The Ibo Boys of Virginia! Hotties! :-) (Page 7)

Date: 11-07-2012 12:20 pm (11 years ago) | Author: Bizzi Blaq
1 ... 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11
- jeromchis at 16-07-2012 02:38 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: aishatua1 on 16-07-2012 02:30 PM
Noisemakers... died like you all did in biafra.. Lips Sealed

We have the courage,zeal,focus to live a good
we are liberal,even without religion
U must bow,u must confess
Time dey come
Quake
Posted: at 16-07-2012 02:38 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- aishatua1 at 16-07-2012 02:38 PM (11 years ago)

More than 6, 000 Nigerian Citizens jailed Abroad for drug traffickin​g Offenses' - NDLEA

Not more than 6,000 Nigerians are serving various jail terms for drug-related offences abroad, the National Drug Law Enforcement Agency (NDLEA) has said. According to the NDLEA, Nigeria is the only African country with such a frightening figure.

The agency said that the figure may be higher as the available data could not be said to be totally exhaustive. NDLEA Director General, Mr. Femi Ajayi, told the House of Representatives Committee on Diaspora Matters that Iran has 4,000 inmates, Brazil 500, Thailand 500 and Malaysia 300.

He said: "The bulk of those caught for drug-related offences outside the country were from the South-East with majority coming from Anambra State. "I do not know what we can do to the upsurge of our brothers from the South East-who indulges in this kind of business.

Can you believe that of the 500 Nigerians in Thailand prisons, 480 of them are from the South-East and 450 from the figure are from Anambra State".

Ajayi, however, decried lack of adequate funding of the agency's activities, adding that the development has had negative impact on its ability to fight drug trafficking

http://www.naija247news.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=6850:-more-than-6-000-nigerian-citizens-jailed-abroad-for-drug-trafficking-offenses-ndlea-&catid=90:world-news&Itemid=197

see them wan die because of one aboki,search igbo drug dealers on google and see how many uche comes out..

igbos always crying....

Anambra state alone can produce 80% of igbo drug dealers..
igbos are born criminals..
igbos drug dealers are everywhere in Asia , South America and they lead in South Africa too.
igbos can lie,they hate the truth about themselves..
igbos are notorious liars..
igbos we cheat you in anything..
Just give it few weeks there will be an igbo man on the news about drugs lol,its in your blood..
igbos that eat without water,stones now they chop with human meat.
i just dey laugh..

Posted: at 16-07-2012 02:38 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- aishatua1 at 16-07-2012 02:40 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from nigerians and igbos  living  in South Africa / other nigerians living in a different others countries

Olafolarin Tunde
I believe the story and the Police Chief's opinion.
Its even more mind-boggling in Germany,Spain,Holland and Austria.
In Landstrasse Prison in vIENNA,there are 893 nigerian inmates and the whole prison can only take 950 people.I hope i'm not be tribalist if i tell you that all the 9ja inmates in this particular prison were convicted of the same crime(drugs,drugsrelated crime)and they are all IBOS.

Germany with its high % of police officers faces the same invasion by Nigerian drug criminals too.

So If anybody carrying naija passport is harassed in any airport in the world,we shouldnt be annoyed.

Hey ers,

Akpan John

What as Nigerians turn themselves into all because of $$$$$? Mostly everywhere i went to, they always take things harder if i can't identify myself fully with my passport, thanks to God that am staying legally. They are always found around each street fighting and stabbing themselves due to one thing or the other. Most of them come to South Africa with 3months visa and when they see it's about to expire, they will look for a South Africa girl to deceive with money and ask her to lie that they are married, if she agrees, they will go to the home affairs to apply for extension of stay and once they got it, they will fight the girl and send her off. You won't believe that this crazy Igbo boys here in South Africa are into drugs and prostitution. They ask South African girls out and those fool will accept hoping they want them as girl friend or wife, and after a while they introduce them into this silly business of drug and prostitution. I actually met a white girl a while ago, she was scared of talking to me because the so call Nigeria boss of her will be mad at her if she is talking to a guy when she was suppose to be making money. They find it hard to get out of it even though they are willingly to, only God knows where they get those charms from.

