Church, community disputes over killing of snake (Page 5)

Date: 07-05-2013 8:41 am (10 years ago) | Author: Direct
1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 ... 32
- dlimelite at 7-05-2013 07:13 PM (10 years ago)
Since when did a snake become a God. Na wa for this world
Posted: at 7-05-2013 07:13 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- dlimelite at 7-05-2013 07:16 PM (10 years ago)
Quote from: steveoneal on  7-05-2013 04:38 PM
arrant nonsense,, tradition indeed, those are the fellas that come here and start insulting other tribes.. claiming to be the best in the world,, you see a snake in your childrens´ bed, tradition is the next thing that comes to your mind,,because the snake has a sticker on its head saying , (i am the harmless breed) nice indeed, even some pythons that do not bite have a way of killing their preys,,, , and all you do is start comparing nigeria with  malaysia,,, its better all of you go apologize to the pastor,,, nothing is bad in practising your traditonal religion,, but not when a snake is having its siesta in the bed of kids,,,
Posted: at 7-05-2013 07:16 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- emnoeasy at 7-05-2013 07:20 PM (10 years ago)
Quote from: Solidstonez on  7-05-2013 06:10 PM
See question, abeg go die
no be u get that question, na u go first die as for me have been well preferred.
Posted: at 7-05-2013 07:20 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- dlimelite at 7-05-2013 07:24 PM (10 years ago)
Quote from: Senegal on  7-05-2013 03:39 PM
Be careful of what you say, woman. In Most part of Anambra State, including my own town, pythons are considered sacred, and are not to be killed, unless by mistake. They are generally peaceful animals and they do not attack humans, livestock, they do not bite as well since they are not poisonous. Why kill them? This tradition has nothing to do with savagery nor civilization. By the way Christians make up about 99% of citizen of my town, and we are by no means worshiping the pythons, only to alow them to live freely

Having said that, i don't know where you come from but definitely you are a black woman, so don't try to be more civilized than the Western world because an average European and American, loves and protects all kinds of animal, and can pay any amount to keep his favorite type as a pet.

Omuta ogbakaria.

Since when did Christians in Igbo land or your town believe a snake is their God. "We are by no means worshiping the pythons" Then why do they refer to them as "God" Roll Eyes Westerners/Europeans kill almost all the animals Africans kill to eat. In some areas they kill horses, cats, dogs, and some other animals some ppl take as pets for food.
Posted: at 7-05-2013 07:24 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- emnoeasy at 7-05-2013 07:24 PM (10 years ago)
Quote from: HOPEA23 on  7-05-2013 06:25 PM
excuse me... Lemme ask u same question... Have you in anyway asked an edo baby out and she turned u down?
never, i am in good time with Edo girl and their boys, in fact my best friend here is an Edo man, are you okay now? answer question no wast my time i wan say some thing.
Posted: at 7-05-2013 07:24 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- dlimelite at 7-05-2013 07:26 PM (10 years ago)
Quote from: HOPEA23 on  7-05-2013 02:44 PM
and u people will be insulting the rest tribes about their tradition how  is unclean bla bla bla.....

Abi  Cheesy
Posted: at 7-05-2013 07:26 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- dlimelite at 7-05-2013 07:30 PM (10 years ago)
Quote from: angesco on  7-05-2013 02:31 PM
Nigeria is wiping out the natural wildlife we have been blessed with because of our colonial mentality that taught (and continues to teach) that everything in Africa is demonic.

Yes of course the snake bites and so do such snakes all over the world but you do not see churches going out of their way to kill them. Some communities even use snakes to cure ailments.

Countries like Kenya thrive on their safari expeditions that attract tourists from all over the world.

I thought the bible taught we were not to call anything that had been created by God as unclean?

