Man kills barber during argument over generator

Date: 16-01-2014 7:24 pm (10 years ago) | Author: Direct
- at 16-01-2014 07:24 PM (10 years ago)
The Lagos State Police Command has commenced investigation into the murder of a 39-year-old barber, Azeez Solanke, who was allegedly stabbed to death by one Segun Daniel in the Ojo area of Lagos State, on Thursday last week.

PUNCH Metro learnt that the deceased was stabbed to death following an argument over his generator.

Our correspondent, who visited the area, learnt that the incident occurred around 10pm beside a jetty at the Ebute area of Ojo.

The elder brother of the deceased, Razaq Solanke, told PUNCH Metro that Daniel stabbed his brother to death for no just cause.

He said, “On January 9, 2014, I had just come out of the hotel, where I went to watch the GLO/CAF Awards, when I saw a huge crowd. I was told someone was stabbed to death, but I did not go close to the scene. I just walked away.

“A few minutes later, someone informed me that it was my younger brother that had been involved in a fight with Segun (Daniel) and he had been stabbed. I raced down to the scene and was told that my brother’s killer had fled. I put my brother into my car and drove to a hospital where he was confirmed dead.”

PUNCH Metro learnt that irate youths marched down to the family home of the suspect and laid the corpse of the deceased at the entrance.

Our correspondent learnt that Daniel’s mother, who is said to be the Iyaloja of the area, begged the youths to let the law take its course.

It was learnt that the corpse was later deposited at the Badagry General Hospital mortuary ,while the matter was reported at the Ojo Police Division which is located a street away from the scene of the crime.

Narrating what transpired on the fateful day, Razaq said, “My brother owns a barber’s shop in the area. I was told that he had turned on his generator for his customers and when it was late, he decided to turn it off as he wanted to leave.

“However, Segun (Daniel) challenged him and told him not to turn off the generator as he wanted to still enjoy the electricity. This led to an argument and subsequently, he stabbed my brother to death.”

Residents told our correspondent that the suspect, who is still at large, was known for harassing residents as he was the leader of a faction of touts at the Ojo Motor Park.

It was learnt that the suspect’s mother had been arrested by the police with a view to making the suspect come out of hiding.

A relative of the deceased, who did not identify himself, described the incident as a great loss to the family.

“Razaq was very talented. He was a footballer, a professional boxer, an artist and also a barber. He was due to travel to Europe this month where he would start work. He was not married and we have lost an illustrious son.

“Razaq did not fight with his killer because if he did, he would have won. He was stabbed in the neck from behind which means he was caught unawares. We want the police to fish out his killer,” he said.

When contacted on the telephone, Police Public Relations Officer, Ngozi Braide, said she  could not get the DPO for details of the matter.

Posted: at 16-01-2014 07:24 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- polyester at 16-01-2014 07:42 PM (10 years ago)
God have mercy
Posted: at 16-01-2014 07:42 PM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- chicco77 at 16-01-2014 07:45 PM (10 years ago)
 Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked naija
Posted: at 16-01-2014 07:45 PM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- ThoRam at 16-01-2014 07:57 PM (10 years ago)
 Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked  
Posted: at 16-01-2014 07:57 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Wadasco at 16-01-2014 08:17 PM (10 years ago)
Thank god im not using in generator in my shop....... God have marcy.
Posted: at 16-01-2014 08:17 PM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- ajanni at 16-01-2014 08:20 PM (10 years ago)
may his soul rest in peace
Posted: at 16-01-2014 08:20 PM (10 years ago) | Grande Master
- mary11 at 16-01-2014 08:21 PM (10 years ago)
2 bad
The killer shud face the red eyes of the law

Posted: at 16-01-2014 08:21 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- rosco4luv at 16-01-2014 08:34 PM (10 years ago)
Sad news.......
Posted: at 16-01-2014 08:34 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- tboyya at 16-01-2014 08:47 PM (10 years ago)
so sad.Wen lyt isnt constant.D killer must face d conseqences of his actions
Posted: at 16-01-2014 08:47 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- Aniagain at 16-01-2014 08:47 PM (10 years ago)
 fm NEPA to POWER HOLDING, bad 2 worse, if only the RELEASED d power, all these wudnt av happened, for how long wil they continue to HOLD d power?

Posted: at 16-01-2014 08:47 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- beneno at 16-01-2014 09:09 PM (10 years ago)
Eyaaaaaaaaaa R.I.P  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes
Posted: at 16-01-2014 09:09 PM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Orojoe at 16-01-2014 09:13 PM (10 years ago)
Too bad ooo. I pity d family of d deceased.
Posted: at 16-01-2014 09:13 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- proly at 16-01-2014 09:23 PM (10 years ago)
Rip
Posted: at 16-01-2014 09:23 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- lanudja at 16-01-2014 09:25 PM (10 years ago)
What a sad news
Posted: at 16-01-2014 09:25 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- emekaeneh at 16-01-2014 09:28 PM (10 years ago)
Just like? Some people can't control their anger
Eneh say so via nokia 3310
Posted: at 16-01-2014 09:28 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- engrtope at 16-01-2014 09:32 PM (10 years ago)
RIP
No wahala
Posted: at 16-01-2014 09:32 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gmarley at 16-01-2014 09:58 PM (10 years ago)
9ja again
Posted: at 16-01-2014 09:58 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Wysetots at 16-01-2014 10:04 PM (10 years ago)
R.I.P

Weed effect.
Posted: at 16-01-2014 10:04 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- DRraze at 16-01-2014 11:26 PM (10 years ago)
 Cry
Posted: at 16-01-2014 11:26 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Larry28 at 16-01-2014 11:39 PM (10 years ago)
R.I.P
Posted: at 16-01-2014 11:39 PM (10 years ago) | Hero