Most of this guys are Igbo boys, they have spoilt the reputation of Nigerians here, i think that was the reason why South Africans where killing Nigerians back then. They were turning their girls to LovePeddler and using them for drugs and other illegal business.

What have you people have to say about this?

IGBOS are a mess to Nigeria, every where they are!, you can see the IGBOness in them. Tho! not all of them but the percentage of bad onces is overwhelming.
They are boastful yet they partake in the most de-humanizing business the world has ever known.
We can punish these Igbos and make our displeasure known to them, just as its done in America, lets boycott shops of an Igbo men. Because majority of them are involved in round tripping of dirty funds. You might see an Igbo man in a shop, without knowing its a cover up!, they join money to buy hard drugs for traffick purpose and use their shops as cover-ups.

Just keep tight pray hard! for the Igbo man's mess not to stain you.

Being a Nigerian is Hard enough, If i were a Nigerian with Igbo ethnicity i would probably commit suicide! Even if i wasnt involved in dark business. The stain is just incomprehensible. Tho! i dont blame the Igbos its strictly in their DNA, the girls are as greedy and money lovers as the guys.

SouthAfrican boy..

HEY BRODAS LISTEN,
WE ALL KNOW IGBOS ARE INTO DIRTY BIZ, IN THE 3 TRIBES WE HAVE IN NIJA. THE YORUBA,HAUSA,IGBOS

THE YORUBAS GO TO SCHOOL AND WORK IN REPUTABLE COMPANIES ANYWHERE IN THE WORLD, WE ALL KNOW THIS FOR SURE AND AM PROUD TO BE A YORUBA MAN

THE HAUSA'S, MOST OF THEM DONT LIKE GOING OUT OF THE COUNTRY BUT IF YOU HAPPEN TO SEE ONE THEN YOU CAN NEVER KNOW , THEY ALSO DEAL IN FRAUD(INTERNATIONAL FRAUD LIKE BANK WIRE AND STUFFS LIKE THAT, GO TO SOME ASIA COUNTRIES YOU FIND THEM THERE BUT 90% OF NIJA IN SOUTHY ARE IGBOS,

THE IGBO'S ENGAGE IN DIRTY BUSINESS AND THIS IS IN THERE BLOOD, THEY HAVE REALLY MADE SOUTHY A PLACE LIKE AJEGUNLE WHERE MOST OF THEM LIVE, SELLING DRUGS(AMALA) AS THEY CALL IT, ON THE STREET AND YOU CAN NEVER FIND A YORUBA AMONG THEM, THEY SPEAK THERE LANGUAGE WHILE ON DUTY, GO TO POINT ROAD IN DURBAN AND YOU SEE FOR YOURSELF, THIS IS REALLY BAD BUT WE ALL KNOW THEY CANT STOP IT COS THEY GOT TO EAT AND SEND MONEY HOME AND WHEN THEY GO HOME, THEY CALL THEM IGWE, WE WONT BLAME THEM ANYWAY, SOME OF US TOO HAVE ONE WAY OR THE OTHER WE USE TO MAKE MONEY, EVERYONE OF US IS NOT 100% CLEAN EVEN 805 CLEAN,
SO MY DEAR BRODAS, LETS ROB MINDS TOGETHER AND MAKE SENCE NOT FIGHT WITH EACHOTHERS,

PROUND TO BE NIJA
JUST KEEP IT NIJA
Posted: at 16-07-2012 02:40 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- jeromchis at 16-07-2012 02:49 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: HOPEA23 on 16-07-2012 12:30 PM
Oh shut up
Your ego is really irritating
Go shut your dead father up
Oozing dirty c*@t
Posted: at 16-07-2012 02:49 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- jeromchis at 16-07-2012 02:57 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: aishatua1 on 16-07-2012 02:40 PM
Quote from nigerians and igbos  living  in South Africa / other nigerians living in a different others countries

Olafolarin Tunde
I believe the story and the Police Chief's opinion.
Its even more mind-boggling in Germany,Spain,Holland and Austria.
In Landstrasse Prison in vIENNA,there are 893 nigerian inmates and the whole prison can only take 950 people.I hope i'm not be tribalist if i tell you that all the 9ja inmates in this particular prison were convicted of the same crime(drugs,drugsrelated crime)and they are all IBOS.

