Private Jet: You Owe The People Apology, Okogie Tells Oritsejafor

Date: 17-10-2014 6:35 am (9 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 17-10-2014 06:35 AM (9 years ago)

The Archbishop Emeritus of Lagos, Anthony Cardinal Okogie, has reacted to the call on Pastor Ayo Oritsejafor, President of the Christian Association of Nigeria (CAN), to resign from his exalted position.Recall that following the involvement of Oritsejafor’s private jet in a $9.3 million deal that went sour in South Africa, many people including Pastor Chris Okotie have called for his resignation.But speaking with Daily Sun, Okogie, a former CAN president, said Oritsejafor also has his own conscience, saying that God is the best judge.

“As the CAN president therefore, he should know like most people are saying today, that he has done something wrong. And if he is a real good Christian, he owns the people an apology. And once he apologises, he should change for good. That is my own belief of what a good person should do,” Okogie said.

He, however, took a swipe at the Federal Government for exonerating Oritsejafor over the matter, wondering the kind of leadership in the country.

“I read in the papers that the presidency is even exonerating him from the crime. I don’t know the kind of leadership we have in the country. The way things are, I am afraid they are bringing in politics and religion and everything together just to remain in power. That is what I see people are now doing.

“If I am a Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) man, even if I steal and I am a stalwart of the PDP, the PDP will still tell me, ‘ah! don’t worry or they will tell me, ‘don’t talk again; don’t talk again until a particular time.’ And they will come out again and reward you.

“That is not right. All is not right at all. We are just rolling in the nation. And since we are rolling in the nation, what kind of generation are we preparing to take over from us? It pains me a lot to see the way things are in the country.

“Look at what happened in Ekiti. The next thing you are going to hear, is that they will say, well, the man has been elected by the people, so let him continue. And how can you have such a person to govern a state?

“If you put this issue on the same parameter with Oritsejafor’s, what have they done? They should come out with the truth, plain truth. I don’t know what is happening in this nation anymore,”
Okogie stated.

He also frowned on the recent endorsement of President Goodluck Jonathan as the PDP sole candidate for the 2015 presidential election, saying the development was against democratic tenets.

Okogie noted that with such development, any candidate that musters courage to declare his intention in the party would be in trouble.

“They say we are democratic. How can, you get up and kill the conscience of others?  Because 2015 is coming, you stand up and say that we have decided that this one is the only candidate we have. Can that be true?

“Look at other parties also. It is happening. People are hailing and clamouring Buhari, Buhari, Buhari! Look at those who have conscience among the APC people. They came out and like Fela Anikulapo would say, they said you can’t gag our conscience, you can’t gag our mouths and whether we win or not, we are coming out. That is how it should be.”

“And I can tell you this: if anybody comes out and says he is challenging the authority of whoever says Jonathan should be the only person, he is in trouble. That is Nigeria for you. The world is laughing at us, the world is laughing at us,”
Okogie concluded.

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter- @Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 17-10-2014 06:35 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- sucre4u at 17-10-2014 07:11 AM (9 years ago)
Well spoken daddy
Posted: at 17-10-2014 07:11 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- daveobahon at 17-10-2014 08:02 AM (9 years ago)
Whch Daddy?evn Okojie is playin politics dey nva wntd Ayo there so theyy lukin 4 evry opportunity,I tot investigations re goin on,let's jst wait till d investigation is over then if Ayo is guilty,he shud face d law buh sayin he shud apologize now makes no sense abeg no use us play politics
Posted: at 17-10-2014 08:02 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- chidi4reala at 17-10-2014 08:42 AM (9 years ago)
Quote from: daveobahon on 17-10-2014 08:02 AM
Whch Daddy?evn Okojie is playin politics dey nva wntd Ayo there so theyy lukin 4 evry opportunity,I tot investigations re goin on,let's jst wait till d investigation is over then if Ayo is guilty,he shud face d law buh sayin he shud apologize now makes no sense abeg no use us play politics
u be idiot
Posted: at 17-10-2014 08:42 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- Wysetots at 17-10-2014 08:50 AM (9 years ago)
For men shall be lovers of their own selves,
covetous, boasters, proud....

2 Tim 3:2

Why would one man own a jet while his congregants wallow in penury !!
Posted: at 17-10-2014 08:50 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- Larry28 at 17-10-2014 09:08 AM (9 years ago)
Reserve my comment
Posted: at 17-10-2014 09:08 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- pstsilasokon at 17-10-2014 09:21 AM (9 years ago)
Whch Daddy?evn Okojie is playin politics dey nva wntd
Ayo there so theyy lukin 4 evry opportunity,I tot
investigations re goin on,let's jst wait till d investigation
is over then if Ayo is guilty,he shud face d law buh sayin
he shud apologize now makes no sense abeg no use us
play politics
MY BROTHER THAT IS THE TRUTH
Posted: at 17-10-2014 09:21 AM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- swaggertega at 17-10-2014 09:42 AM (9 years ago)
Apologies for what, abeg abeg abeg biafran pastor
Posted: at 17-10-2014 09:42 AM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- allenspike at 17-10-2014 10:10 AM (9 years ago)
Quote from: daveobahon on 17-10-2014 08:02 AM
no mind dem Jare

Posted: at 17-10-2014 10:10 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- morgrawl231 at 17-10-2014 10:32 AM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 17-10-2014 10:32 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- Doziefelix at 17-10-2014 11:16 AM (9 years ago)
His Eminence speaks like his brother OBJ. When you were CAN President what did you do? IBB sold this nation
to the Islamic world during your era and what did you do? Please leave Ayo alone. He who has called you and created
all things shall also judge all things. Ayo has taken CAN to the next level and all well meaning
Christians should stand up for him. If you think he has committed any crime please go to court.

