"Respect Yourself, Resign Honorably" - Rivers Gov. Nyesom Wike Tells Isa Pantami

Date: 21-04-2021 9:07 pm (2 years ago) | Author: onuigbo felicia
- at 21-04-2021 09:07 PM (2 years ago)

Governor of Rivers State, Nyesom Wike, says the Minister of Communications and Digital Economy, Dr. Isa Pantami should resign from office, irrespective of his recent volte-face on his previous support for extremist groups.

The governor noted that in an ideal society, an allegation that the United States of America has placed a serving minister on its watch list as regards terrorism should jolt any government into action.

He stated this during an interview with the African Independent Television (AIT) in Port Harcourt, the Rivers State capital on Tuesday.

“If it was really where a government is working if an American government says your minister is on a watch list, it calls for concern for you say look there is a problem. The moment a high government official is on a watch list as to regards to terrorism, no government can fold its hands and allow it.”

Governor Wike, said the minister ought to have resigned from the government immediately the information about his extremist views in support of terror groups became a matter of public discourse.

The governor described as worrisome the decision of the federal government to remain mute amidst the raging controversy about the minister’s sympathy for global terrorist groups.

“I don’t understand why a reasonable government will allow such a person to be in the cabinet.

The governor noted the All Progressives Congress-led federal government is known for its proclivity to shield persons of questionable characters, even when the country’s secret service presents overwhelming evidence against such individuals.

“But you were here when DSS wrote a report against (Ibrahim) Magu. What happened? Look, I have never seen a country that your secret service wrote a report about the nominee of Mr President, questioning his character and the rest, and that he is not appointable. What happened? So, what are you talking about? What removed Magu is a power play.”

Governor Wike also took a swipe on the National Working Committee of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) for not taking stern disciplinary action against former Governor of Niger State, Dr Mu’azu Babangida Aliyu, wh

Posted: at 21-04-2021 09:07 PM (2 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- gogoman at 22-04-2021 01:59 AM (2 years ago)
who dey honorable for that Naija self
Posted: at 22-04-2021 01:59 AM (2 years ago) | Grande Master
- Baye77 at 22-04-2021 06:06 AM (2 years ago)
Imagine Wike saying " if it was really where a government is working..." Wike of all people oo...pot calling kettle black... Grin
Posted: at 22-04-2021 06:06 AM (2 years ago) | Hero