Germany with its high % of police officers faces the same invasion by Nigerian drug criminals too.

So If anybody carrying naija passport is harassed in any airport in the world,we shouldnt be annoyed.

Hey ers,

Akpan John

What as Nigerians turn themselves into all because of $$$$$? Mostly everywhere i went to, they always take things harder if i can't identify myself fully with my passport, thanks to God that am staying legally. They are always found around each street fighting and stabbing themselves due to one thing or the other. Most of them come to South Africa with 3months visa and when they see it's about to expire, they will look for a South Africa girl to deceive with money and ask her to lie that they are married, if she agrees, they will go to the home affairs to apply for extension of stay and once they got it, they will fight the girl and send her off. You won't believe that this crazy Igbo boys here in South Africa are into drugs and prostitution. They ask South African girls out and those fool will accept hoping they want them as girl friend or wife, and after a while they introduce them into this silly business of drug and prostitution. I actually met a white girl a while ago, she was scared of talking to me because the so call Nigeria boss of her will be mad at her if she is talking to a guy when she was suppose to be making money. They find it hard to get out of it even though they are willingly to, only God knows where they get those charms from.

Most of this guys are Igbo boys, they have spoilt the reputation of Nigerians here, i think that was the reason why South Africans where killing Nigerians back then. They were turning their girls to LovePeddler and using them for drugs and other illegal business.

What have you people have to say about this?

IGBOS are a mess to Nigeria, every where they are!, you can see the IGBOness in them. Tho! not all of them but the percentage of bad onces is overwhelming.
They are boastful yet they partake in the most de-humanizing business the world has ever known.
We can punish these Igbos and make our displeasure known to them, just as its done in America, lets boycott shops of an Igbo men. Because majority of them are involved in round tripping of dirty funds. You might see an Igbo man in a shop, without knowing its a cover up!, they join money to buy hard drugs for traffick purpose and use their shops as cover-ups.

Just keep tight pray hard! for the Igbo man's mess not to stain you.

Being a Nigerian is Hard enough, If i were a Nigerian with Igbo ethnicity i would probably commit suicide! Even if i wasnt involved in dark business. The stain is just incomprehensible. Tho! i dont blame the Igbos its strictly in their DNA, the girls are as greedy and money lovers as the guys.

SouthAfrican boy..

HEY BRODAS LISTEN,
WE ALL KNOW IGBOS ARE INTO DIRTY BIZ, IN THE 3 TRIBES WE HAVE IN NIJA. THE YORUBA,HAUSA,IGBOS

THE YORUBAS GO TO SCHOOL AND WORK IN REPUTABLE COMPANIES ANYWHERE IN THE WORLD, WE ALL KNOW THIS FOR SURE AND AM PROUD TO BE A YORUBA MAN

THE HAUSA'S, MOST OF THEM DONT LIKE GOING OUT OF THE COUNTRY BUT IF YOU HAPPEN TO SEE ONE THEN YOU CAN NEVER KNOW , THEY ALSO DEAL IN FRAUD(INTERNATIONAL FRAUD LIKE BANK WIRE AND STUFFS LIKE THAT, GO TO SOME ASIA COUNTRIES YOU FIND THEM THERE BUT 90% OF NIJA IN SOUTHY ARE IGBOS,

