VID: “Grammy Uses Nigerian Stars To Attract Africans To The Event” – GehGeh Alleges

Date: 04-02-2025 9:06 am (3 months ago) | Author: onuigbo felicia
- at 4-02-2025 09:06 AM (3 months ago)

Self-styled financial adviser GehGeh has sparked reactions with his claim that the Grammy Awards exploit Nigerian artists like Davido and Wizkid to boost African viewership rather than honour their achievements.

Following Davido’s loss at the 67th Grammy Awards, GehGeh argued in an Instagram video that the organisers strategically nominate major Nigerian acts to generate interest in the event but rarely reward them with wins.

He suggested that the Grammy is typically awarded to those who are indifferent to it, while artists who genuinely seek the recognition are consistently overlooked.

He also asserted that the nominations of Davido and Wizkid are mainly used to draw in Nigerian and African audiences to the event.

Drawing a comparison to other international artists, he pointed to Drake’s choice to stop submitting his music and questioned why Chris Brown was included in the Afrobeat category.

He partly said, “If you check the history of the Grammy, na people wey no really care about the award dey win. Once they know you are really obsessed with it, you go cry tire, you no go see am.

“Grammy is using Davido to market the award to Nigerians and Africans. They know Davido and Wizkid are a big force in the music industry, and their nominations make Nigerians anticipate the event. Why do you think Drake stopped submitting his songs? Why would they put Chris Brown in the Afrobeat category? To market the award to Africans.”

GehGeh also connected this pattern to other global stars, such as Nicki Minaj, suggesting that she has been used in a similar way to generate interest in the awards without securing a win.

Watch him speak below…
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NatYGUaaUNU?feature=share" target="_blank" class="aeva_link bbc_link new_win" rel="nofollow">http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NatYGUaaUNU?feature=share</a>

Posted: at 4-02-2025 09:06 AM (3 months ago) | Addicted Hero
- fineboy77 at 4-02-2025 09:13 AM (3 months ago)
True though

Posted: at 4-02-2025 09:13 AM (3 months ago) | Addicted Hero
- gogoman at 4-02-2025 09:50 AM (3 months ago)
how is it their fault? you all thirsty for the grammy like ya momma Bosom  milk  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 4-02-2025 09:50 AM (3 months ago) | Grande Master
- Dopybadass at 4-02-2025 09:59 AM (3 months ago)
 Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 4-02-2025 09:59 AM (3 months ago) | Hero
- kp45 at 4-02-2025 03:05 PM (3 months ago)
So you guys said the last time.
Posted: at 4-02-2025 03:05 PM (3 months ago) | Addicted Hero