How Police Foiled Two Suicide Attempts on Third Mainland Bridge, Lagos

Date: 09-09-2024 6:17 am (1 month ago) | Author: kacy lee
- at 9-09-2024 06:17 AM (1 month ago)

Operatives of the Lagos State Police Command have foiled two suicide attempts along the Third Mainland Bridge.

It was gathered that a 65-year-old visually impaired man, Ewenla Adetomiwa, was rescued after attempting to commit suicide by jumping into the lagoon around 2:30 p.m. on September 4, 2024.

The spokesperson for the state Police Command, Benjamin Hundeyin, confirmed the incidents to Punch on Sunday, September 9.

According to reports, the victim had brought his two children to the Third Mainland Bridge, planning to end his life, believing that the government would care for them after his death

However, passersby, realising the man’s intentions, intervened and stopped him before he could jump into the lagoon.

“There was a distress call that a man with his two children attempted to commit suicide by trying to jump into the lagoon on the third mainland bridge in the state,” the PPRO said.

"He was prevented by a good Samaritan who alerted the police through the control room. Upon the receipt of the information, a team of policemen was sent to the scene where the victim, who lived in Ikorodu, and his two children were seen on the bridge

Posted: at 9-09-2024 06:17 AM (1 month ago) | Addicted Hero
- kp45 at 9-09-2024 06:45 AM (1 month ago)
Is third mainland bridge a place were people who are going through some hard times or people who have given up on life go and end it all Huh? Family suicide..
Posted: at 9-09-2024 06:45 AM (1 month ago) | Addicted Hero
- fineboy77 at 9-09-2024 07:55 AM (1 month ago)
people are directionless and hopeless under this administration

Posted: at 9-09-2024 07:55 AM (1 month ago) | Addicted Hero
- Jiiitk4 at 9-09-2024 08:24 AM (1 month ago)
Yoruba people can never be serious. Must they let people know that they want to commit suicide? Take a clue from Igbos. Swift  and direct.
Posted: at 9-09-2024 08:24 AM (1 month ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 9-09-2024 11:10 AM (1 month ago)
Quote from: fineboy77 on  9-09-2024 07:55 AM
people are directionless and hopeless under this administration

you can't just give up on life just because your tribe or political party is not in power Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes as long as you have what brings in money, eat, pay bills, buy medication if u need one, live your life!! but NO una want to be biilionnaira over night  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 9-09-2024 11:10 AM (1 month ago) | Grande Master
- fineboy77 at 9-09-2024 02:31 PM (1 month ago)
Quote from: gogoman on  9-09-2024 11:10 AM

you can't just give up on life just because your tribe or political party is not in power Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes as long as you have what brings in money, eat, pay bills, buy medication if u need one, live your life!! but NO una want to be biilionnaira over night  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Ebin pa wa is not an Igbo word.

Posted: at 9-09-2024 02:31 PM (1 month ago) | Addicted Hero
- gogoman at 9-09-2024 02:48 PM (1 month ago)
Quote from: fineboy77 on  9-09-2024 02:31 PM
Ebin pa wa is not an Igbo word.

I'm very sure Igbo have a word for that as well!!  because I have not seen a place where they sell reduced food prices for just ''Igbo'' people... therefore if hunger catches una u go talk am
Posted: at 9-09-2024 02:48 PM (1 month ago) | Grande Master
- fineboy77 at 9-09-2024 06:48 PM (1 month ago)
Quote from: gogoman on  9-09-2024 02:48 PM

I'm very sure Igbo have a word for that as well!!  because I have not seen a place where they sell reduced food prices for just ''Igbo'' people... therefore if hunger catches una u go talk am
These days, Social Media puts everyone in the spotlight. For now, all we hear is Ebin pawa from the tribe that is currently hungry. Grin Grin

Posted: at 9-09-2024 06:48 PM (1 month ago) | Addicted Hero