THE IGBO'S ENGAGE IN DIRTY BUSINESS AND THIS IS IN THERE BLOOD, THEY HAVE REALLY MADE SOUTHY A PLACE LIKE AJEGUNLE WHERE MOST OF THEM LIVE, SELLING DRUGS(AMALA) AS THEY CALL IT, ON THE STREET AND YOU CAN NEVER FIND A YORUBA AMONG THEM, THEY SPEAK THERE LANGUAGE WHILE ON DUTY, GO TO POINT ROAD IN DURBAN AND YOU SEE FOR YOURSELF, THIS IS REALLY BAD BUT WE ALL KNOW THEY CANT STOP IT COS THEY GOT TO EAT AND SEND MONEY HOME AND WHEN THEY GO HOME, THEY CALL THEM IGWE, WE WONT BLAME THEM ANYWAY, SOME OF US TOO HAVE ONE WAY OR THE OTHER WE USE TO MAKE MONEY, EVERYONE OF US IS NOT 100% CLEAN EVEN 805 CLEAN,
SO MY DEAR BRODAS, LETS ROB MINDS TOGETHER AND MAKE SENCE NOT FIGHT WITH EACHOTHERS,

PROUND TO BE NIJA
JUST KEEP IT NIJA

U shall never see good,for your dirty arrogant thoughts,fools
Posted: at 16-07-2012 02:57 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- kevdevirux at 16-07-2012 03:18 PM (11 years ago)
This guys are just doing great...
Representing Indigbo everywhere.
Posted: at 16-07-2012 03:18 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- aishatua1 at 16-07-2012 03:21 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: jeromchis on 16-07-2012 02:57 PM

Jerochris shall never see good,for my dirty arrogant thoughts,fools

Cool
Posted: at 16-07-2012 03:21 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- Ominiscience at 16-07-2012 03:32 PM (11 years ago)
Uneasy lies the head that wears a crown, haters cry me a river Grin  Grin  Grin  Grin  Grin  Grin
We will be coming Cheesy  Cheesy Cheesy  Cheesy  Cheesy  Cheesy
Posted: at 16-07-2012 03:32 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- aishatua1 at 16-07-2012 03:59 PM (11 years ago)
Records show that about six centuries ago, there was increase in the growth of powerful deities that led to the need for more hands in working at the shrines. The “indigenous monks” upon learning the act to worship the gods were just and erroneously labeled Osu, Ume, or Ohu arusi (slave of the deities/gods or shrines). The relic of the indigenous religions of the Igbo people called Osu caste system varied in names. It is referred to as Achi-Ebo in Nzam in Onitsha while in Nsukka area, it is known as Oruma. It is also called Nwani or Ohualusi at Agwu area. These names – Osu, Ume, Ohu, Oru, Ohu Ume, Omoni(Okpu Aja)–have the same connotation in Igboland.

Saturday Tribune investigations revealed that those referred to by the names mentioned are regarded as sub-human beings, the unclean class, or slaves by the people who called themselves Diala (free born). In a paper presented to the Committee on the Elimination of Racial Discrimination (CERD) in August 2002 by one Victor ****, titled: “Working globally against discrimination by work and descent”, he described the Osu caste system as a societal institution borne out of a primitive traditional belief system coloured by superstition and propagated by ignorance. The Osu, the author argued, is a people sacrificed to the gods in Igboland and they assist the high priest of the traditional religion to serve the deities or gods in their shrines.

There is another oral tale coloured by misconception, saying how a man who was chosen by a community was eventually picked to perform the task of serving the gods. The descendants of the man from that day inherited the status of Osu. Further checks show that many Igbo people, nowadays, shy away from discussing the obnoxious traditional belief largely due to the fact that the system has not only outlived its usefulness but is also uncivil. Indeed, the Osu caste system, which is a form of discrimination, has caused inter-communal clashes and wars between the Osu and the Diala in Igboland. For instance, the people of Umuode in Nkanu-East Local Government Area of Enugu State, who were said to be descendants of the Osu, are being treated as second class citizens.

Sadly enough, victims of the Osu caste system, even those at high places, appear to be helpless, as they have no legal recourse in Igboland. It was gathered that in Oruku community made up of three clans, namely, Umuode, Umuchiani and Onuogowu, the people of Umuode have limited social interaction with the rest of the community because of their ascribed Osu status. In fact, the system involves inequality of movement and choice of residence, inequality in the right of peaceful association, marriage and establishing a family. An incident that occurred at Oruku community in 1995 was barbaric enough to attract attention to the area as youths from two clans in the area that claimed to be freeborn disrupted the reception organized in honour of a world acclaimed professor of robotic engineering, Bath Nnaji, who flew into the country from United States to take up an exalted ministerial position as the Secretary of Science and Technology under the Chief Ernest Shonekon interim government.

