abortions

Date: 13-02-2008 7:56 am (16 years ago) | Author: tinu
- at 13-02-2008 07:56 AM (16 years ago)
ACTUALLY THIS POST IS GONNA BE AN ARTICLE I WROTE FOR SCHOOL ABOUT THE MATTER. I FELT REALLY STRONGLY ABOUT THE TOPIC AND I JUST WANTED TO KNOW WHAT OTHERS THINK ABOUT IT WHETHERE THEY ARE PRO LIFE OR PRO CHOICE.

By: Tinu Akinyemi

ABORTIONS

Imagine that it were you inside, and someone was planning to take your chance at a life away. All of lives joys and experiences, taken away from you in one insensitive decision that leads to an incision. The idea of terminating pregnancies through abortion is ethically wrong, cruel and unjust. Thus, abortions should be made illegal and therefore against the law around the world. Statistics show that there are over 1,200,000 women who have abortions each year in the United States and about a hundred thousand a year in Canada. That is more than 1,300,000 dead  fetuses each year in North America alone. Do you believe that these fetuses in a mother's womb, that have already begun to develop do not deserve a chance at life?
     In North America, abortions are legal up to your 6th month of pregnancy. By this time the expectant mother will be well into her second trimester and approaching the third. Major organs and systems will have already started to form in the fetus's body. The fetus can kick move, respond to stimuli, hears the mothers voice and the brain undergoes a critical period of growth during the 5th month of pregnancy. The fetus is no longer merely an egg, it is well past that and has developed into so much more.
It is an unborn baby. The extermination of your baby at this time should be classified as what it truly is... murder!
    An abortion does not damage the life of the fetus alone. The effects it has on the woman who undergoes this procedure are almost equally devastating. After or during the act of an abortion, the woman might suffer from things such as bladder and bowel injury. They develop a fifty percent higher risk of developing Bosom  cancer. These women, if pregnant again, could end up having an ectopic or tubal pregnancy, which is any pregnancy that occurs outside of the uterus. Statistics show a 30 percent increase risk of an ectopic pregnancy after one abortion, and a 160 percent risk after two or more abortions. If these ectopic pregnancies are not discovered soon enough, the expectant mother could bleed to death if she does not have emergency surgery. Abortions create complications in any future pregnancies as well. You become more likely to bleed in your first three months of pregnancy. Your next baby may be born prematurely or with a low birth weight  and your next baby will be twice as likely to die in the next few months of life. This means when u have an abortion your not just damaging one life your putting the lives of all your future babies at risk as well!
   What gives any body the right to end someone else's life? Even one that may not have begun yet. Just because a pregnancy is “unwanted” by you does not mean that the baby will be unwanted by others likewise. If you absolutely do not want to keep your child, there are people who would love to. Adoption  agencies all over the world will be glad to take the baby, and put he or she in a safe home where they can be appreciated. Abortion is not the only way out. It is simply just the merciless and barbaric way.
    A baby is a miracle, and every unborn child regardless of whether it is convenient for you at the time or does not fit so well into your agenda, deserves to live .They deserve a chance at happiness, a chance to laugh, cry and to be somebody . When you have an abortion, you eliminate every plan that destiny might have had for that unborn child. This unborn babies could not have been brought into this world for no reason at all and i am very sure if your unborn child could talk to you, it would say... “Can i live”.

Posted: at 13-02-2008 07:56 AM (16 years ago) | Newbie
- Vixenx at 13-02-2008 10:51 AM (16 years ago)
I AM AGAINST IT 100% Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry...I don't think its humane thing to do and i'm absolutely disgusted by anyone thinking about doing it...GIVE ME THE BABY INSTEAD..I knew few ppl that did it, and i swear i no longer speak to them because of that cause there are other options other than abortions. I mean what if their mom aborted them?, they would never get to experience life, so why not give that baby a chance at life like your mom gave you..And plus those abortion clinics should be shut down and out of business.

@Beautious...thats a really great article to write about and i commend you for standing against it as well, i think everyone should. Grin Grin
Posted: at 13-02-2008 10:51 AM (16 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- beautious at 13-02-2008 12:08 PM (16 years ago)
yea exactly how i feel.
and thank u.
Posted: at 13-02-2008 12:08 PM (16 years ago) | Newbie
- myragonza at 13-02-2008 02:44 PM (16 years ago)
actually its much practiced in naija coz most of them are students or young adults who does not want to take responsibilty or shy away from it...and their last resort is abortion....unlike in states,where women are not embarrased or shy to be a single parent or an unmarried parent...in naija,once u are pregnant without getting married,people tend to shun you or look down on u.....but to me,who cares,coz its gonna be my baby and just us in our own world......

Posted: at 13-02-2008 02:44 PM (16 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- tbaby at 15-02-2008 11:01 PM (16 years ago)
Am totally against this but what bothers me is that its on the increase and its like we are all confused on how to stop it. I think pple shld stop the blames and focus more on how to put a stop to teenage pregnancy which is the major reason for abortions in Nigeria.