Yes but Kenyans too kill some animals in their wildlife to get reap its benefits esp. the elephants for its ivory
Posted: at 7-05-2013 07:30 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- luckynzekwe at 7-05-2013 07:33 PM (10 years ago)
What a marvelous God i serve He has done so much 4 me.I wonder what snake wil do 4 dis people.May God have mercy on them and open their eyes 2 see that there is no other God beside our heavenly father.
Posted: at 7-05-2013 07:33 PM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- emnoeasy at 7-05-2013 07:35 PM (10 years ago)
Quote from: dlimelite on  7-05-2013 07:24 PM
Since when did Christians in Igbo land or your town believe a snake is their God. "We are by no means worshiping the pythons" Then why do they refer to them as "God" Roll Eyes Westerners/Europeans kill almost all the animals Africans kill to eat. In some areas they kill horses, cats, dogs, and some other animals some ppl take as pets for food.
even you,i tot you are a bunch of wisdom, didn't  you have a tradition in where you come from? as long as i know Yorubas  never play with their tradition no matter what, that doesn't mean that they are not Christina, but the tradition is their before them therefor they have to obey it. so do Igbos and other tribes let say the truth for once and stop attaching each other unnecessary.
Posted: at 7-05-2013 07:35 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- dlimelite at 7-05-2013 07:40 PM (10 years ago)
Quote from: de-lagan on  7-05-2013 01:00 PM
does it bite them .... the answer is a big NO. tradition is a tradition . killing of a snake is a taboo in most of Anambra state , so the pastor should no better cos the tradition has been there before he come open his church . afterall the village cannot change their tradition bcos of pastor they're not even show he worship God inside . nawadays anything is possible .
I'm sure a lot of Nigerians or ppl in general can not list all the types of snakes that don't bite and the ones that do. For most ppl that see a snake they'll most likely react by killing it. I don't support the belief that a snake is a God, but if you see a snake just throw it back into the bush. Unless you wanna kill it for food cuz God (as in heavenly father) gave humans the power to kill animals for food. But instead he killed it and threw it into the bush, something that coulda been used for food.
Posted: at 7-05-2013 07:40 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- dlimelite at 7-05-2013 07:48 PM (10 years ago)
Quote from: emnoeasy on  7-05-2013 07:35 PM
even you,i tot you are a bunch of wisdom, didn't  you have a tradition in where you come from? as long as i know Yorubas  never play with their tradition no matter what, that doesn't mean that they are not Christina, but the tradition is their before them therefor they have to obey it. so do Igbos and other tribes let say the truth for once and stop attaching each other unnecessary.
Yes I have wisdom and what I wrote to you was a good point. You didn't answer why Christians in your area refer to snakes as a God. True Christians only have one God which is Jesus Christ. Also not all traditions are good. "that doesn't mean they are not Christians" What da? True Christians can only serve one God which is (heavenly father) and no other. You cant serve Jesus and also serve a snake. No they don't have to obey it. If so there are lots of snakes in hell that they can serve there. Yes I'm saying the truth.
Posted: at 7-05-2013 07:48 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- dlimelite at 7-05-2013 07:49 PM (10 years ago)
Quote from: luckynzekwe on  7-05-2013 07:33 PM
What a marvelous God i serve He has done so much 4 me.I wonder what snake wil do 4 dis people.May God have mercy on them and open their eyes 2 see that there is no other God beside our heavenly father.
YOU CAN SAY THAT AGAIN AND AGAIN AND AGAIN!
Posted: at 7-05-2013 07:49 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- dlimelite at 7-05-2013 07:51 PM (10 years ago)
Quote from: zoe61 on  7-05-2013 06:40 PM
Africans with their dirty believe
Please reduce that generalization to "some ppl" cuz not ALL Africans have this belief and this belief is in some other countries too.
Posted: at 7-05-2013 07:51 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- dlimelite at 7-05-2013 07:55 PM (10 years ago)
Quote from: Mobbysmartins on  7-05-2013 03:08 PM
The Local Government is named after the snake godess,IDEMILI.This incident is purported to have happened at Umuoji community in Idemili North Local Government Area of Anambra State.The basic issue here is that the snake is harmless,it does not bite the people of the community,it does not bite even the visitors.So why should you kill something that is harmless,harmless to the people of the land,harmless to you stranger,and you are aware the community forbids it and it is not harmful to you,so why should you just kill it???
So you know All the snakes that bite and don't bite. Please list them for ppl to know as well
Posted: at 7-05-2013 07:55 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- Senegal at 7-05-2013 07:55 PM (10 years ago)
[quote author=dlimelite link=topic=152082.msg3568188#msg3568188 date=1367951069]
[/quote]

[/size]I can see that you are definitely missing the points here. Did you actually read the post or you just want to make fun of the entire Igbo race. I can confidently tell you that they are not worshiping the python in any way, rather they just want them to live. Our forefathers did not kill those animals for some reasons and we grew up and found them. They must have their reasons for allowing them to roam freely in their communities. You don't have more churches or prayer warriors in your community than in mine, so what are you insinuating?
Sometimes i wonder what is wrong with some people? The white man have brainwashed you guys into believing that all African tradition should be abolished, even the harmless ones?  why kill a harmless animal. I know you are one of the tribal bigots in nijapals.
Posted: at 7-05-2013 07:55 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- de-lagan at 7-05-2013 07:57 PM (10 years ago)
@ Charivan (16) ...... i just read wht u wrote above , word of God is everywhere as you stated ...hmmm .  listen i come from idemili local Govt , and even pastor Chris will never come to my own town and kill a snake , i will never tell u what will hapen to him . reason bcos God never ask you to kill those animals OR forbid those animals , God create everything and said i love what i created . Snake has done too many miracles in my own house , i'm not talking about outsider . i'm a witness . i don't need to give u the details , but be reassure that u will surely get what u ask for if you dare kill snake in my town . and again it doesn't mean that u r a Chineke child more than me or us . forget all this pretense and face reality . since i was born , we never kill snake  and it never hurt anybody , why would u question my belief ? it's our tradition and we loves it that way . fact .  .
Posted: at 7-05-2013 07:57 PM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- Mobbysmartins at 7-05-2013 07:58 PM (10 years ago)
Quote from: gbojac on  7-05-2013 05:04 PM
Why should you kill harmless Chicken, Pork, Cow....Did I say Cow Huh?? In India u do not kill cow because their god is inside Cow. Of course, u will say that's rubbish because u like beefsteak..... Same thing here, leave the pastor alone, tell ur god not to go pastor's house if he care for his life.... If ur god don hear he will DIE if pastor find him on his way....