Investigations revealed that the two villages at Oruku community do not inter-marry with people of Umuode. It was learnt that irrespective of Osu’s social status in the community, the local churches hardly appoint them to the positions of responsibility. A staff of the Federal Ministry of Information, Enugu who preferred anonymity told ST that the degree of ostracism is so high in Oruku that the state government had to build a separate area for the victims, adding that any person from freeborn villages that talks or greets a person from Umuode clan stands to pay a fine as much as N1,000.

To further highlight the savage practice of Osu caste system, the people of Umuode create their own market quite different from the Eke Oruku market, owned exclusively by Umuchiani and Onuogowo clans. Comrade Njoku Emeka, a law student at the University of Nigeria, Enugu Campus (UNEC) and founder of Change Initiative Agent, a non-governmental organization in Enugu, said “if we try to relate the issue pertaining to caste system to contemporary Nigeria, it seems as if it is drift or disparity between what the constitution says and peoples custom. “In Igboland, the Osu caste system has come to stay in the sense that it is silent. It operates within the sub-conscious of the people. It operates within the people willingly and it is not pronounced. You do not see it or touch it”

Citing an instance in Imo State , specifically in Isi Ala Mbano of the state, Emeka said “It is evident that they do not inter-marry even as they live together as neighbours. So, the worrisome aspect of it all is their conjugal rejection. Some go as far as claiming ownership over the Osus. It is common to hear of “Ndia bu ndi Osu anyi” meaning these are our own slaves. He disclosed that the freeborn see the Osus as property that should be owned, adding that the implication is that the people referred to as Osu in Igboland do not attain “Ezeship”, that is kingship, in some parts of Igboland.

Findings revealed that in Amufie village in Enugu Ezike, Enugu State, an Osu is not allowed to ascend the throne of an “Onyishi” a position kept sacred for the eldest man in the community. In Alor Agu community near Nsukka, also in Enugu State, a deity called “Adere’ is feared by the people as the god is said to be powerful. To appease the deity, “offending person or family offers animals including human beings to the gods” willingly. Three years ago, a woman evangelist (now deceased) took it as a task to destroy some shrines in Nsukka area with a view to putting to an end the worship of idols in the land. The lady, whose name was simply given as Ngozi Aro, reportedly died in the struggle.

Historical records also have it that late Nnamdi Azikiwe fought vehemently against the Osu caste system as he told members of the defunct Eastern House of Assembly on March 20, 1956 that, “it is devilish and most uncharitable to brand any human being with a label of inferiority, due to the accidents of history”. While seconding the motion for the second reading of the abolition of the Osu caste system, the late Owelle of Onitsha noted, “The objects and reasons for the bill are humanitarian and altruistic.” According to Zik, “The bill seeks to abolish the Osu system and its allied practices including the Oru or Ohu system, to prescribe punishment for their continued practice, and to remove certain social disabilities caused by the enforcement of the Osu and its allied system.

“I will not join in the encouragement of a system of society where one stratum can superciliously claim to be descended from the best brain and would therefore consign the others to a scrap heap of their own invention and ostracize them socially”, he added. But, why has Osu caste system continued to exist in Igboland despite the fact that it was abolished by the Zik government? Are the proponents of the Osu caste ignorant of the Abolition of Slavery Act of 1806 and the Magna Carta of 1215? To non-Igbos, the story that an Igbo stock is treated as a social pariah in Igboland sounds strange, particularly in the 21st century. Even during the late Dr Sam Mbakwe government in Imo State, the civilian regime of Nigeria Peoples Party ( NPP) banned the Osu caste system but the law did not prevent the existence of the savage custom.

Defiant as some could be, a spinster from Enugu State, who simply gave her name as Nkechi, said she would never marry an Osu even at gun point, stressing that she preferred remaining single to living with an Osu as husband and wife. “I do not care if I remain single all my life instead of me marrying an Osu. I cannot stand the humiliation in my village. No matter how wealthy an Osu could be, I will not marry him. It is an abomination in my village to go out with Osu as friends, how much more to talk of going to the altar with him”, she stated. As a matter of fact, eastern government at various times in the past had tried to use legislation and sometimes, coercion, to abolish the Osu caste system. Apart from the Mbakwe regime, late Air Commodore Emeka Omeruah while serving as the military governor of old Anambra State moved against the Efuru deities in Ukehe in Igbo-etiti Local Government Area, destroying the shrines with bulldozer.

But the irony of it all is that the people referred to as Osu flourish in business and politics to the extent that some of them occupy exalted positions in government as governors, commissioners and permanent secretaries, to mention but a few. Interestingly, in Arochukwu, the traditional base of the slave merchants of the old, the issue of Osu caste system is not well pronounced as both the Amadis (freeborn) and the non-Amadis (settlers) inter-marry and live together. Mr. Chris Oji, a journalist, said that Aros, however, only allow Amadis to be in-charge of their ancestral deity at Arochukwu known as “Ibinukpabi” otherwise called “Long juju” by the white man.

According to Oji, the Aros during the slave trade went into the evil forest at Arochukwu to “liberate” the Osus who were thrown away to die for alleged capital offence. They were subsequently sold into slavery. “ The intelligent ones were sent back to their communities and planted as surrogates to serve the interest of the Aros, especially in slave trading. Today, the Aros are scattered all over the eastern states and even beyond the Igbo enclave”, he added. ST learnt that many traditional rulers in Igbo land also shy away from discussing openly the issue of Osu caste system as they regard it as a matter that could create disaffection in their domains.

A paramount ruler in Enugu-Ezike, Igwe Simeon Itodo, who did not talk much on the caste system, told ST that Osu system should be rejected and cast to the dust bin of history as all men are equal before God. Barrister Celestine Abugu, a law teacher at the University of Abuja, wondered why wherever issues of segregation around the world are discussed at international level, the Osu caste system in Igboland is never mentioned. Abugu who hails from Amachalla, Enugu-Ezike in Igbo-eze Local Government Area of Enugu State, described the Osu caste system as not only dehumanizing but outdated and should be discarded by every right thinking member of the society.

Will the indigenous traditionalists allow the Osu caste system give room to a civilized way of life? The Igbo traditional beliefs, no doubt, have some positive influence on the culture and social lives of the people, but, the truth is that Ndigbo needs a rebirth in this millennium.
Posted: at 16-07-2012 03:59 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- stanleyallstar at 16-07-2012 04:02 PM (11 years ago)
when talking abt bad ppl , igbo are nice ppl  . talk abt nigerian ruling  hausa and Yoruba  having being  ruling nigerian long time ago . tell me wht development did dey bring to naija ppl nothing  . and u open u big mouth to talk fools
Posted: at 16-07-2012 04:02 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- Solidstonez at 16-07-2012 04:07 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: HOPEA23 on 16-07-2012 12:30 PM
Oh shut up
Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy

Posted: at 16-07-2012 04:07 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- prince775 at 16-07-2012 04:08 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: stanleyallstar on 16-07-2012 04:02 PM
when talking abt bad ppl , igbo are nice ppl  . talk abt nigerian ruling  hausa and Yoruba  having being  ruling nigerian long time ago . tell me wht development did dey bring to naija ppl nothing  . and u open u big mouth to talk fools

My brother ur very correct, upon them ruling for decades yet My security Guard is still an Hausa man and he usually eats my left over foods. hahahahahahahaahhahahaah
Posted: at 16-07-2012 04:08 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- aishatua1 at 16-07-2012 04:09 PM (11 years ago)

Osu caste system: The story of Nigeria's 'untouchables'
Andrew Walker
BBC News
Tue, 07 Apr 2009 09:30 UTC

Enugu, Nigeria -- Pastor Cosmos Aneke Chiedozie is about to make an admission that virtually no Nigerian like him would be prepared to make.

"My grandfather was an Osu," he says.

He is standing outside his church in Enugu, south-eastern Nigeria, clutching his Bible which he believes has saved him from being a marked man.

Among the Igbo people of eastern Nigeria the Osu are outcasts, the equivalent of being an "untouchable".

Years ago he and his family would be shunned by society, banished from communal land, banned from village life and refused the right to marry anyone not from an Osu family.

© BBC News
Cosmos Aneke Chiedozie wants to break the stigma of being 'Osu'Marriage

The vehemence of the tradition has weakened over the last 50 years.

Nowadays the only trouble the Osu encounter is when they try to get married.

But the fear of social stigma is still strong - to the point that most would never admit to being an Osu.

They fear the consequences for their families in generations to come or at the hands of people who still believe in the old ways.

It took the BBC a long time track down an Osu willing to talk, Igbo journalists, human rights advocates, academics and politicians could suggest no-one.

It was only by chance that Cosmos admitted his family were Osu after an interview with the Pentecostal church - known to oppose the tradition.

Now a born-again Christian, he has had a hard fight to escape the stigma of the Osu.

Sacrifice

People say the Osu are the descendants of people sacrificed to the gods, hundreds of years ago.

But an academic who has researched Igbo traditions says he believes the Osu were actually a kind of "living sacrifice" to the gods from the community.

"I remember when I was a child, seeing the Osu and running away," says Professor Ben Obumselu, former vice-president of the influential Igbo organisation Ohaneze Ndi Igbo.

"They were banned from all forms of civil society; they had no land, lived in the shrine of the gods, and if they could, would farm the land next to the road."

"It was believed that they had been dedicated to the gods, that they belonged to them, rather then the world of the human," he said.

Nigeria's growing cities began to break down such traditions of village life, he says.

"If someone lives in Lagos these days, the only time a person may come into contact with it is when they are planning to get married. They go home to tell their families, their parents turn around and say, 'No you can't marry because they're Osu.'"

© BBC News
The Osu are considered to be 'living sacrifices" to spiritsInitiated

Cosmos' father had denounced the traditional beliefs that made him an outcast from society.

He raised Cosmos to be a Christian too, hoping the bloodline of the Osu would be broken.

But when Cosmos was a child his grandfather died and at around the same time Cosmos fell sick.

"The village said the reason I was ill was I was being possessed by the spirit of my grandfather, and he was angry that we had rejected the old ways," he said.

The village elders put pressure on his father to initiate Cosmos into the old traditions and culture.

It was either that, or he would die, they said.

So he left church, learnt about the spirits and his status in the village.

Outlaw

But this ostracism, he now believes, left him without "moral direction".

He became an itinerant smuggler and outlaw, bringing in goods illegally over Nigeria's northern border from Niger.

Eventually he was arrested and thrown in jail.

"It was in the prison yard that I was born again," he said.

"When I believed in the old ways, I could not marry or be part of my community," he said.

"Now I've been born again, I have rejected all that, and my wife, she is born again too, and doesn't care about it either."

His wife's family had also rejected the traditions of the Osu and did not object to their daughter's choice of husband.

Education advantage

Other Osu have been able to use the ostracism to their advantage, says Mr Obumselu.

Unable to make a way in village life, some Osu embraced "Western" education and became Nigeria's first doctors and lawyers, he says.

Consequently many of modern Igboland's prominent families are Osu.

So why does the stigma remain?

Mr Obumselu says the traditions have a lingering hold on people because they are not sure how much power the "old ways" still have.

Traditionally the Osu are treated as a people apart, but were never the victims of violence.

But today some community conflicts have erupted between people each accusing the other of being Osu, Mr Obumselu says.

"The continued belief in ritual avoidance has caused great harm to society, especially in Enugu."

Pentecostal churches, like Mr Chiedozie's, are having an effect and a growing population may also drown out the stigma of being Osu, says Mr Obumselu.

"After all, if in 1800 there might only be a handful of Osu in any place, in 2000 it may be a third of the village!"

