JUST IN: PDP, LP, ADP Demand Fresh Elections, Ask Yakubu To Step Aside

Date: 28-02-2023 2:50 pm (2 weeks ago) | Author: Bayo Nelson
- at 28-02-2023 02:50 PM (2 weeks ago)

The PUNCH reports that the Peoples Democratic Party, the Labour Party and the African Democratic Party have slammed the INEC chairman. The parties asked the Chairman of the Independent Electoral Commission, Mahmood Yakubu, to step aside. The three parties in a joint press conference on Tuesday, in Abuja alleged that the February 2023 presidential election was marred with violence, rigging and intimidation of voters.

The parties demanded the conduct of a fresh election.

“We are therefore constrained on this development to state that INEC compromised the integrity of this elections even before collation commenced at the polling units. “Section 60 sub-section 5 of the Electoral Act says that the presiding officer shall transfer the results, including total number of accredited voter and the results of the ballots in a manner as prescribed by the commission.

“A failure to comply with the provisions of the Electoral Act and the guidelines makes it imperative that all results recently uploaded on the IReV portal must be updated before they are announced.

“INEC went back on that promise…This election is not free and far from being fair and transparent.” “We shall not be part of the electoral process currently going on at the National Collation Centre and we demand that this sham of an election be immediately cancelled. “We also call for a fresh election to be carried out in accordance to the laid down INEC procedure.”

“We therefore call on Yakubu to step aside from his role,”
the LP National Chairman, Julius Abure, who delivered the position of the three opposition parties, said.

The parties asked Yakubu to step aside from his role as INEC Chairman for a “credible personality” outside the commission to take his place and oversee the process that would be acceptable to all stakeholders and will restore the confidence of the international community, the democratic process and institutions.

We have a responsibility to the millions of Nigerians who put their faith in us and our presidential candidates to defend our country from the forces that seek to tear us apart. We are calling on President Mohammadu Buhari to stand by his promise to Nigerians to leave a legacy of free, fair, transparent and credible elections to the country

President Buhari this is the time of great test of your integrity use your office to save Nigeria from this electoral mismanagement and save your legacy that seek to mar your democratic legacy We call on Nigerians to join us in defending the democracy of our country.

Posted: at 28-02-2023 02:50 PM (2 weeks ago) | Hero
- Kidfreshfunmi at 28-02-2023 03:03 PM (2 weeks ago)
 Grin Gbam - Lobatan!
See as APC name no dey among complainers. How e go dey?  Grin Awon Odaran...
Posted: at 28-02-2023 03:03 PM (2 weeks ago) | Upcoming
- janeken at 28-02-2023 04:52 PM (2 weeks ago)
Quote from: Kidfreshfunmi on 28-02-2023 04:52 PM
 Grin Gbam - Lobatan!
See as APC name no dey among complainers. How e go dey?  Grin Awon Odaran...
cos everyone knows tinubu as a fraudster and a murderer
Posted: at 28-02-2023 04:52 PM (2 weeks ago) | Upcoming
- fineboy77 at 28-02-2023 05:04 PM (2 weeks ago)
We dey

Posted: at 28-02-2023 05:04 PM (2 weeks ago) | Hero
- gogoman at 28-02-2023 11:10 PM (2 weeks ago)
MMMMMMMMMMM NO THANKS
Posted: at 28-02-2023 11:10 PM (2 weeks ago) | Grande Master

1. I Don't Care If Biden Congratulate Me Or Not, I'll Partner With China - Tinubu Declares

2. Liverpool Legend, Steven Gerrard Secures New Job After Aston Villa Sack

3. See How Your Son is Looking at You – Laura Ikeji Dragged For Posing in Bikini in Front of Kids

4. Rivers Gov Wike’s PDP Wins Governorship Election

5. Lagos Igbos Should Go To Kano, Seek Advice On How Their Brothers Overcame Victimization - Aisha

6. APC’s Senator Uba Sani Declared As A Winner Of Kaduna Governorship Election

7. Trouble Looms For Korra Obidi as She Captures Her Daughter on IG Live Despite Court Ban

8. Actress Yvonne Jegede Prays For Peace, Shares Hot New Photos

9. Finland Named The Happiest Country In The World For 6 Consecutive Years

10. So Sad! Undergraduate, Deborah Dies In LUTH After Being Denied Treatment Due To Bed Shortage

11. Nigerian Bus Driver Kills Lady in London After He Mistakenly Pressed Accelerator Instead Brake

12. Late Alaafin’s Estranged Wife, Queen Ola Jubilates as She Gets First Professional Certificate

13. Nigerian Business Tycoon, Dangote Overtakes 4 Billionaires, Makes N460bn In A Day

14. "Attacks On Igbos In Lagos Shows Tinubu Will Rule Like Adolf Hitler" – Atiku Laments

15. Lagos Igbo Leaders Call Out Gov Sanwo-Olu To Release Detained Chief, Eze Chinedu Mozie

16. Did You Win The People’s Confidence or Their Fear? – Rufai Oseni Asks Elected Politicians (VID)

17. One Person Killed, Six Critically Injured In Ilorin Multiple Road Crash

18. Ebonyi Gov. David Umahi Brags On Enthroning Successor, Describe Himself As Man With Grace

19. JUST IN: Kano Govt Lifts Dawn To Dusk Curfew

1. Labour Party Candidate, Alex Otti Wins Gubernatorial Election In Abia State

2. Peter Obi Clears The Air On Social Media Postings on #ENDINEC, #ENDNIGERIA Protest

3. Your Future Is Bright But Gov. Sanwo-Olu Will Win – Oba Of Lagos Tells LP's GRV During Visit

4. Lagos Governor Sanwo-Olu Wins Tinubu’s Polling Unit

5. BREAKING! Adamawa's Aisha Binani Becomes First Female Governor-Elect in Nigeria

6. Nollywood Actor, Kanayo O Kanayo Raises Concern Over Peter Obi, Says He Will Be Arrested Soon

7. Tinubu Speaks After Voting For His Choice Gubernatorial Candidate in Alausa

8. "Mo Bimpe Slept With Many Men Before Settling Down In Marriage" – Yomi Fabiyi Blows Hot

9. Hope The ‘Obidiots’ Believe Now That Lagos Belongs to The Yorubas - MC Oluomo (VID)

10. "It Shall Never Be Well With Enemies Of Nigeria" - LP’s Spokespersons, Kenneth Okonkwo