Buhari Finally Reveals Reasons Osinbajo's 35 Aides Were Sacked

Date: 16-11-2019 9:28 pm (4 years ago) | Author: Olusanya Akinrinola
- at 16-11-2019 09:28 PM (4 years ago)

Less than 24 hours after returning from his private visit to London, President Muhammadu Buhari has explained why 35 aides of Vice President Yemi Osinbajo were sacked.

Fielding questions from State House Correspondents at the Presidential Wing of Nnamdi Azikiwe International Airport, Abuja, shortly after his arrival from London on Friday night, President Buhari described insinuations that the aides were sacked due to political and ethnic reasons as unfortunate.
“They said 35 people were sacked in the Vice President’s office. We just created some ministries and we reorganised and people are giving it ethnic and political dimensions. It is unfortunate,” he said.

According to him, the ongoing reorganisation at the Presidency is aimed at enhancing service delivery to Nigerians.
Responding to a question on what to expect from his administration after a well deserved rest in London, Buhari said: “We are going to work harder and be accountable. We have tried to make Nigerians understand why we do certain things. Accountability from bottom to top is absolutely necessary.

“Whoever is responsible for government property, [should know] it is public property, it is not personal and he has to manage it according to the law.

“That’s what I expect and I think that we have been around long enough to impress on people that we mean what we say,” he said.

According to a statement last week by Senior Special Assistant to the President Media and Publicity, Garba Shehu, the exercise was ordered by President Buhari in response to the general perception that the Presidency has an oversised and bloated workforce which acts as a drag on its efficiency.

He had explained that the overriding objective of the exercise was to save taxpayer money and deliver needed service to the public.
The statement confirming the sack of the aides last week read:

“The Presidency wishes to confirm that there is, on-going, an unprecedented overhaul of the nation’s seat of government, arising from which a number of political appointments have either been revoked or not renewed in the Second Term.

“The exercise, which has been ordered by the President, is to streamline decision-making, cut down multiple authorities and reduce the cost of administration.

“It is also an appropriate response to the general perception that the Presidency has an oversized and bloated workforce which acts as a drag on efficiency.

“As may have been noticed by discerning members of the public, a number of political appointees among the few that served in the office of the President were not returned for the Second Term.

“The office of the Vice President, His Excellency Yemi Osinbajo has, in compliance with the directive of the President, equally been shed of a number of such appointees.

“In carrying out these exercises, the overriding objective is to save taxpayer money and deliver needed service to the public. As far as the President is concerned, there is no scope for an excuse for administration after getting a huge mandate to run the country for four more years.”

The Presidency also denied the rumoured rifts between the President and the Vice President, insisting that the relationship between the two remains excellent and trusting.

The statement read further:

“In the light of this, the Presidency wishes to strongly deny rumours of a rift between President Muhammadu Buhari and Vice President Yemi Osinbajo. The relationship between the two leaders remains excellent and trusting. Together, they will script a glorious future for the nation.

“The media reports of a soured relationship are originating from the minds and mouths of mischief makers, who are desperate for entertaining stories from the Aso Rock Villa with which to titillate the public. This ulterior motive is the basis of the wrong interpretation given to the recent exercise in the Presidency.

“There has been a streamlining of staff going on for a while. The President has always had fewer staff than the Vice President, and there were always plans to reduce the number of staff at the Villa.

“The streamlining was not personal or targeted to undermine the Vice President’s office, as the so-called insider sources quoted by the media appear to make it seem.

“The President is in absolute control of his government. The media should stop attributing non-existent powers to some people. There cannot be anyone too powerful for President Buhari to control.”

Posted: at 16-11-2019 09:28 PM (4 years ago) | Hero
- willyking at 17-11-2019 12:16 AM (4 years ago)
Make una dey decieve una self..
Posted: at 17-11-2019 12:16 AM (4 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kennedykk at 17-11-2019 12:38 AM (4 years ago)
nonsense , why you no tell okorohausa when him turn imo state to family business, make una dey deceive una self but remember one day you most stand infront of the almighty to answer for your sins
Posted: at 17-11-2019 12:38 AM (4 years ago) | Newbie
- maxzy277 at 17-11-2019 01:49 AM (4 years ago)
Posted: at 17-11-2019 01:49 AM (4 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. "Daddy Loves You" – Comedian, AY Makun Celebrates His Son, Denzel's 17th Birthday

2. Young Nigerian Man Washes Father’s Hand With Expensive Alcohol As He Gifts Him An SUV

3. Primate Ayodele Releases Prophecies, Warns Presidents of Russia, France, Croatia, Turkey, Other

4. This Video Of Man Who Looks Like Singer, Asake Has Got Nigerians Talking

5. Aliko Dangote Gives Out One Million Bags Of Rice Worth More Than N13b To People In Nigeria

6. 'Odumodublvck Has Been In The Industry Since 2019, He Started As A Manager' – Oxlade Reveals

7. Again, Court Refuses Nnamdi Kanu Bail In Terrorisms Charges

8. Court Remands Man, Tijjani Bal Over Alleged Sodomy

9. "Fuel Price Will Reduce When Port Harcourt Refinery Begins Operations" – IPMAN Confirms

10. VID: “No Matter My Wealth, Once I’m In A Relationship I Become Broke” -Activist, Saida Boj

11. VIDEO: "Dreams Do Come True" – Aunty Ramota Rejoices As She Departs Nigeria

12. Popular Nollywood Producer, Andy Best Is Dead

13. 2027: 'You’ll Struggle to Get 2% Votes In FCT' – APC Tells Tinubu

14. 23Yr Old Secondary School Leaver, Rukevwe George Arrested With Two Guns In Benin

15. Peter Obi Opens Up On Why He Visited Abuja Mosque To Break Fast With Muslims

16. Fans React As Soma Takes To His Instagram To Edit His Birthday Post For Angel

17. I Want To Be One of The Leaders of Afrobeats Says 21Yr Old Singer, Ayra Starr

18. Thank You For Loving Me The Way I Am, Together Forever – Chioma Akpotha Celebrates Chidi Mokeme

19. Ayra Star Commends Chris Brown For Been Supportive Of Afrobeats

1. Nollywood Actor, Amaechi Muonagor Seeks Help From His Sick Bed

2. Royal Joy As Ooni Of Ife Welcomes Twins With His Third Wife, Olori Tobi Philips-Ogunwusi

3. President Tinubu Appoints First Female Director-General Of NEMA, Zubaida Umar

4. Motorist Calls Out Actor Somadina Adinma For Being A Celebrity And Trekking In Public

5. Following Recent Divorce Saga, Nigerians Dig Up Abusive Past Of Modupe Alakija

6. Customs Intercepts Ammunition Worth Over Half A Billion Naira Concealed In Sacks Of Garri

7. See Full Lists Of Venues Of Lagos 25% Discounted Food Markets ‘Ounje Eko’

8. Can of Worms! Obasanjo’s Biological Father An Igbo Man From Onitsha – Rtd Col Majekodunmi

9. How Lack of S3x Contributed to My Failed Marriage Says Shade Ladipo

10. Drink Your Tears, Cry Blood, I’m Married” – Queen Throws Shades As She Flaunts Her Ring (VID)