Posted: at 16-07-2012 04:09 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- cyntysweety at 16-07-2012 04:10 PM (11 years ago)
Ignorance is killing some pple in this forum.
Some pple will go to website to upload nonsense all becos they want to dent the image of a tribe
If we start like dat that means no body will leave this forum today because i believe is joblessness that is causing all this.
Well, i weep for them thats all
Posted: at 16-07-2012 04:10 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- aishatua1 at 16-07-2012 04:12 PM (11 years ago)
//www.gistmania.com/talk/topic,119466.0.html
Posted: at 16-07-2012 04:12 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- aishatua1 at 16-07-2012 04:20 PM (11 years ago)
The word Osu literally means slave. To be an Osu is to be a slave,igbos are slaves to theseselves.. Lips Sealed
Posted: at 16-07-2012 04:20 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- stanleyallstar at 16-07-2012 04:23 PM (11 years ago)
guys we need to fight to rebuild nigerian nt abt igbo man hausa man yoruba man
Posted: at 16-07-2012 04:23 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- jeromchis at 16-07-2012 04:27 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: Solidstonez on 16-07-2012 04:07 PM
Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy

What so funny honeypot
Bore whole pusy
Ashawo fork anything
Posted: at 16-07-2012 04:27 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- jeromchis at 16-07-2012 04:32 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: aishatua1 on 16-07-2012 04:20 PM
The word Osu literally means slave. To be an Osu is to be a slave,igbos are slaves to theseselves.. Lips Sealed
Na Igbo people matter go kill u
any day u fork Igbo man u go die
Naijapals will only say R I P
Ashawo motor park
Posted: at 16-07-2012 04:32 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- stanleyallstar at 16-07-2012 04:45 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: AllahIsGr8Alays on 16-07-2012 03:56 PM
They are never united in anyway and yet they want to be independent. Its about time we let them go and suffer and kill themselves over land dispute

They are the least organized group in the country. Unlike the Yoruba and Hausa,they don't have responsible leaders.I am happy to be Yoruba and i know if Nigeria decides to go apart,my people are fine,we know our leaders unlike the so called "igboS"

A land that is cursed yields nothing that is why you will never find anything good in that land.

Rather than come together and find a solution to their predicaments,they rather dream of USA to come and create Biafra for them.

The British knew they wouldn't in a million year be able to rule anyway,that is why we have to condole their unnecessary baby cries all the time.

Empty drums makes the loudest noise.
   jc look at u , fellow fellow cow . u talks abt united tell me . hw will u rebuild Nigerian are u united to ur self
Posted: at 16-07-2012 04:45 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
1 ... 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11

1. Disturbing Video Shows Handcuffed Black Man's Last Words As Police Knelt On Him Before He Died

2. BREAKING: President Tinubu Appoints Jim Ovia Chairman Of Nigerian Education Loan Fund

3. GWR Holder, Tunde Onakoya's Parents Gifted A House

4. ‘My Values, Not Dad’s Money’ – Davido Opens Up On Secret Of His Success

5. P-Square Ordered To Pay N25m Over Breach Of Contract After Being Defeated By Music Promoter

6. Two Siblings, Motorcyclist Allegedly Crushes To Death By Speeding Student Driver In Ondo

7. PICS; Police Arrest 8 Suspected Kidnappers, Rescue Four Kidnapped Victims In Delta

8. How DSS Rescues Seven Kidnapped Victims In Sokoto

9. Benue Gov. Alia Set To Demolish Property Housing Kidnappers, Yahoo Boys

1. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

2. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So

3. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office

4. VID: Peter Obi Replies Critics Asking Him Why He Didn't Build a School in Anambra as a Governor

5. "Emefiele, Kanu Arrested Arbitrarily As Pre-Trial Detention Persists In Nigeria" – US Govt Says

6. Watch Touching Video Of Lady Surprising Boyfriend Who’s An Okada Rider

7. Rapper Megan Thee Stallion Sued By Cameraman Claiming He Was Forced To Watch Her Have S3x

8. Yoruba Nation: Akintoye, Sunday Igboho Write Open Letter To Tinubu, Seek Exit From Nigeria

9. Popular Ghanaian Media Personality, Serwaa Amihere Finally Reacts To Her Leaked S3x Tape

10. Divide Nigeria Before June 15 - Yoruba Nation Agitators, Sunday Igboho, Akintoye Tells Tinubu