I kill harmless Chicken, Pig, Cow etc because I am killing them so I can eat them.I cannot kill harmless Chicken, Pig, Cow just for the fun of killing them.I have answered your question.Now I ask you mine.Did the pastor kill the harmless snake for food?.Or did he kill it just for the fun of killing it?.The pastor did not kill the harmless snake for food,the pastor killed the harmless snake just for the fun of killing it.
Posted: at 7-05-2013 07:58 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Mobbysmartins at 7-05-2013 08:05 PM (10 years ago)
Quote from: emnoeasy on  7-05-2013 05:08 PM
they are not claiming to be the best in the world like CM PUNK but they are the best and Greatest Black Race.

Tell them my brother.Sometimes I wonder why they envy and hate us so much,then I realize we are really the best.I mean if we are not better,they will not envy us,you can only envy someone that is better than you.
Posted: at 7-05-2013 08:05 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Ifemylove at 7-05-2013 08:13 PM (10 years ago)
in this 21 century ?
Posted: at 7-05-2013 08:13 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- emnoeasy at 7-05-2013 08:18 PM (10 years ago)
Quote from: Mobbysmartins on  7-05-2013 08:05 PM
Tell them my brother.Sometimes I wonder why they envy and hate us so much,then I realize we are really the best.I mean if we are not better,they will not envy us,you can only envy someone that is better than you.
dont mind them, they will soon start killing them self God is watch them, any thing we do is a crime to them, do not worry your self about all this, we all no that they can not do without us, i reply them when i have free time i do read all they use to say about us here but that can not stop us, who God have bless no man or group of people can bring him down, God have bless us brother, we are doing good were ever we are, to be an Igbo tribe is not an a days Job, it toke God time to create we the Igbos, he create us on a special time.  Cool Cool Cool Cool Cool Grin Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 7-05-2013 08:18 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 ... 32

1. Mayorkun Slam Nicki Da Barbie With N1b Lawsuit For Damaging His Reputation, Accusing Of Been A

2. VID: Singer Paul Okoye Cries Out Over The Struggles Of House Chores In The UK

3. VID: Prophet Sends Disturbing Message To Paul Okoye About His Girlfriend, Ivy Ifeoma

4. Police Parade One-Man Interstate Phone Thief, 10 Others In Kwara

5. VIDEO: Unrest In Plateau As Gunmen Kill University Student, 19 Others 20 In Fresh Attack

6. ‘It’s False’ - Singer Skiibii Reacts To Nicki Dabarbie’s ‘Ritual’ Accusation

7. "Declaring Yahaya Bello Wanted Unnecessary" – Bwala Slams EFCC

8. APC Reacts To Claims That Presidency Is Involved In Ganduje’s Suspension

9. Lagos Govt Arrests 10 Fake MOT Enforcement Officials

1. Moment Atiku Abubakar And Nyesom Wike Snub Each Other At PDP National Caucus Meeting (VID)

2. The Real Reason Tinubu Government Went After Bobrisky - Reno Omokri Drops Bombshell

3. U.S-Based Model's Accidental Post Of Her With Davido In A 'Cozy" Mood Sparks Rumors(Photos)

4. Check Out The Video That Got Cubana Chief Priest Into EFCC's Net

5. Jubilation In Nigeria As Many Are Currently Receiving N50k Inside Their Account From Tinubu

6. PICS: Ex Ooni Of Ife's Wife, Queen Naomi Ties The Knot Again On Her 31st Birthday

7. Embarrassing Turn for Afrobeats Star, Davido in Latest Romantic Scandal With American Model

8. Kim Kardashian Shows Off Lots of Flesh as She Debuts Her SKIMS SWIM Summer 2024 Line

9. APC National Chairman, Ganduje Suspended From The Party

10. Lady Who Accidentally Posted Cozy Photos With Davido Shares New Shocking Video of The Singer