Teenage Pregnancy

Date: 21-10-2008 8:40 pm (15 years ago) | Author: McAnthony Otobong Augustine
- at 21-10-2008 08:40 PM (15 years ago)
I was in Kano State recently, and I wasn't happy with I saw. 15% of the girls I interviewed were teenagers and were pregnant. 5% are infected with HIV. What do you think?

Posted: at 21-10-2008 08:40 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- loveword at 4-11-2008 09:03 AM (15 years ago)
who is the cuse?
Posted: at 4-11-2008 09:03 AM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- zenith4life at 4-11-2008 09:57 PM (15 years ago)
guy,u sabi wader them dey do assignment Roll Eyes

if be say dey de under spell  Shocked
Posted: at 4-11-2008 09:57 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- mmemshima at 5-11-2008 10:25 AM (15 years ago)
they are simply ignorant and have refused to wake up to the changes in the world...the fault is mostly their parents' though
Posted: at 5-11-2008 10:25 AM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- klep at 11-11-2008 12:23 PM (15 years ago)
SIMPLY IGNORANCE
Posted: at 11-11-2008 12:23 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- Jannee at 19-11-2008 11:43 PM (15 years ago)
Most never had the opportunity to get sex education.................or probably were decieved by Men.Still boils down to ignorance
Posted: at 19-11-2008 11:43 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- chakamaroon at 13-06-2011 06:10 PM (12 years ago)
teenage pregnancy has come to stay because our moral system has totally collapsed...who do u
want to blame for this ?....not just the parents anyway...I pour a greater percentage of the blame on
the society 'n' the lesser % on the parents...what happens to a teenage girl who is so xposed to XXX movies
at the tender age of 10 (ten)just because we feel or think that naija is a free country...we decieve ourselves
by marking most of our movies with ( 18+,PG,VL,N) 'n' so on...all these movies are marked but who ensures
that these movies are viewed by their selected audience ?nobody of'course..our nollywood movies now act
scenes better imagined than seen,all in the name of advancement in the movie industry....recently the movies
making their way from Ghana are not helping matters at all,becos some of these are simply supposed to be X-rated.
But they are not rated as such becos everybody says ..nothing spoil..nothing de happen..whereas things are happening
and things are spoiling..These days when u attend kiddies parties u watch in amazement as parents sit back 'n' enjoy their kids of
4,5,6,7,8,9,10, yrs 'n' so on dance to very dirty 'n' sexy dance steps all in the name of advancement...I could write a novel on
this issue...but the bottomline is that we know the root causes of this teenage pregnancy menace..its just that we don't like amendments
to things we think could limit our fun 'n' so on.
            until we agree to face things the way they should be faced I shall keep keeping my fingers crossed.
  meanwhile I need to go recharge my mtn a/c.....am off on that mission pals.
Posted: at 13-06-2011 06:10 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- LOYOLAR at 22-06-2011 05:44 AM (12 years ago)
The parents have a lot to do more than the society. The society cannot cater for your kids or children more you can. Close monitoring and openness with the chilren will allow you know what habits they have, they watch, the friends they move with and studying these will allow you to sit them down for correction.
Posted: at 22-06-2011 05:44 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- adebamibo at 12-07-2011 04:43 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: chakamaroon on 13-06-2011 06:10 PM
teenage pregnancy has come to stay because our moral system has totally collapsed...who do u
want to blame for this ?....not just the parents anyway...I pour a greater percentage of the blame on
the society 'n' the lesser % on the parents...what happens to a teenage girl who is so xposed to XXX movies
at the tender age of 10 (ten)just because we feel or think that naija is a free country...we decieve ourselves
by marking most of our movies with ( 18+,PG,VL,N) 'n' so on...all these movies are marked but who ensures
that these movies are viewed by their selected audience ?nobody of'course..our nollywood movies now act
scenes better imagined than seen,all in the name of advancement in the movie industry....recently the movies
making their way from Ghana are not helping matters at all,becos some of these are simply supposed to be X-rated.
But they are not rated as such becos everybody says ..nothing spoil..nothing de happen..whereas things are happening
and things are spoiling..These days when u attend kiddies parties u watch in amazement as parents sit back 'n' enjoy their kids of
4,5,6,7,8,9,10, yrs 'n' so on dance to very dirty 'n' sexy dance steps all in the name of advancement...I could write a novel on
this issue...but the bottomline is that we know the root causes of this teenage pregnancy menace..its just that we don't like amendments
to things we think could limit our fun 'n' so on.
            until we agree to face things the way they should be faced I shall keep keeping my fingers crossed.
  meanwhile I need to go recharge my mtn a/c.....am off on that mission pals.

Pals well said infact you are verry correct.
Posted: at 12-07-2011 04:43 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- adebamibo at 12-07-2011 05:04 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: LOYOLAR on 22-06-2011 05:44 AM
The parents have a lot to do more than the society. The society cannot cater for your kids or children more you can. Close monitoring and openness with the chilren will allow you know what habits they have, they watch, the friends they move with and studying these will allow you to sit them down for correction.

Pals, yes dat the parents have the larger role to play but the society also a very big part, in those days if the children misbehave in any form in absence of the parents the society will definately call him or her to order, the child can even be deceplined before the arrival of the parents, but today nobody cares.

moreover who imprenated the teenagers you will find out that men as old as there grandfather.  what are we talking then
if men of 40.50 and above is seducing a girl below 20.
may God help our generation.
Posted: at 12-07-2011 05:04 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- femnutrition at 16-07-2011 11:08 AM (12 years ago)
hey Mackee you are right....I agree with you. It's not fair... I think it can be stopped by teachers and parents. They should try to good guldens to their children.

Posted: at 16-07-2011 11:08 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- PreciousA at 22-07-2011 12:40 PM (12 years ago)
It's a problem everywhere.
And always has been.
I think sex education is the answer and teaching kids critical thinking.
Posted: at 22-07-2011 12:40 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- celwajong at 3-08-2012 12:56 PM (11 years ago)
That rate is very alarming.  Do these girls still live with their parents? They are too young to raise a child on their own.

Embarrass your competition
Buy Facebook Fans & Twitter Followers
www.FanAnimal.com

Posted: at 3-08-2012 12:56 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- renztubz at 5-08-2012 11:23 AM (11 years ago)
Teenagers must be well-educated when it comes to safe sex.

Posted: at 5-08-2012 11:23 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- dktotz at 8-08-2012 04:34 PM (11 years ago)
Awareness is the key to lower the rate of pregnancy.

Posted: at 8-08-2012 04:34 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- Vectorcy at 14-03-2016 09:48 AM (8 years ago)
Hmmmmm,,,dats d north 4uuuuuuuuuu
Posted: at 14-03-2016 09:48 AM (8 years ago) | Hero