Constitutional review: What does it portent for our collective future?

Date: 09-08-2008 6:43 pm (15 years ago) | Author: FORTUNE A
- at 9-08-2008 06:43 PM (15 years ago)
The brinkmanship of the Nigeria political class that culminated in the failed attempt of the Obasanjo junta to amend the  Nigerian 1999 constitution is still fresh in our collective consciousness.Given this existential realities,I'd love to ask:is the new attempt by the Yar'Adua administration to amend the constitution propelled by a genuine political will to give us a better constitution,or another elite idiosyncratic project?Put differently,is this new attempt people oriented or elite oriented?Is it to serve the Common Good or parochial interest?I'll like to to get Your opinions.Thanks. 

Posted: at 9-08-2008 06:43 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- zie85er at 16-08-2008 10:20 PM (15 years ago)
sincerely  speaking, :'( i do not c any difference b/w obasanjo's administration and dat of yar adua. they r basically the same pple runnung the show. my opinion is dat there wont be any constitutional review in this regime :(we all know the motive behind it if any .we r moving towards a 1 party state...its obvious

Posted: at 16-08-2008 10:20 PM (15 years ago) | Hero
- Godsson at 17-08-2008 02:29 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: zie85er on 16-08-2008 10:20 PM
sincerely  speaking, :'( i do not c any difference b/w obasanjo's administration and dat of yar adua. they r basically the same pple runnung the show. my opinion is dat there wont be any constitutional review in this regime :(we all know the motive behind it if any .we r moving towards a 1 party state...its obvious

I kinda agree with U.this is another class project.
Posted: at 17-08-2008 02:29 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- zie85er at 18-08-2008 02:17 AM (15 years ago)
its lyk asking a new lecturer to teach from d same old syllables.
wat new do u expect.?

Posted: at 18-08-2008 02:17 AM (15 years ago) | Hero
- Godsson at 31-08-2008 05:56 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: zie85er on 18-08-2008 02:17 AM
its lyk asking a new lecturer to teach from d same old syllables.
wat new do u expect.?

U are not far from the truth.Be that as it may,we still need a new anthropocentric constitution for this country.We need a true Federal constitution.A constitution that will cater for the yearnings & aspirations of the Nation,& not just a parasitic section.
Posted: at 31-08-2008 05:56 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- princeishere at 31-08-2008 06:02 PM (15 years ago)
And what parasitic section could that be?
Posted: at 31-08-2008 06:02 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- Godsson at 31-08-2008 11:24 PM (15 years ago)
I guess,in our heart of hearts,we know the parasites in the Nigerian body polity.Thus reactionary elements that ve continually opposed change in this country.Those who dont want to contribute anything but want to hind under a bastardized & stifled federal structure to arrogate far more than their fair share of the 'common wealth'.The denial of truth does not take its true essence from it.However,they should remember what Karl Marx(1818-1883)says"those that make peaceful change impossible,make violent change inevitable.
Posted: at 31-08-2008 11:24 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- TheTruth at 3-09-2008 12:30 AM (15 years ago)
Quote from: Godsson on 31-08-2008 11:24 PM
I guess,in our heart of hearts,we know the parasites in the Nigerian body polity.Thus reactionary elements that ve continually opposed change in this country.Those who dont want to contribute anything but want to hind under a bastardized & stifled federal structure to arrogate far more than their fair share of the 'common wealth'.The denial of truth does not take its true essence from it.However,they should remember what Karl Marx(1818-1883)says"those that make peaceful change impossible,make violent change inevitable.
Posted: at 3-09-2008 12:30 AM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- zie85er at 4-09-2008 04:02 AM (15 years ago)
me i no understand o!

Posted: at 4-09-2008 04:02 AM (15 years ago) | Hero
- Godsson at 6-09-2008 12:47 AM (15 years ago)
ZIE85ER!

What do you not understand?Feel free to ask.I'll be glad to be of service.
Posted: at 6-09-2008 12:47 AM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- zie85er at 8-09-2008 07:22 PM (15 years ago)
'The denial of truth does not take its true essence from it.'
i dont understand it in dat context.

Posted: at 8-09-2008 07:22 PM (15 years ago) | Hero
- Godsson at 8-09-2008 09:32 PM (15 years ago)
Ok! All am saying is that,no matter how we deny the truth,it will remain what it is-the truth.The truth does not change.Facts may change.However,their change is only a quest to catch up with the truth.For instance,if I deny that U're not ZIE85ER,it will not change the truth that U are.That's the ESSENCE I was talking about.Thanks.
Posted: at 8-09-2008 09:32 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- TheTruth at 30-09-2008 12:49 AM (15 years ago)
I dont see anything positive coming out of this process.the centrifugal & centripetal forces in the power calculus in the body polity will not allow a truly peoples' constitution.And that's what we need.not another exercise of futility.
Posted: at 30-09-2008 12:49 AM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- Godsson at 30-09-2008 03:28 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: TheTruth on 30-09-2008 12:49 AM
I dont see anything positive coming out of this process.the centrifugal & centripetal forces in the power calculus in the body polity will not allow a truly peoples' constitution.And that's what we need.not another exercise of futility.

