“Yorubas Are Sophisticated Morons” – Vanguard Editorial Chairman, Ochereome Nnanna

Date: 09-06-2018 1:40 pm (5 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 9-06-2018 01:40 PM (5 years ago)

Mr. Ochereome Nnanna, Chairman Editorial Board of the Vanguard newspapers, has described the Yorubas as “sophisticated morons”. Nnanna made this assertion in his reply to a post on Facebook.

Areh Sunday, a journalist and an aide to Delta State Governor, while reacting to President Muhammadu Buhari’s declaration of June 12 as Democracy day on Thursday had gone to his Facebook page to express his disappointment in Yorubas for falling for the antics of the government of the day.

He posted:

“I use to think the South-West was very sophisticated. I was wrong. They are the most gullible. They fall for every poisoned carrot dangled before them”

Reacting to the post, Nnanna wrote:

“Sophisticated morons, more like”

This comment would not have elicited any reaction from me but for the fact that it was coming from the Chairman of the editorial board of one of the reputable newspaper houses in the country. A man of his status is expected to conduct himself in a respectful and responsible manner consistent with his function as an opinion-molder in the society.

Each and every newspaper is incomplete without the editorial section. They (editorials) are believed to be the heart and soul of newspapers. They display the values and policies of a newspaper and influence policy decisions.

A member of editorial board is expected to be matured, experienced, intelligent and well-informed. He must rise above politics, tribal and religion partisanship. An editorial member should be able to explain all the aspect of any issue in relating with past events, presents scenario and future prospectus. This is not the case with Nnanna as seen in this circumstance.

If this is the opinion of the Chairman of the editorial board of a national newspaper about Yorubas therefore, one should not be surprised about the view and news policies of Vanguard newspapers about the race.

It is my hope that Vanguard newspapers will caution Nnanna and apologise to the Yorubas for the embarrassment he has caused them.

Posted: at 9-06-2018 01:40 PM (5 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Mykie010 at 9-06-2018 03:21 PM (5 years ago)
shots fired
Posted: at 9-06-2018 03:21 PM (5 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Ijaya18 at 9-06-2018 03:36 PM (5 years ago)
 If you are not happy about it, jump inside lagoon. The Yorubas really appreciate the gesture because is long overdue, so keep quiet.
Posted: at 9-06-2018 03:36 PM (5 years ago) | Upcoming
- kaposky at 9-06-2018 03:44 PM (5 years ago)
EXACTLY BRO, YORUBAS ARE  WORST THAN MORONS
Posted: at 9-06-2018 03:44 PM (5 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- crocatum at 9-06-2018 03:48 PM (5 years ago)
I disagree,  they are just themselves, we should appreciate Yoruba, we should also appreciate the Igbo people in the country, and also the Hausa people should be appreciated also, I think we will appreciate everybody one day, because the distinction  we make of ourselves is really unnecessary, rather we have important characteristics in the different ethnic groups that are very valuable.
Posted: at 9-06-2018 03:48 PM (5 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- crocatum at 9-06-2018 03:54 PM (5 years ago)
i did not forget, Edo people should also be appreciated, Edo, people of culture.
Posted: at 9-06-2018 03:54 PM (5 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- crocatum at 9-06-2018 04:11 PM (5 years ago)
Back to the topic, insults overlooked has a carrot being been used to please the Yoruba people, Yes it appears so, and am sure the Yoruba people see through this mirage.
 The carrot looks good, election time is around the corner, and now is the chance to do sweet things, but sweet things which may not really have a positive impact on peoples lives, we need a government that does it work and does not distribute sweet and rice and money when the election is near.
Posted: at 9-06-2018 04:11 PM (5 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- crocatum at 9-06-2018 04:26 PM (5 years ago)
we should also give credit to the Hausa people, they are wise also, we learn from each other, humans always grow, they can even grow rapidly, anything is possible.
Posted: at 9-06-2018 04:26 PM (5 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- crocatum at 9-06-2018 04:31 PM (5 years ago)
I think the  Vanguard Editorial Chairman, has a keen observation, he is good, except for the insult there.
Posted: at 9-06-2018 04:31 PM (5 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- jimmychoo at 9-06-2018 06:09 PM (5 years ago)
see  his tie  like police  barton , he  even look like  moron...oloshi
Posted: at 9-06-2018 06:09 PM (5 years ago) | Newbie
- olowoinlionsden at 9-06-2018 06:27 PM (5 years ago)
What do you expect from a boot licking 'yaminrin'bastard.
Posted: at 9-06-2018 06:27 PM (5 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- zumata at 9-06-2018 06:53 PM (5 years ago)
PLEASE LET US LEARN HOW TO USE OUR TONGUE WISELY DUE YOU MADE A POINT WITHOUT DETAILS BUT THE INSULT IS WHAT I DISLIKE,YOU COULD HAVE USE THE WORD SOME OF YORUBAS ARE SOPHISTICATED MORONS THAN ''YORUBAS ARE SOPHISTICATED MORONS"BECAUSE WE HAVE MANY OF THEM THAT VIEW YOUR POINT.
THANKS,ONE LOVE.
Posted: at 9-06-2018 06:53 PM (5 years ago) | Upcoming
- fineboy77 at 9-06-2018 07:34 PM (5 years ago)
Ah ah,abeg make people wey dey sell rope close their shops o.......,many people here have already taken that deadly decision !!!

