"Beg ASUU To Call Off The Strike, We Can’t Borrow To Pay Them" — Keyamo Tells Nigerian Parents

Date: 06-08-2022 8:18 am (1 year ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 6-08-2022 08:18 AM (1 year ago)

The Minister of State for Labour and Employment, Festus Keyamo, on Friday, slammed the Academic Staff Union of Universities (ASUU) for making outrageous demands on its dispute with the Federal Government.

He made the comment while speaking on Channels Television’s Politics Today. “Should we go and borrow to pay N1.2 trillion yearly? You cannot allow one sector of the economy to hold you by the jugular and then blackmail you to go and borrow N1.2 trillion for overheads when our total income would be about N6.1 trillion. And you have roads to build, health centres to build, other sectors to take care of.”

The Minister urged parents across the country to beg ASUU. “Like the President said the other time, those who know them, appeal to their sense of patriotism.
The situation we are in now involves everybody. Nigerians should appeal to ASUU to go back to class. Parents should also beg the Union. It has got to that level. The prolonged strike is unnecessary,”
he said.

Recall that the union embarked on a 30-day warning strike on February 14 over the federal government’s failure to honour agreements signed by both parties. ASUU demands include the revitalisation of public universities, payment of earned academic allowances and the deployment of the University Transparency and Accountability Solution (UTAS) for payment of university lecturers’ salaries, among others. The union extended its strike for another 30 days on Monday, the fourth since the industrial action commenced about six months ago.

Posted: at 6-08-2022 08:18 AM (1 year ago) | Addicted Hero
- maxzy277 at 6-08-2022 09:07 AM (1 year ago)
Also tell this man to tell his boss to withdraw the money he has been splashing all around the world.
Posted: at 6-08-2022 09:07 AM (1 year ago) | Gistmaniac
- stevelee at 6-08-2022 10:21 AM (1 year ago)
after stealing all the money meant for public servant...u  na n o say it will finish...animal people 8n naija govtment
Posted: at 6-08-2022 10:21 AM (1 year ago) | Newbie
- joromy at 6-08-2022 10:47 AM (1 year ago)
Meanwhile Buhari has spend Nigeria money to buy luxury cars to Niger republic Billions of naira.
Posted: at 6-08-2022 10:47 AM (1 year ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 6-08-2022 02:53 PM (1 year ago)
NO let ASUU continue their mannerless madness  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 6-08-2022 02:53 PM (1 year ago) | Grande Master
- maizaxx at 6-08-2022 05:22 PM (1 year ago)
In as much as I don't support both actions, but logically how can you make that statement?
When we can donate vehicles worth I believe 1.14 billion naira to another country amidst the crisis with ASSU.
How can you convince us with your comment?
Posted: at 6-08-2022 05:22 PM (1 year ago) | Gistmaniac
- constigoldo at 9-08-2022 05:06 PM (1 year ago)
I am just angry
Posted: at 9-08-2022 05:06 PM (1 year ago) | Hero

1. How to Resolve Wike, Atiku Face-off - Bode George Wades in on PDP Crisis

2. Lady Left Heartbroken After Her Husband Used N11m From Their Joint Account to Buy Wedding Ring

3. I'm Happily Married As His 3rd Wife - Actress Bimpe Akintunde Opens up on How She Met Her Hubby

4. UPDATE! TikTok Permanently Bans Content Creator Who Did 'Buried Alive For 24-hours' Challenge

5. Man Who Proposes to Women & Dumps Them Just Before Wedding Exposed by His Victims

6. Davido Sweetly Celebrates Second Daughter, Hailey, as She Turns 7 Today

7. Nigerian Man, Ilerioluwa Begins Tour of 54 Countries Without a Plane to Break Guinness Record

8. JUST IN! Senate Approves Death Sentence As Penalty For Drug Offenders in Nigeria

9. BBNaija's Winner Illebaye Clocks 23 in Style, Shares New Photos

10. BREAKING! House of Reps Orders CBN to Suspend The 0.5% Cybersecurity Levy

11. NLC, CSO, Lambast Tinubu's Govt Over N18 Electricity Tariff Reduction

12. Electricity Tariff Hike is Attracting Investors to Power Sector - Minister, Bayo Adelabu

13. CJN to Get Jumbo Pay Pack as Reps Pass Bill Increasing Salaries of Judicial Officers

1. Moment Canadian Mayor Praises Tinubu For Work Done in Lagos While Honouring Peter Obi at Event

2. Yvonne Jegede Reveals The Truth About Colleague, Mercy Johnson, While Calling Her Out (Video)

3. Father-in-Law Of Wofai Fada, Engineer Kunle Cole Gives Reasons For Son’s Wedding Rejection

4. Following CBN Directive, OPay, Palmpay, Others Clamps Down On Crypto

5. Onanuga Shares A Post Alleging Peter Obi Demarkets Nigeria, Calls Him ‘Bitter Obi'

6. Soldier, Abdullahi Ismail Dismissed From The Nigerian Army For Sleeping With Colleague’s Wife

7. Focus On Fall Of Naira, Insecurity – Charly Boy Drags Onanuga For Tagging Peter Obi As ‘Bitter’

8. Primate Ayodele Issues Warning To Tinubu, Predicts Northern Opposition To Presidential Ambition

9. Houseboy - Angela Okorie Fires Back At Mercy Johnson's Husband After His Post on 'Mad People'

10. Actors In Nollywood Films Used To Be Cast Based On Social Media Followers – Uzor Arukwe