I Pray For My Colleagues To Be More Successful Than Me – Richard Mofe Damijo

Date: 25-11-2014 8:15 am (9 years ago) | Author: Victor A. Ofoma
- at 25-11-2014 08:15 AM (9 years ago)
Leading veteran Nollywood actors have ventured into politics.

But prior to the current trend sweeping across the movie industry, Richard Mofe Damijo was the first actor to go into politics after being appointed the Commissioner of Culture in Delta State, Nigeria, and seems very happy that some of his younger colleagues are following suit:

“It’s humbling. I mean, I couldn’t have asked for a better thing. It’s just humbling and I am glad that I went into politics because today, I have started a trend. Every other actor or entertainment person is going into politics.

Somebody saw me at the airport the other day and sad na you cause all dis wahala o, all your colleagues want to be like you. But my prayer is that all of them will be bigger than what I have done.”   

Well, Richard Mofe Damijo has a good point about starting a trend. Public service is distinguished service if ONLY done for the right reasons. RMD is from Delta and wanted to help the people of his community sincerely. Whether or not his younger colleagues who are all racing for political office are doing so for the right reason remains to be seen.

Posted: at 25-11-2014 08:15 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac