South-East Group Blasts JAMB Over Mmesoma, Demands Independent Probe

Date: 04-07-2023 9:18 am (1 year ago) | Author: onuigbo felicia
- at 4-07-2023 09:18 AM (1 year ago)

A group, South East Fact Check has lambasted the Joint Admissions and Matriculation Board, JAMB, for the Board’s recent disclosure that one Miss Mmesoma Ejikeme from Anambra State forged her Unified Tertiary Matriculation Examination, UTME, results.

While the candidate, who is a student of Anglican School, Nnewi, is holding a 362 score, JAMB has declared her result fake and forged, saying that she only scored 249.

The education body in a statement by Fabian Benjamin, the Head of Public Affairs and Protocol, said Mmesoma forged results on the JAMB site to manipulate the results she is currently parading, adding that the teenager used the alleged fake results to secure a scholarship worth 3 million naira from Innoson Motors.

But in a reaction in Umuahia, the Chairman of South East Fact Check, Mr Barry Odinkemmere described the JAMB statement as an ‘ambush’, saying that the young girl was not given a fair hearing before JAMB went to press with its report.

South East Fact Check further expressed concern at the tone applied in the statement, saying that it sounded like a premeditated plan against the candidate.

The group noted that a thorough investigation should have been concluded on the matter to determine who is saying the truth, as according to the group, JAMB by its statement, had already admitted that something is wrong with its result portal.

“How can you arrive at this conclusion without a final, thorough and independent investigation?

“This girl, from our findings, has maintained first position from her primary school days.

“If there is a problem of credibility on the JAMB results portal, who should take the blame- is it not JAMB?

“Why will they crucify a poor brilliant girl on the altar of wickedness”
, Odinkemmere said.

He advised JAMB to allow a forensic investigation to be concluded before jumping to the media.

“If at the end of the day, the result is confirmed to be forged by the girl, then she should be prosecuted.

“But if it is discovered at the end of the day that she is the true owner, JAMB should pay her compensation with apologies and we will go to Court against them to enforce the rights of the poor girl,”
the SEFC leader further said.

The group vowed to mobilize a free legal team for Mmesoma if the need arises.

The group commended Mr Innocent Chukwuma of Innoson Motors for standing with the UTME candidate, until the conclusion of independent investigations.

The South East Fact Check challenged “the Ohaneze Ndigbo led by Chief Emmanuel Iwuanyanwu to wade into this matter immediately, to avoid persecution of our Ada Igbo.”

Posted: at 4-07-2023 09:18 AM (1 year ago) | Addicted Hero
- taypetdun at 4-07-2023 09:39 AM (1 year ago)
Because she's from the south east, the marks become faked, supposedly from the north, there would praises all over. How can 16 year old fake result from  computer based test examination. That means JAMB must know something about and how to manipulate computer to produce fake result, JAMB is liable to this case
Posted: at 4-07-2023 09:39 AM (1 year ago) | Upcoming
- Baye77 at 4-07-2023 09:48 AM (1 year ago)
You know one of the major problems of Nigeria?? Nigerians find a way to make every affair an ethnic/religious affair. Jamb controls their database and servers. If they say this is the score of a student, I believe that's the score. I'm not exactly sure what "thorough investigation" they said jamb should have done before saying a student's score though  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 4-07-2023 09:48 AM (1 year ago) | Hero
- KDoinspire at 4-07-2023 10:11 AM (1 year ago)
Quote from: Baye77 on  4-07-2023 09:48 AM
You know one of the major problems of Nigeria?? Nigerians find a way to make every affair an ethnic/religious affair. Jamb controls their database and servers. If they say this is the score of a student, I believe that's the score. I'm not exactly sure what "thorough investigation" they said jamb should have done before saying a student's score though  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Oga keep quiet. Just because jamb said this is tbe result , it should be taken. The same way INEC said this is the outcome of the election. Where is your objectivity here. ?
Posted: at 4-07-2023 10:11 AM (1 year ago) | Gistmaniac
- Benti247 at 4-07-2023 11:04 AM (1 year ago)
The daughter of Mrs. Ndukwe  Ms. Hilda Baci set a new Guinness World Record in cooking the whole South West ( Yoruba) women  embarked on world record cooking just to rubbish the record set by our beloved daughter. NO BE SAY THEY SABI COOK. The selfish reason being that anything good in Nigeria MUST come from South West or North. If independently investigated and Mmesoma Ejikeme is vindicated Shame on Nigeria.
Posted: at 4-07-2023 11:04 AM (1 year ago) | Gistmaniac
- Baye77 at 4-07-2023 11:34 AM (1 year ago)
Quote from: KDoinspire on  4-07-2023 10:11 AM
Oga keep quiet. Just because jamb said this is tbe result , it should be taken. The same way INEC said this is the outcome of the election. Where is your objectivity here. ?
lol   Grin sorry sir I won't make noise again with the phone you bought for me. You sincerely believe jamb catering for hundreds of thousands of students yearly decided to cheat one girl because they don't like her  Grin Grin
Posted: at 4-07-2023 11:34 AM (1 year ago) | Hero
- fineboy77 at 4-07-2023 12:06 PM (1 year ago)
Quote from: Baye77 on  4-07-2023 09:48 AM
The credibility of JAMB was totally lost when snakes swallowed millions in their office. I have heard of results being bought by rich men. My result was bought back in the days, but not JAMB though, it was another exam in the late 80's/early 90's called exam for school of gifted children, Suleja. The day that we went to take the result from the Ministry of Education in Awka, was the first and only day that I saw my Dad cry. We entered and saw my result in the book manually written(as is normal in those analog years), and was told to wait outside like others so that they can type out my result, like others, put in an envelope and give to us, so we went outside to wait. Many others entered to check their children's results,poor and rich alike. Much later, we were called and given the result, and I did not pass ! Me that saw my result with my eyes as the 2nd best in the Exam in the old Anambra state which is Anambra, Enugu and a part of Ebonyi ! My father noticed the man that bought my result but could not do anything because he wasn't rich as of then, he shouted all he could at the woman at the desk but was rebuffed and security was called on him. When he saw that he could do nothing, he cried. That broke me.

Posted: at 4-07-2023 12:06 PM (1 year ago) | Addicted Hero
- Baye77 at 4-07-2023 01:54 PM (1 year ago)
Quote from: fineboy77 on  4-07-2023 12:06 PM
The credibility of JAMB was totally lost when snakes swallowed millions in their office. I have heard of results being bought by rich men. My result was bought back in the days, but not JAMB though, it was another exam in the late 80's/early 90's called exam for school of gifted children, Suleja. The day that we went to take the result from the Ministry of Education in Awka, was the first and only day that I saw my Dad cry. We entered and saw my result in the book manually written(as is normal in those analog years), and was told to wait outside like others so that they can type out my result, like others, put in an envelope and give to us, so we went outside to wait. Many others entered to check their children's results,poor and rich alike. Much later, we were called and given the result, and I did not pass ! Me that saw my result with my eyes as the 2nd best in the Exam in the old Anambra state which is Anambra, Enugu and a part of Ebonyi ! My father noticed the man that bought my result but could not do anything because he wasn't rich as of then, he shouted all he could at the woman at the dest but was rebuffed and security was called on him. When he saw that he could do nothing, he cried. That broke me.
I understand, and that's very heartbreaking. Nothing breaks a man more than that. Trust me I understand the corruption in Nigeria and no system can actually be trusted. My point is this, jamb seem to have presented their case and they've done it real well, this girl is a young girl, all those organisations and individuals talking on social media should have prepared a legal team since challenging jamb in a law court. In previous years, I've seen kids from the east even score above 370 in jamb and their results are widely celebrated online..so why will jamb this year decide to single out a student that says she scored 362 just to victimize her?? Anybody that's sincere about helping this kid and not just to cause more ethnic unrest should get a legal team together and challenge jamb in court of law.
Posted: at 4-07-2023 01:54 PM (1 year ago) | Hero
- fineboy77 at 4-07-2023 02:12 PM (1 year ago)
Quote from: Baye77 on  4-07-2023 01:54 PM
I understand, and that's very heartbreaking. Nothing breaks a man more than that. Trust me I understand the corruption in Nigeria and no system can actually be trusted. My point is this, jamb seem to have presented their case and they've done it real well, this girl is a young girl, all those organisations and individuals talking on social media should have prepared a legal team since challenging jamb in a law court. In previous years, I've seen kids from the east even score above 370 in jamb and their results are widely celebrated online..so why will jamb this year decide to single out a student that says she scored 362 just to victimize her?? Anybody that's sincere about helping this kid and not just to cause more ethnic unrest should get a legal team together and challenge jamb in court of law.
I agree with you. This should not be about tribe because as I hear, the next best in the JAMB is also from Anambra. I just wanted to point out the rot in the system. God help Nigeria.

Posted: at 4-07-2023 02:12 PM (1 year ago) | Addicted Hero
- Baye77 at 4-07-2023 11:04 PM (1 year ago)
Quote from: fineboy77 on  4-07-2023 02:12 PM
I agree with you. This should not be about tribe because as I hear, the next best in the JAMB is also from Anambra. I just wanted to point out the rot in the system. God help Nigeria.
Ameen Ameen. Trust me I strongly believe it has nothing to do with ethnicity at all. I can't remember the exact year, but there has been students, even from the same Anambra that scored even higher than that 362 in the past and everyone celebrated them. I just want to believe jamb noticed something for them to be taking this stance. In all honesty though, the girl is very young and I sincerely don't want to believe she's intentionally trying to cheat all on her own...so I think there's still more to this case we are not aware of...
Posted: at 4-07-2023 11:04 PM (1 year ago) | Hero