hopefully see sense!
Father George
WOWWWWWWWWW! ! ! Posted: at 3-04-2012 11:01 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac | |
steve222 at 3-04-2012 11:01 AM (12 years ago) (m) ojukwu brought a disgrace to the igbos.but u need no to say this kind of thing in the furum,
Posted: at 3-04-2012 11:01 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming | |
idealism at 3-04-2012 11:02 AM (12 years ago) (m) TO WHOM IT MAY CONCERN ;DThe Igbo are an egotistical breed indeed. They have this air about them that borders on selfish self-deceit. I remember growing up with stories of how intelligent the Igbo are in comparison to the backward, illiterate and stupid Hausas. Everywhere, the Igbo’s oversized ego pushes them into projecting themselves as a far cleverer tribe than they really are. This perception pervades the whole of Igbo land that I was surprised to find out only a few years back that “Aboki” means “Friend” and not the utterly derogatory collocation that borders on “Dumbo” is it given down the East. I’m not trying to unnecessarily pick on my own brothers; every tribe has their own misconceptions of reality. I’m just giving a perspective. Earlier this month (March, 2012), I happened to travel from Jalingo to Gboko, and my driver was not a commercial driver at all. He said he was a government ‘general contractor’ (whatever that means), doing a part-time computer course in Gombe State University (I think) and shuttles from his home in Makurdi to the school each weekend. He picks passengers travelling along the same route on his Toyota car to and fro, as a way of cutting costs. As I was sitting on the front with him, it made striking up a conversation with him a lot easier, coupled with the fact that he was a real chatty fellow. Soon his conversation (he did most of the talking) moved from castigating his native Taraba state for being (virtually) the most backward state in Nigeria, to the causes of the Nigerian civil war. He gave me a totally different insight to what he felt were the remote causes of the pogrom and the distrust in the North (which of course led to the civil war). In his view, the North started ‘hating’ the East primarily not because of religious differences, but owing to the overbearing attitude of the Igbo which they exhibited both in daily interaction with their northern counterparts, and in the army. He insinuated that the Igbo started a form of social Apartheid against the less literate and less sophisticated northerners. As an example, he narrated a personal account of an incidence he witnessed as a child in which an Igbo clearly objected to sharing a seat on the same bus with a Hausa on the grounds that the Hausa man was dirty and disheveled, as all Hausa are wont to be. This he (the Igbo man) did right in front of other Hausa onlookers, in their town! My driver was not finished yet: he said that there was no doubt that, for instance, the Hausa soldiers were less exposed than their counterparts from other tribes; but it was the Igbo who went out of their way to prove this to the Hausa brethren. There and then, a dangerous seed of anger and resentment was being sown. He finished with a question: why does it have to be the Igbo who single-handedly carried out the first coup, and why did they have to leave out popular Igbo figures in the killings? While I cannot vouch for the veracity of the above insinuations, I mentioned them to drive my point home that the Igbo believe too much in their abilities and worth, and it did not start today. It particularly irks me then when I hear people say that had Biafra been allowed to secede, she would have been a far advanced country by now. The claim is so empty that I really should not have bothered, but I had to since it is a regular card being played by Biafra apologists who make every effort to mourn yesterday, while brazen murderers of today are having a field day. Before the 1966 Nzeogwu-led coup defined a new route for what was to become of Nigeria, the existing civilian government then was made up of a substantially large number of people of Igbo (Biafran) extraction, who were all involved actively in sowing the seeds of corruption, which the military in turn capitalized on to unleash their own brand of looting. There was no evidence that the embezzlement and maladministration which became the hallmark of government then was restricted to other parts of the country, save then East. If Biafra had succeeded, it is highly likely that the same looting ideology/class would have found its way to governance quite naturally. I say this because the Biafra dream was a ‘secession’, not a ‘revolution’. There is a popular cliché that ‘Igbo enweghi eze’ (Igbo has no king). It does not mean the Igbo do not have titular heads with kingship designations in their various communities. It means that whoever happens to be the king is a primus inter pares and therefore has his powers stripped to the barest minimum of authority since the Igbo have maintained an essentially democratic system of government. The downside of the cliché though, is that decision making becomes a difficult process with the attendant problem of not carrying everyone along. It also implies then that for every Igbo Agenda, there is a mole somewhere assiduously working to rock the boat, or better still, sink it. And the mole is Igbo, too. That the Biafra project did not succeed was attributed – to some extent – to the fact that not all (prominent) Igbo threw their weight behind it (I’m looking at you, Zik). But that is talk for another day. What then do you think will be the fate of a country made up of a bunch of I-too-knows? Fast-forward to 21st century Nigeria and look at the state of Ndigbo as a nation. Whatever is there to cheer about the Igbo is a result of individual effort, and not astute governance. Whether it is the great Igbo markets, or the famed Igbo Transporters, or the infrastructural layouts, name it. They are all a collection of feats of desperate citizens which will still happen in a different badly run country, and then ends there. Who in the Igbo nation has the political ideology to move Nigeria (or Biafra) forward among the sleazy lot in power at the moment? Who can the Igbo wholeheartedly say they could trust? Look at the current crop of south-east senators and tell me the plight of the common man happen to cross their minds in a whole year, unless they happen to need between 10-20% of your votes (don’t worry, they can make up the rest through rigging). A friend once told me that had Biafra been a reality, the Igbo would have reversed to the modern day form of feudal government in which rich riggers like Andy Uba and his miscreant brother would be Vassals to a bigger miscreant, leaving the common Igbo man to work and toil for them. He thought he told a good joke. His grin disappeared when I retorted that he proclaimed a prophecy which thankfully enough might have been averted. Whither Biafra? If any part of Nigeria would have done better as a separate country, it’s most probably the Yoruba. They have time and again shown flashes of the promise both in political ideology and in administration – ACN and Fashola are the present embodiments of both - while across the Niger, my Igbo brethren are content with being stooges. So my dear Ndigbo, can we please stop posturing around with our streak of non-violent Nazism, and actually do something about it? Chidozie Nnachor... http://www.nigeriavillagesquare.com/guest-articles/taraba-memoirs-6-biafra-a-country-worse-than-nigeria.html Posted: at 3-04-2012 11:02 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming | |