Residents flee as soldiers, police invade Okene

Date: 10-08-2012 7:03 am (11 years ago) | Author: Steph.
- at 10-08-2012 07:03 AM (11 years ago)

Human and vehicular movements were light in Okene, Kogi State on Thursday as an uneasy calm pervaded the town where gunmen killed 19 worshippers at the Deeper Life Bible Church at the Eikha-Adagu area on Monday.

The Commissioner of Police in Kogi, Mr Mohammed Katsina, said on Wednesday that four persons had been arrested in connection with the killings.

Travellers, who normally spent some 30 or more minutes to navigate the traffic in the town, spent only about five minutes on Thursday.

Soldiers and policemen mounted two checkpoints where they searched vehicles and their passengers.

They also conducted a house-to-house search for weapons allegedly stolen from two soldiers who were killed in a separate attack by gunmen on Tuesday. Two civilians also died in the incident.

The News Agency of Nigeria reports that the action of the security agents caught residents unawares and some started fleeing to neighbouring towns in Edo, Ondo and Ekiti states.

The Kogi Police Public Relations Officer, Mr. Simon Ile, told NAN that policemen were sent to Okene for what he called a “mop up” exercise.

He said the security agents would sustain the operation until all the culprits behind the killings were apprehended and the arms stolen from the dead soldiers were recovered.

Posted: at 10-08-2012 07:03 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- BendelArmedRobb at 10-08-2012 11:12 AM (11 years ago)
ALTHOUGHT WE HAD NO MONEY ..I AM RICH AS I COULD BE IN MY COAT OF MANY COLORS MY MAMA MADE FOR ME ,AND WHAT YOU HAVE IS BETTER THAN WHAT YOU HAVEN'TGOT.EVERY BODY IS BEAUTIFUL IN THE EYE OF THE ALMIGHT JAH ,IN THE BEGINNING GOD CREATED HEAVEN AND EARTH .AND HE GIVE US POWER TO BE LOVE ONE AND OTHERS...GENESIS CHAPTER 1,PARISE GOD FOR CREATION AND WE SHALL FIND PEACE ,,ALL I WANT TO FEEL IS COMFORTABLE AND REAL YES AND A LOVE FROM ABOVE ETERNALLY FOR US,,,BEAUTY ,SILVER,GOLD ,MATERIALS THINGS SHALL RISE AND FALL,EVEN THE WORLD WILL PASS AWAY BUT RIGHTEOUSNESS SHALL LIVE FROEVER ,,,DON'T LET THEM FOOL YOU,,THERE IS NOTHING BETTER THAN LOVE AND RESPECT .... Naija una too much oo  coffee wey I dey drink for hia comot for my nose as I read this.
Posted: at 10-08-2012 11:12 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- chicco77 at 24-08-2012 06:02 PM (11 years ago)
 Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 24-08-2012 06:02 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero