"We are both in Love But He's Afraid of Commitment"

Date: 01-05-2012 5:01 pm (12 years ago) | Author: aadex kebella
[1] 2 3 4
- at 1-05-2012 05:01 PM (12 years ago)
I am 35 and in love with my boyfriend of 1-1/2 years, Ben, who is 42. We have a wonderful relationship built on love, mutual respect and friendship. He has three daughters all leaving for college this year and I have a seven year old son who also loves Ben very much. We both know I want to spend the rest of my life with him but he's not so sure, he wants to go on seeing each other and just see what happens. We both had very unhappy first marriages and he's told me several times he is afraid if we get married and/or live together that sooner or later I will leave him and he doesn't want that to happen to him again, (due to his first experience).

We both know we would have a wonderful life together, he even admits it, but he has this fear and I don't know what to do. A couple of weeks ago we went on a trip and we were walking just enjoying the scenery. I guess I was walking too fast and he grabbed me and told me he was afraid I was going to leave him. He did it again this weekend. Both times I have told him that I wouldn't leave him, and I mean that I would never leave him.

His insecurities bring out my insecurities and sometimes I beat myself into the ground, blaming myself and thinking I'm not good enough, that if I was worth it he'd make a commitment, but I also know that it's not all me. He tells me he loves me and he thinks I'm wonderful and he can't believe how lucky he is that I love him, but he's so scared and I don't know what to do to reassure him enough to tear down the fences and give us a chance.

He's the best person I have ever known and I can't imagine my life without him, but my faith is starting to run out because of his non commitment towards the relationship.

What can I do?
From Rachael.

Posted: at 1-05-2012 05:01 PM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- valiente at 1-05-2012 05:05 PM (12 years ago)
a man of 42 is no lonqer a BOY. boyfriend ke??
i quess his first marriage has caused this issue of insecurity. just watch events unfold. . he'd make a commitment soon.
buh i have to repeat, this PAPA is not a BOY. . haba 42!!! Angry Angry Angry
Posted: at 1-05-2012 05:05 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- 50scent at 1-05-2012 05:17 PM (12 years ago)
 Grin

Posted: at 1-05-2012 05:17 PM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- omomarty at 1-05-2012 05:24 PM (12 years ago)
just be patience and continue to give him more assurance.
Posted: at 1-05-2012 05:24 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- houdinin at 1-05-2012 05:26 PM (12 years ago)
42!!! Hei no be small pikin again o!r u goin to wait until he's 50 b4 he commits to u? U guys beta have a heart to heart discussion abt ur insecurities. Time waits for no one.
Posted: at 1-05-2012 05:26 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- omomarty at 1-05-2012 05:28 PM (12 years ago)
correct....................
Posted: at 1-05-2012 05:28 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- 50scent at 1-05-2012 05:40 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: omomarty on  1-05-2012 05:24 PM
just be patience and continue to give him more assurance.

Omosexy  Cool

Posted: at 1-05-2012 05:40 PM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- omomarty at 1-05-2012 05:42 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: 50scent on  1-05-2012 05:40 PM
Omosexy  Cool

hello love watz up?
Posted: at 1-05-2012 05:42 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- 50scent at 1-05-2012 06:23 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: omomarty on  1-05-2012 05:42 PM
hello love watz up?

Im seductively looking cute  Kiss Kiss

Posted: at 1-05-2012 06:23 PM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- mizcollins1 at 1-05-2012 06:37 PM (12 years ago)
you need to reasure him and have patience,let him know how much you love him not just by saying it,show him!..bear in mind you youself have had an already failed marriage,don't want to be rushing things now do you?
Posted: at 1-05-2012 06:37 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- omomarty at 1-05-2012 07:03 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: 50scent on  1-05-2012 06:23 PM
Im seductively looking cute  Kiss Kiss

thats my boooo Kiss Kiss Kiss Kiss Kiss Kiss Kiss Kiss Kiss
Posted: at 1-05-2012 07:03 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- jossy4reall at 1-05-2012 07:18 PM (12 years ago)
a man whos father was killed by bee sting................,whenever he see housefly he will be afraid...........still give him more time while u did ur best 2 assure him dat u wil not leave him.., dat is if u ar sure of it

