I still have nightmares – Abuja bomb blast victim

Date: 11-01-2011 12:03 pm (14 years ago) | Author: Aliuniyi lawal
- at 11-01-2011 12:03 PM (14 years ago)

The mammy market, Mogadishu Military Barracks, Abuja, scene of the recent bomb blasts was known for its roasted fish delicacy. A reporter with Kiss FM, Fidel Oseghale, had gone there to buy a piece or two of the fish meal for dinner; but what he got was a free bed at Asokoro District Hospital and a limp after he was discharged on Thursday.

Oseghale got the job with the radio station about two weeks ago after searching for a regular job for eight years. Though he looks like he should still be on admission at the hospital, Oseghale told PUNCH METRO that the fear that his new job could slip off his hand made him to leave the hospital to resume duty.

Sharing his experience with our correspondent, Oseghale said he was at Mogadishu with his friend, Austin, waiting to be served by one of the numerous sellers when a loud explosion rocked the market.

He said, “I had never been to the market before until that day. My friend and I were planning to go to a prayer vigil in Nyanya when we decided to buy some roasted fish.

“As we were waiting, Austin’s phone rang, so he moved a few metres to pick the call, not long after, a loud blast rocked the market. There was pandemonium as people ran helter-skelter. I ran and I saw a little girl, about six years old. I carried her in my arms, but as I was running, I began to feel heavy and dizzy, so I put her near a shop.”

Oseghale stated that as he emerged from the gate, he saw a man who asked if he could take him to the hospital, but he said no, while the man insisted that he needed help. “I didn’t know that I was drenched in blood until I felt something sticky on my face. I wiped my face and saw blood on my hands. My phone rang, but I was just rambling when I picked the call, so the man took the phone from me and spoke to the caller who turned out to be Austin. He joined us and I was taken to the hospital; I was the first victim to be admitted around 7:30pm.”

The Mass Communication graduate was lucky to escape with lacerations on the cheek, cuts in the right thigh and other superficial cuts. His friend suffered no injuries as he managed to escape the deadly blasts that claimed 11 lives.

He said he still feels ill and could not sleep at night except in the day time. “Am still scared of a recurrence, but I am grateful that I suffered slight injuries though I was close to the scene of the blast,” he said. He called on the Federal Government to compensate the victims whose lives could never be the same again in the light of the grievous injuries some of them suffered.

Posted: at 11-01-2011 12:03 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- apprehended at 29-09-2011 02:13 AM (13 years ago)
chai c person..
Posted: at 29-09-2011 02:13 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- petmanuel4loura at 25-01-2012 06:03 PM (13 years ago)
pray over it
Posted: at 25-01-2012 06:03 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- mallorca at 26-01-2012 11:16 AM (13 years ago)
God will see u tru

Posted: at 26-01-2012 11:16 AM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- queenrukky at 26-01-2012 11:19 AM (13 years ago)
sorry dear,jst pray
Posted: at 26-01-2012 11:19 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- Solidstonez at 17-07-2012 09:25 AM (12 years ago)
PASSING

Posted: at 17-07-2012 09:25 AM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- chicco77 at 12-09-2012 12:58 PM (12 years ago)
 Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 12-09-2012 12:58 PM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero