Lagos To Ban Smoking In Public

Date: 18-09-2012 7:20 pm (11 years ago) | Author: franel
- at 18-09-2012 07:20 PM (11 years ago)
«§» 18 September 2012

In line with efforts by the international community to clampdown on smoking, the Lagos state government has announced plans to ban smoking in public places in the state.

The state’s Attorney General and Commissioner for Justice, Mr. Ade Ipaye, made this known on Monday when he stated that “the provisions of the new traffic laws had prohibited people from drinking or smoking while driving in the state.”

He hinted that the ban on smoking will be an extension of the state’s traffic law which already forbids drivers to drink.

According to Mr Ipaye, “it is an offence to smoke while driving, smoking is totally prohibited for drivers; obviously it is not just for safety reasons it is also for health reasons because we are moving towards banning smoking in all public places.

“It is an offence to drive drunk; if you’ve been taking drugs, this law provides for blood test to determine whether you have ingested drugs which are inconsistent with your ability to drive.”

“So, this law makes it an offence to drive without a driver’s license, without proper plate numbers. It is an offence to use the phone while you are driving except you have hands-free set so you don’t need to put the set to your ear.’’

Ipaye said the government decided to “criminalise” traffic offences and sanction offenders, as part of the strategy to bring the chaotic traffic situation within the metropolis under control.

“We are keeping the roads in good repairs, but still, we have problems, and that problem is made worse by commercial motorcycles, by cart pushers, by even people rearing cattle” he said.

“There seem all of a sudden to be no rules; people just disobey the traffic lights.”

SMOKERS WILL SURELY DISLIKE THIS NEW LAW, BUT WHAT ARE YOUR THOUGHTS ON THIS?

Posted: at 18-09-2012 07:20 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- winace at 18-09-2012 07:39 PM (11 years ago)
If u have to stop drivers from drinking and smoking, then govt have to do some abt those women selling paraga in bus stop, garage and parks.
Posted: at 18-09-2012 07:39 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Unikpearl at 18-09-2012 11:55 PM (11 years ago)
Posted: at 18-09-2012 11:55 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dlimelite at 19-09-2012 12:01 AM (11 years ago)
Posted: at 19-09-2012 12:01 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- I_montee at 19-09-2012 02:48 AM (11 years ago)
WAT ABOUT THE SO CALLED LAWMAKERS BANNING US FROM DRIVING ON BAD ROADS:
Posted: at 19-09-2012 02:48 AM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- jamesbondchick at 19-09-2012 03:00 AM (11 years ago)
Let's c how it goes

Posted: at 19-09-2012 03:00 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- aso4life1 at 19-09-2012 03:39 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: winace on 18-09-2012 07:39 PM
If u have to stop drivers from drinking and smoking, then govt have to do some abt those women selling paraga in bus stop, garage and parks.
Yes, that is the fact, PARAGA, OGOGORO selling in the packs should also be ban cos they seems to be taking that than the said cigarete.
SOME DRIVERS GO ENTER BUS LIKE THIS, DEM EYES GO TINY LIKE CHINKO EYES...MENNNNN.... DEM BODY GO DEY SMELL IGBO AS IF IGBO NA IM PERFUME,  I FEAR FOR NAIJA PASSENGERS.

Posted: at 19-09-2012 03:39 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- aso4life1 at 19-09-2012 03:40 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: I_montee on 19-09-2012 02:48 AM
WAT ABOUT THE SO CALLED LAWMAKERS BANNING US FROM DRIVING ON BAD ROADS:
We also waiting for that law...it will be the best.

Posted: at 19-09-2012 03:40 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- neloceleb at 19-09-2012 05:37 AM (11 years ago)
We will sooon b asked to stop talkin on d road
Posted: at 19-09-2012 05:37 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- Boss347 at 19-09-2012 05:43 AM (11 years ago)
Da furk is this? You mean I can't smoke while diving in naija? Dayuum! Well talking of public places, I support that. But inside my own motor again? Shu watin?

Posted: at 19-09-2012 05:43 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- proly at 19-09-2012 05:58 AM (11 years ago)
Gud
Posted: at 19-09-2012 05:58 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- harunakoni at 19-09-2012 06:36 AM (11 years ago)
Keep up d good work fashola.
Posted: at 19-09-2012 06:36 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- mickky21 at 19-09-2012 07:30 AM (11 years ago)
i think it shld only apply to public vehicles.......as long nobody in endangered.
Posted: at 19-09-2012 07:30 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- Oluwashemiloore at 19-09-2012 09:53 AM (11 years ago)
Let Tinubu and his cohorts stops smoking then they will have all authority to ban smoking. Though I love the ban, cos i hate smokers
Posted: at 19-09-2012 09:53 AM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- ajanni at 19-09-2012 10:43 AM (11 years ago)
very good so
Posted: at 19-09-2012 10:43 AM (11 years ago) | Grande Master
- dizhadah at 19-09-2012 11:53 AM (11 years ago)
 Cool
Posted: at 19-09-2012 11:53 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Neglito at 19-09-2012 02:47 PM (11 years ago)
Rubbish, I am not a smoker but you can't stop one from smoking inside his own vehicle if he/she so desire.
Posted: at 19-09-2012 02:47 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Neglito at 19-09-2012 02:52 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: ajanni on 19-09-2012 10:43 AM
very good so

Who asked you to comment on this topic? go and smoke gold leaf that's what your people smoke.  Dan doko!
Posted: at 19-09-2012 02:52 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- simele at 19-09-2012 02:59 PM (11 years ago)
na so the talk for abuja people are still smoking in public
Posted: at 19-09-2012 02:59 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- cadanre at 19-09-2012 03:09 PM (11 years ago)
Another abracadabra.

Posted: at 19-09-2012 03:09 PM (11 years ago) | Hero