Posted: at 17-10-2014 11:16 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- zeigbo at 17-10-2014 11:24 AM (9 years ago)
okogie go and seat down Abeg

Posted: at 17-10-2014 11:24 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Originalsly at 17-10-2014 11:57 AM (9 years ago)
Politicians do what they do.....why do MoG wrap up with them? I blame the MoG. How can a Christian leader be involved in gun runnings?...who knows if he is using his property as arms/ammo depot.He should be kicked out.
Posted: at 17-10-2014 11:57 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- zoe61 at 17-10-2014 11:57 AM (9 years ago)
they are all the some making wealth in the name of God
Posted: at 17-10-2014 11:57 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- dynasty4all at 17-10-2014 12:11 PM (9 years ago)
BISHOP U ARE TAKING THIS MATTER TOO FAR
ARE U SURE U ARE NOT WORKING AGAINST PRESIDENT GOODLUCK?
Posted: at 17-10-2014 12:11 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dynasty4all at 17-10-2014 12:14 PM (9 years ago)
Quote from: swaggertega on 17-10-2014 09:42 AM
Apologies for what, abeg abeg abeg biafran pastor
BISHOP OKOJIE IS FROM ISHA, EDO STATE, NOT BIAFRAN OK.
PLS DONT INSULT GOD CHOSEN PEOPLE OF BIAFRA.
Posted: at 17-10-2014 12:14 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Trueyarn at 17-10-2014 04:04 PM (9 years ago)
Let's wait 4 the end matter of dis story
Posted: at 17-10-2014 04:04 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- ngfineface at 17-10-2014 04:36 PM (9 years ago)
Make all of una no insult Cardinal Okogie o else.............
Posted: at 17-10-2014 04:36 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- kemija at 17-10-2014 05:58 PM (9 years ago)
Quote from: Doziefelix on 17-10-2014 11:16 AM
His Eminence speaks like his brother OBJ. When you were CAN President what did you do? IBB sold this nation
to the Islamic world during your era and what did you do? Please leave Ayo alone. He who has called you and created
all things shall also judge all things. Ayo has taken CAN to the next level and all well meaning
Christians should stand up for him. If you think he has committed any crime please go to court.

Don't be parochial. the man is making sense, Ayo cannot totally claim ignorance of the whole saga. He may not be involved, but believe me he's very much aware. A simple apology will do. Don't compare the two men.... Okojie's was during a military regime and CAN was still in its infancy stage.#concernchristian.
Posted: at 17-10-2014 05:58 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- cadanre at 17-10-2014 07:39 PM (9 years ago)
Quote from: pstsilasokon on 17-10-2014 09:21 AM
Whch Daddy?evn Okojie is playin politics dey nva wntd
Ayo there so theyy lukin 4 evry opportunity,I tot
investigations re goin on,let's jst wait till d investigation
is over then if Ayo is guilty,he shud face d law buh sayin
he shud apologize now makes no sense abeg no use us
play politics
MY BROTHER THAT IS THE TRUTH

Please, go back to bed and continue sleeping till the investigation is over and the guilty punished. That means you will NEVER wake up.

Posted: at 17-10-2014 07:39 PM (9 years ago) | Hero

1. Family of Late Sound Engineer Have Refused to Exhume His Body From Riverside Despite Donations

2. Another Nollywood Legend, Mr Zulu Adigwe Passes On

3. Ondo Police Arrests Man Who Said He Saw Fetish Items in Car of 'Yahoo Boy' & Was Lynched by Mob

4. How Yahaya Bello Moved $720k From Govt Account to a BDC - EFCC Boss, Olukoyede Narrates (VID)

5. Our Teachers Are Aware - Students of Lead British School Speak About Bully!ing at The School

6. EFCC Uncovers How Emefiele Printed ₦684.5 Million With ₦18.9 Billion

7. I've Paid IT Experts To Pull Down My S3x Tape Off Internet And Mobile Devices -Tiwa Savage Says

8. Suspended UNN Lecturer Caught Sexual Assaulting His Married Female Student Arrested

9. Men No Longer Lose Weight In The Gym - Lady Reveals Reasons In A Video

10. Naira Slumps Against Dollar To N1,300 In Official Market

11. HARDWORK PAYS; Lady Opens Own Shop After Years Of Hawking Chin Chin, Egg Rolls, Puff Puff

12. 'Kidnappers, Terrorists Don’t Deserve Mercy'- Murdered Professor Says In Last Interview

13. Kanye West Reportedly Planning To Launch Porn Studio

14. Actor, Femi Adebayo's Wife Calls Out Online Aunties Who Come To Her DM With 'Dumb Advice'

15. Despite Men’s Craziness, Women Can’t Do Without Them Says Singer, Tiwa Savage

16. Photos Of Kogi University Lecturer, Sarinus Kano Killed By Suspected Armed Robbers

17. Heartbreaking; Man Losses Wife And Baby After 14 Years Of Barrenness

18. BBN Venita Called A ‘Bully’ After Neo Shares Family Ordeal With One

19. Alleged N8bn Nigeria Air Fraud: EFCC Arrests Ex-Aviation Minister, Sirika

20. Follow Due Process In Prosecuting Yahaya Bello, Group Tells EFCC

7. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

8. Abia State Police Arrest Suspects Linked To Mysterious Death of 23-Yr-Old Hope Chinedu Prosper

9. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office