There is a school of thought that says that sex education in schools sparks curiosity but i dont think so. Wheather its talked about in school or not they are still gonna make enquiries so why not teach and then counsel. We leave in a world where parents are lax in their functions, mother goes to work and does not have chance to get to know their kids. Fathers are totally abvsent in bringing up kids now a days. Its all complex, pls share your views on these and hey Tinu i like it. Please post the final work as a blog i wld like to read it.
God bless   

Posted: at 15-02-2008 11:01 PM (16 years ago) | Upcoming
- Oluwatoyin001 at 16-02-2008 04:31 AM (16 years ago)

It is morally wrong and i'm strongly against it.

On the otherhand i would strongly agree with it in cases of ectopic pregnancy. Also in seriously ill pregnant cancer patients (to enable her take chemoteraphy).

I believe ife belongs to God and therefore sacred. Whether a foetus or human being it's a life.
Posted: at 16-02-2008 04:31 AM (16 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Vixenx at 16-02-2008 04:42 AM (16 years ago)
True that.. Grin Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 16-02-2008 04:42 AM (16 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- fineboy at 16-02-2008 08:56 PM (16 years ago)
Quote from: myragonza on 13-02-2008 02:44 PM
actually its much practiced in naija coz most of them are students or young adults who does not want to take responsibilty or shy away from it...and their last resort is abortion....unlike in states,where women are not embarrased or shy to be a single parent or an unmarried parent...in naija,once u are pregnant without getting married,people tend to shun you or look down on u.....but to me,who cares,coz its gonna be my baby and just us in our own world......

you right girl but am sure it`s done done everywhere.abortion is one bad moral wrongs we have to `right`.i hope africans starts to appreciate the fact that the unborn baby has a right to life.

Posted: at 16-02-2008 08:56 PM (16 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- myragonza at 16-02-2008 08:59 PM (16 years ago)
that is why to avoid such situations ans sins............start using CONDOMS!!!!

Posted: at 16-02-2008 08:59 PM (16 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- fineboy at 16-02-2008 09:16 PM (16 years ago)
abstain or better still if you have a steady gf...well meet me and i`ll explain

Posted: at 16-02-2008 09:16 PM (16 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- myragonza at 16-02-2008 09:35 PM (16 years ago)
Quote from: fineboy on 16-02-2008 09:16 PM
abstain or better still if you have a steady gf...well meet me and i`ll explain

thats the first thing i should avoid.....!! Shocked Shocked

Posted: at 16-02-2008 09:35 PM (16 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- beautious at 17-02-2008 12:49 AM (16 years ago)
many ppl are against the whole abortion thing but the governements are still not making it illegal.
there have been protests n eveyrhting but no changes. :'(
Posted: at 17-02-2008 12:49 AM (16 years ago) | Newbie
- Vixenx at 17-02-2008 07:08 AM (16 years ago)
I think they're letting abortions remain and legal because of the freedom of choice, which they know will be violated if they were to ban it.
Posted: at 17-02-2008 07:08 AM (16 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- fineboy at 17-02-2008 07:13 PM (16 years ago)
Quote from: beautious on 17-02-2008 12:49 AM
many ppl are against the whole abortion thing but the governements are still not making it illegal.
there have been protests n eveyrhting but no changes. :'(
Quote from: nigerianvixen26 on 17-02-2008 07:08 AM
I think they're letting abortions remain and legal because of the freedom of choice, which they know will be violated if they were to ban it.

that`s one shit thing i hate the american government.what choice of freedom?does the baby not have a choice too?
@Myra...what are you avoiding?

Posted: at 17-02-2008 07:13 PM (16 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- myragonza at 18-02-2008 12:44 PM (16 years ago)
bt the americans have an open mind to keep their babies unlike most nigerians in naija who are scared to have unwanted babies......

Posted: at 18-02-2008 12:44 PM (16 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Vixenx at 18-02-2008 10:00 PM (16 years ago)
yeah thats true myra..and thats why i don't understand why they would choose abortions instead of having the baby when they're gonna get needed help if its an unwanted pregnancy..If anything, they get more assistance than those working and raising a family..talk about free clinics...food..housing..and everything else you can think of...
Posted: at 18-02-2008 10:00 PM (16 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- myragonza at 19-02-2008 03:51 PM (16 years ago)
i don't think they have such stuffs in naija....but what i do believe is that u should account for the mistake u have done not shy away like that....

there is this movie they are playing now called "JUNO"....i admire that gal's courage on her unwanted pregnancy......

Posted: at 19-02-2008 03:51 PM (16 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- beautious at 20-02-2008 03:35 AM (16 years ago)
yea at myra that movie was great and funny as welll

in case anyone was wondering how i did on the article!!!
i got perfect the teacher was so impressed she hung it up in the skool
perfect on an english essay is very very hard to get lol.!! im so proud of me!
Posted: at 20-02-2008 03:35 AM (16 years ago) | Newbie
- Vixenx at 20-02-2008 08:28 AM (16 years ago)
Quote from: beautious on 20-02-2008 03:35 AM
yea at myra that movie was great and funny as welll

in case anyone was wondering how i did on the article!!!
i got perfect the teacher was so impressed she hung it up in the skool
perfect on an english essay is very very hard to get lol.!! im so proud of me!

yeahhhhhhhh....CONGRATS CONGRATS Grin Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 20-02-2008 08:28 AM (16 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- myragonza at 20-02-2008 12:24 PM (16 years ago)
 Kiss Kiss Kiss Kiss

Posted: at 20-02-2008 12:24 PM (16 years ago) | Addicted Hero