I concur.
Posted: at 30-09-2008 03:28 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- swagga at 30-09-2008 04:21 PM (15 years ago)

all i can say is that these are the every day dreams of most nigerians but will it ever happen??
Posted: at 30-09-2008 04:21 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- Godsson at 2-10-2008 08:17 PM (15 years ago)
Swagga

My sister,that's the question we've being trying to tackle.Some of us fear that it wont.Maybe the rulers will prove us wrong in the long run.It's better for me to be wrong on this one.
Posted: at 2-10-2008 08:17 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- prince1973 at 6-10-2008 10:04 AM (15 years ago)
ANOTHER WAY OF FORMING GHOST OFFICES IN OTHER TO GET PUBLIC MONEY TO CONTEXT FOR ELECTION.
Posted: at 6-10-2008 10:04 AM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- Godsson at 11-10-2008 01:49 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: prince1973 on  6-10-2008 10:04 AM
ANOTHER WAY OF FORMING GHOST OFFICES IN OTHER TO GET PUBLIC MONEY TO CONTEXT FOR ELECTION.

You ve a point Sir.I ain't seen it from this perspective before now.
Posted: at 11-10-2008 01:49 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- blackberryPearl at 11-10-2008 06:08 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: Godsson on  9-08-2008 06:43 PM
The brinkmanship of the Nigeria political class that culminated in the failed attempt of the Obasanjo junta to amend the  Nigerian 1999 constitution is still fresh in our collective consciousness.Given this existential realities,I'd love to ask:is the new attempt by the Yar'Adua administration to amend the constitution propelled by a genuine political will to give us a better constitution,or another elite idiosyncratic project?Put differently,is this new attempt people oriented or elite oriented?Is it to serve the Common Good or parochial interest?I'll like to to get Your opinions.Thanks. 
first, adk urself this is he a good president and is he doing what u want. then if yes, he will ammend the constitution to the interest of his people. but it has to be ratifies by the whole government
Posted: at 11-10-2008 06:08 PM (15 years ago) | Hero
- Godsson at 12-10-2008 01:26 AM (15 years ago)
PEARL
The constitutional amendment is beyond the President or any single individual.So ur questions wont come to play.It's the duty of the Legislature & not the Executive(Presidency)to amend the constitution.Even at that,I am still very much skeptical about the whole process.
Posted: at 12-10-2008 01:26 AM (15 years ago) | Upcoming

1. VID: “I Know What Is Happening To Him” – Yul Edochie Reveals Why Wizkid Disrespected Davido

2. ‘I Got Fed Up’- 24Yr Old Mother Arrested For Drowning Her 1Yr Old Son Inside Well In Delta

3. Naira Abuse: Stay Out Of EFCC Wahala – Cubana Chief Priest Advises After Resolving Case

4. Tinubu Planning To Arrest Peter Obi – Charly Boy Claims

5. Residents Doctors Protest Poor Working Conditions, Shortage Of Manpower In Kogi

6. NSCDC Nabs Fake Doctor Over Pregnant Woman’s Death In Osun

7. Police Arrest 8 Suspected Motorcycle Snatchers In Ekiti

8. Lagos Gov Sanwo Olu Appoints Wasiu Ayinde's Daughter, Basirat As SSA To Gov On Tourism

9. Tribal Marks Are A Sin, If Tattoos Are Sin - Podcaster Sparks Controversy Through Her Opinion

10. FRSC Officials Took To Their Heels From Mob After Being Accused Of Causing Accident In Ibadan

1. Stop Lagos-Calabar Highway Project - Obi Tells Tinubu As Demolition of Landmark Centre Begins

2. "Stop Inciting Igbos Against Tinubu Govt" – Umahi Slams Peter Obi

3. MAY 1st; Peter Obi Celebrates Nigerian Workers, Sends Message

4. No More Big 3 In Afrobeat, I'm On Same Level With Wizkid, Davido And Burnaboy - Rema Reveals

5. I Will Reconcile Atiku And Wike If I Emerge PDP National Chairman – Suswam

6. Drama As Actress, Toyin Abraham Ajeyemi Clashes With Area Boys On Movie Set (Video)

7. Watch As Lions Have S3x On Top Of Safari Truck Full Of People

8. “Wizkid Undergoing Mental Illness, No Longer Together With Jada – Isaac Fayose Reveals

9. "Polygamy Is Allowed In Celestial Church, Our Prophets Can Marry Many Wives" — Oshoffa's Son

10. Davido Trolled As His Sidechick Calls Him 2 Minutes Man With Tiny Manhood