50kobo I guess u ar d man in question hia

Posted: at 1-05-2012 07:18 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- euwilliams at 1-05-2012 07:36 PM (12 years ago)
nothing to do beloved, let ur YES be YES  and try and play ur card very well. thank u
Posted: at 1-05-2012 07:36 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- yubmuh at 1-05-2012 07:45 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: valiente on  1-05-2012 05:05 PM
a man of 42 is no lonqer a BOY. boyfriend ke??
i quess his first marriage has caused this issue of insecurity. just watch events unfold. . he'd make a commitment soon.
buh i have to repeat, this PAPA is not a BOY. . haba 42!!! Angry Angry Angry
gaskiya is not more a boy but man
Posted: at 1-05-2012 07:45 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- frank_f at 1-05-2012 08:27 PM (12 years ago)
mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm! i just forget what to say... so please give sometime to think before saying Ok
                                                                    Am coming!!!
Posted: at 1-05-2012 08:27 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- ssstrawberry at 1-05-2012 08:30 PM (12 years ago)
mmmmm
Posted: at 1-05-2012 08:30 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- toibeli at 1-05-2012 08:36 PM (12 years ago)
Give him sometime, I am sure he'll come around. Goodluck luck!
Posted: at 1-05-2012 08:36 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- codyross at 1-05-2012 08:56 PM (12 years ago)
DEAR FRIEND U CANT FORCE A MAN 2 PROPOSE 2 U. GUYS OF THESE DAYS U CANT BE 2 SURE. PLS WATCH HIM CLOSELY, THERE MAY BE SMTHINGS HE WOULDNT WANT U 2 DISCOVER AND HE'S AFRAID DAT ONCE U FIND OUT U'LL LEAVE. TAKE TIME & OBSERVE HIM. 
Posted: at 1-05-2012 08:56 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- Neglito at 1-05-2012 09:09 PM (12 years ago)
Both of you are getting older, If he is afraid of marriage what about living together?
Posted: at 1-05-2012 09:09 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Senegal at 1-05-2012 09:09 PM (12 years ago)
yes
Posted: at 1-05-2012 09:09 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
[1] 2 3 4

1. Wofai Fada’s In-laws Release Public Statement Debunking Reports Of Her Marriage To Their Son

2. Mercy Johnson's Husband Raises Awareness On Mental Health Amidst Angela Okorie's Claims

3. Controversial singer, Portable Spotted On A Flight To Kenya With Wife, Bewaji Amid Online Drama

4. "Why INEC’s Server Suffered Glitch During 2023 Presidential Polls" – Peter Obi

5. Wofai Fada Defies In-Laws, Ties The Knot With Taiwo Cole In Traditional Ceremony (Photos & Vid)

6. Mohbad's PA, Darosha Grilled by Police, Spills More About Singer's Death & Hurried Burial

7. How 40yr Old Man Lured 13yr Old Girl With N200 to His House & Held Her From January to March

1. Following CBN Directive, OPay, Palmpay, Others Clamps Down On Crypto

2. Former Nollywood Star, Lola Alao Recounts Shocking Incident Of Assault While Working In Canada

3. Billionaire's Daughter, DJ Cuppy Shares Wedding Bliss & Dreams Of Her Own Love Story

4. "58 Ex-Govs Embezzled N2.187 Trillion" - EFCC Unveils Startling Revelations (See Full List)

5. Holy Spirit Always Gives Me Lotto Number Whenever We Don't Have Anything To Eat -Efotete Family

6. Outrage As 40-year-old Man Allegedly Lures 13-year-old Girl With ₦200, Sparks National Debate

7. Lady Accuses Actress,Mercy Johnson Of Witchcraft, Says Angela Okorie Is Her Next Target (Video)

8. Drama In Club As Sam Larry Gets Confronted By A Club Guest Over Mohbad’s Death (Video)

9. Security Forces Kill IPOB/ESN IED Specialist In Imo State

10. Ex-Lagos Gov. Babatunde Fashola Proudly Walks Daughter, Yewande, Down The Aisle In Style