Posted: at 9-06-2018 07:34 PM (5 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- osarobo62 at 9-06-2018 09:28 PM (5 years ago)
Ojukwu the traitor was given a national burial.....i didn't hear the Ibos complain
Posted: at 9-06-2018 09:28 PM (5 years ago) | Hero
- Jeonleon at 9-06-2018 09:58 PM (5 years ago)
Quote from: osarobo62 on  9-06-2018 09:28 PM
Ojukwu the traitor was given a national burial.....i didn't hear the Ibos complain

Because nothing was at stake.... The general elections is around the corner, and methinks this is a cheap political play.
Posted: at 9-06-2018 09:58 PM (5 years ago) | Upcoming
- Jeonleon at 9-06-2018 10:01 PM (5 years ago)
If honouring MKO is all it takes to make some people forget what we've all been thru these past three years, then I wonder what kind of country I found myself in....

For the records, I'm not in support of insulting a whole ethnic group, just because you have the platform to...
Posted: at 9-06-2018 10:01 PM (5 years ago) | Upcoming
- dareper at 9-06-2018 10:08 PM (5 years ago)
Truth they said is bitter. Am still expecting to hear from fayose.
Posted: at 9-06-2018 10:08 PM (5 years ago) | Hero
- osarobo62 at 9-06-2018 10:13 PM (5 years ago)
Quote from: Jeonleon on  9-06-2018 09:58 PM

Because nothing was at stake.... The general elections is around the corner, and methinks this is a cheap political play.
a good politician saves the best cards for election year
Posted: at 9-06-2018 10:13 PM (5 years ago) | Hero
- slimber at 9-06-2018 11:41 PM (5 years ago)
Oga dis too much please
Posted: at 9-06-2018 11:41 PM (5 years ago) | Hero
- willyking at 10-06-2018 07:45 AM (5 years ago)
Is not too far from the truth..
Posted: at 10-06-2018 07:45 AM (5 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. Female Student Who Assaulted Namtira Bwala at Lead British School Apologises For Her Action

2. Wives Of Osun State Gov Adeleke Battle For Position Of 1st Lady As Nigeria's 1st Lady Visits

3. I Am Not In EFCC Custody - APC Gov. Aspirant, Akinterinwa Denies Being Detained By EFCC

4. VIDEO: Carter Efe Calls Out Sydney Talker Over Singer, Khaid’s Health Status

5. Davido’s Manager, Asika Speaks On why Davido is Yet to Collaborate With Wizkid, Burna Boy

6. Rita Edochie Throws Shade As She Celebrates May Edochie On Her Double Achievement

7. Reno Omokri Reacts To Abuja Chinese Supermarket 'Racist', Demands Wike's Action

8. NAFDAC Uncover Illegal Activities Of Fake Cosmetics Producer In Lagos

9. Niger: Gov Bago Dragged For Spraying Naira Notes At Citizens

10. BULLYING: Lead British School, Abuja Releases Public Statement

11. Owner Of Abuja Chinese Supermarket Denies Barring Nigerians

12. Singer, Simi Reveals How She Wrote & Sang Her Hit Song, ‘Joromi’ With Irritation

13. Police Deploy Officers to Investigate Bullying at Leads British International School

14. OAP Do2dtun Reacts To Viral Bullying Videos, Calls Out Secondary School Bullies

15. Abuja Court Fails To Hear EFCC Suit Against Order Restraining Yahaya Bello’s Arrest

16. Police Seek Family Of Missing Child Found Wandering In Osogbo

17. Amotekun Arrests Man Who Cons Hospital Patients, Flees With Money Meant For Tests, Treatment

5. Pastor, David Odeniyi Seeks Divorce After Wife Strips Him Nak3d In Front Of His Congregation

7. Abia State Police Arrest Suspects Linked To Mysterious Death of 23-Yr-Old Hope Chinedu Prosper

8. Nollywood Actress Toyin Abraham Extends Olive Branch To Funke Akindele,Calls For Industry Unity

9. Nigerian Man Introduces Innovative Solution For Money Spraying At Parties Amidst EFCC Crackdown

10. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office