BILL GATES - I’VE SPENT $750M ON POLIO ERADICATION IN NIGERIA

Date: 08-06-2010 10:47 am (13 years ago) | Author: Dauda Alabi
[1] 2 3 4 ... 6
- at 8-06-2010 10:47 AM (13 years ago)
By Chiawo Nwankwo, Abuja  
Tuesday, 8 Jun 2010
Co-chair of the Melinda and Bill Gates Foundation, Mr. Bill Gates, declared on Monday that he had spent about $750m on polio eradication in Nigeria. He also explained that the global coverage of the campaign had cost him $8bn, adding that an additional $2.6bn would be spent on completely eradicating the disease.

Gates, who said these in Abuja during a media briefing to mark the end of his second visit to Nigeria, applauded the country’s efforts at eradicating the scourge. This has led to a 99 per cent drop this year, as only three cases have been reported. He, however, enjoined all stakeholders in the campaign to ensure that the gains were not reversed. Consequently, Gates held a meeting with the Nigeria Governors’ Forum and business community leaders.

The co-founder of Microsoft also said that his foundation would commit enormous resources to ongoing research on a malaria vaccine, especially because malaria is a major killer. Gates, who first visited Nigeria in February 2009, said, “In my whole life and beyond, the focus will be global health.”

While in Abuja, Gates also met with President Goodluck Jonathan; governors and the Minister of Health, Prof. Christian Chukwu. Speaking on the meeting between the governors and Gates, Kwara State GOVERNOR BUKOLA SARAKI told newsmen in Abuja on Monday that they were happy at the success recorded in the eradication campaign.

SARAKI, who is also the chairman of the Nigeria Governors’ Forum, told journalists after a meeting of the governors, that, “On the issue of polio eradication, the Forum noted the tremendous achievement recorded by many states in the country. It, however, reiterated the need for the states to empower the grass roots, specifically the local government chairmen.”
He said the governors were particularly happy that the reported cases of polio in the country had dropped from 250 to three in the last one year. This, he said, also gladdened the heart of visiting Co-Chair of the Melinda and Bill Gates Foundation, Mr. Bill Gates, whom he quoted as saying that the achievement was “unprecedented.”

In Kano, on Sunday, Gates had accompanied health officials on a visit to some wards to observe the drive against the virus with the immunisation of children.

Posted: at 8-06-2010 10:47 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- chogzie at 9-06-2010 09:03 AM (13 years ago)
where the money go
Posted: at 9-06-2010 09:03 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- attamem at 11-06-2010 10:39 PM (13 years ago)
Who send him?
Posted: at 11-06-2010 10:39 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- uhuru77 at 13-06-2010 09:40 PM (13 years ago)
Bill Gate i beg dem sit u local...na u know wetin u spend the money for
Posted: at 13-06-2010 09:40 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- ezecyyyy at 13-06-2011 10:38 AM (12 years ago)
Who ask him?
Posted: at 13-06-2011 10:38 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- harold634 at 13-06-2011 11:49 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: chogzie on  9-06-2010 09:03 AM
where the money go

na who u de ask?
Posted: at 13-06-2011 11:49 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- amosngeda at 13-06-2011 04:11 PM (12 years ago)
make ehn go die
Posted: at 13-06-2011 04:11 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- Jeonleon at 13-06-2011 06:52 PM (12 years ago)
The money miss road?
Posted: at 13-06-2011 06:52 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- toibeli at 13-06-2011 07:34 PM (12 years ago)
Very interesting
Posted: at 13-06-2011 07:34 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Youngstoriez at 13-06-2011 08:04 PM (12 years ago)
We no send am at all.........
Posted: at 13-06-2011 08:04 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- maryclaret at 13-06-2011 08:18 PM (12 years ago)
Are they sure the money was used for the right purpose? Hmm.. hope so. Anyhow, that's good of Mr. Gates. I wonder why some are bashing him with this, "Who send him?" thing. We should just pray that the money was used correctly.

Posted: at 13-06-2011 08:18 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- GOLDENMEDAH at 13-06-2011 08:32 PM (12 years ago)
Mehhh our leader dey enjoy oooo, where all dis kind moni dey enter...
Posted: at 13-06-2011 08:32 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- feyee at 13-06-2011 08:48 PM (12 years ago)
i c  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 13-06-2011 08:48 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- odiono at 13-06-2011 08:52 PM (12 years ago)
i wonder the manner of human beings that are in this site! someone said he made a donation towards preventing and curing a social problem in your country, rather than showing a little appreciation most of you here are busy insulting him! if you were not directly involved of infested by the ailment , at least they are talking about your NATION! if you do not have anything to write why not skip the topic or is it a must you comment on all topics you see here? if he lied why didn't the relevant government or non governmental agencies deny the claim openly? after all some of them where there when he said it!!!!!!
Posted: at 13-06-2011 08:52 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- popo2009 at 13-06-2011 09:02 PM (12 years ago)
honestly guys, if someone doesnt know what to say..why not shut the fcuk up!
Most of us here even if we get richer than Bill gates, we might not even do half of what
he's done for Naija....our problem is our corrupt system(Govt)
stop insulting him pls
Posted: at 13-06-2011 09:02 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- odiono at 13-06-2011 09:09 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: popo2009 on 13-06-2011 09:02 PM
honestly guys, if someone doesnt know what to say..why not shut the fcuk up!
Most of us here even if we get richer than Bill gates, we might not even do half of what
he's done for Naija....our problem is our corrupt system(Govt)
stop insulting him pls

well said, they are so disgusting!
Posted: at 13-06-2011 09:09 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- harold634 at 13-06-2011 09:27 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: Youngstoriez on 13-06-2011 08:04 PM
We no send am at all.........

Talk like a reasonable person
Posted: at 13-06-2011 09:27 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- harold634 at 13-06-2011 09:30 PM (12 years ago)

Quote from: attamem on 11-06-2010 10:39 PM
Who send him?

Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed
Posted: at 13-06-2011 09:30 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- harold634 at 13-06-2011 09:30 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: ezecyyyy on 13-06-2011 10:38 AM
Who ask him?

Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed
Posted: at 13-06-2011 09:30 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- harold634 at 13-06-2011 09:32 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: odiono on 13-06-2011 08:52 PM
i wonder the manner of human beings that are in this site! someone said he made a donation towards preventing and curing a social problem in your country, rather than showing a little appreciation most of you here are busy insulting him! if you were not directly involved of infested by the ailment , at least they are talking about your NATION! if you do not have anything to write why not skip the topic or is it a must you comment on all topics you see here? if he lied why didn't the relevant government or non governmental agencies deny the claim openly? after all some of them where there when he said it!!!!!!

Twisted mind is the problem
Posted: at 13-06-2011 09:32 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
[1] 2 3 4 ... 6