Sunday Oliseh Gets FIFA Appointment [Photo]

Date: 16-03-2013 5:30 pm (11 years ago) | Author: franel
- at 16-03-2013 05:30 PM (11 years ago)
«§» 16 March 2013

Former Nigerian footballer and coach, Sunday Ogorchukwu Oliseh has been appointed as a member of the world’s Football governing body, F.I.F.A’s, Technical Study Group, amongst other functions.

According to a statement posted on his website, “It is with great honour that I share with you my appointment by the world’s Football governing body F.I.F.A as a member of its Technical Study Group amongst other functions.”

“I am flattered to be a part of this football family and I believe that this is a blessed period not only for me personally but for my beloved Nation, Nigeria!”

The 38-year-old player was physical, technical central midfielder in his active years. He played for well known clubs such as AFC Ajax, Borussia Dortmund and Juventus F.C..

Oliseh played 63 international matches and scored four goals for Nigeria, and played at the Football World Cups of 1994 and 1998. Oliseh also participated in the Olympic gold medal winning team of 1996.

He is mostly remembered for scoring the winning goal in the group stage match against Spain in the 1998 World Cup, as Nigeria prevailed 3–2. A throw-in deep in the Spanish half was headed clear by a defender – Oliseh ran and fired an explosive shot from 25 yards, and took Spanish goalkeeper Andoni Zubizarreta completely by surprise. Despite captaining Nigeria during the 2002 African Cup of Nations, Oliseh was omitted from his country’s World Cup squad later that year for disciplinary reasons. After missing out on World Cup selection, Oliseh retired from international football in June 2002.

In March 2004, Oliseh was sacked by Borussia Dortmund after punching team-mate Vahid Hashemian while on loan at VfL Bochum.

In January 2006, at the age of 31, Oliseh retired from professional football after playing a half season for Belgian top club K.R.C. Genk.

Posted: at 16-03-2013 05:30 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- Starship at 16-03-2013 06:03 PM (11 years ago)
Na u spoil ur career na... No blame satan,,, congrats at ur new appointment though nd goodluck...
Posted: at 16-03-2013 06:03 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- Lateef67 at 16-03-2013 07:00 PM (11 years ago)
Good1 4us in naija
Posted: at 16-03-2013 07:00 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- nzewyte at 16-03-2013 07:52 PM (11 years ago)
Gud 1 bro...... Keep d fire burning!

Posted: at 16-03-2013 07:52 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- papadip at 17-03-2013 12:34 AM (11 years ago)
I congratulate him sincerely….
Posted: at 17-03-2013 12:34 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- papadip at 17-03-2013 12:35 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: Starship on 16-03-2013 06:03 PM
Na u spoil ur career na... No blame satan,,, congrats at ur new appointment though nd goodluck...

He did not ruin his career but had a good one.  Don’t play a bitter note now.
… He did very well for his country.
Posted: at 17-03-2013 12:35 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac