Pastor John Akuma of God’s Elect Penticostal Church, Aguda, Lagos, has been arraigned before the Surulere Magistrate’s Court for allegedly duping members of his church of millions of naira under false pretence of taking them abroad on a missionary journey.
The cleric told some members of his church that he had a divine call to preach outside Nigeria and offered to take some members of the church overseas.
He allegedly told those willing to go to pay N430,000, each for travel documents and provision of job abroad.
P.M.NEWS gathered that more than 10 members of the church paid the money before the pastor disappeared.
Efforts to locate his whereabouts proved abortive, until luck ran against him when he was spotted by one of his victims, Ejike Paul, on Ishaga Street, Surulere.
Paul invited the police and the accused was arrested and charged to court for fraud and stealing.
One of the charges against him reads: “That you, John Akuma, 33, at Ishaga Street, Surulere, Lagos, did obtain N430,000 from Ejike Paul on the pretence of helping him to secure travel documents and ticket.
The offence is punishable under sections 516, 419 and 390 of the Criminal Code, Cap. 17, Vol. 2, Laws of Lagos State of Nigeria, 2003.
He pleaded not guilty to the charge and the magistrate, Mrs. A. O. Adegite, granted him bail in the sum of N50,000 with two sureties.
The sureties, the court ruled, must show evidence of payment of tax and their addresses must be verified.
The matter has been adjourned till 18, January, 2010 for trial
I specialize in investigative reportage across several subject matter and sectors but mainly focus on metro events and investigation. Do leave your thoughts and opinion on my reports to let me know what you think about them. Thank you
Posted: at 14-01-2010 11:48 PM (15 years ago) | Addicted Hero
fateewase at 18-04-2012 12:46 PM (13 years ago) (f)
Pastor John Akuma..ibo thief plus pastor,no be today dem dey do am,if they no rape church member,dem go bath woman naked inside gutter,if dem no extort money in form of offering for church dem go get 72virgins wey dey fan them as they sleep,very sick religion with pathetic followers. The useless dogs for np go soon come write for here say this story na fake. God punish all muslim haters. If my words hurt u so bad go an soak garri with acid and drink it fast
Posted: at 18-04-2012 12:46 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
Pastor John Akuma..ibo thief plus pastor,no be today dem dey do am,if they no rape church member,dem go bath woman naked inside gutter,if dem no extort money in form of offering for church dem go get 72virgins wey dey fan them as they sleep,very sick religion with pathetic followers. The useless dogs for np go soon come write for here say this story na fake. God punish all muslim haters. If my words hurt u so bad go an soak garri with acid and drink it fast
palavaaaaa you dey find. Palavaaaa you go get iyooo!
I'm vantheo! And i'm...........AWESOME!!!!!
Posted: at 18-04-2012 12:59 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
i tire 4 nija pastors o.............alwayz stealing
Posted: at 18-04-2012 01:57 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
sophiebaby at 18-04-2012 02:35 PM (13 years ago) (f)
Quote from: nametalkam on 14-01-2010 11:48 PM
Pastor John Akuma of God’s Elect Penticostal Church, Aguda, Lagos, has been arraigned before the Surulere Magistrate’s Court for allegedly duping members of his church of millions of naira under false pretence of taking them abroad on a missionary journey.
The cleric told some members of his church that he had a divine call to preach outside Nigeria and offered to take some members of the church overseas.
He allegedly told those willing to go to pay N430,000, each for travel documents and provision of job abroad.
P.M.NEWS gathered that more than 10 members of the church paid the money before the pastor disappeared.
Efforts to locate his whereabouts proved abortive, until luck ran against him when he was spotted by one of his victims, Ejike Paul, on Ishaga Street, Surulere.
Paul invited the police and the accused was arrested and charged to court for fraud and stealing.
One of the charges against him reads: “That you, John Akuma, 33, at Ishaga Street, Surulere, Lagos, did obtain N430,000 from Ejike Paul on the pretence of helping him to secure travel documents and ticket.
The offence is punishable under sections 516, 419 and 390 of the Criminal Code, Cap. 17, Vol. 2, Laws of Lagos State of Nigeria, 2003.
He pleaded not guilty to the charge and the magistrate, Mrs. A. O. Adegite, granted him bail in the sum of N50,000 with two sureties.
The sureties, the court ruled, must show evidence of payment of tax and their addresses must be verified.
The matter has been adjourned till 18, January, 2010 for trial
na electrical appliances dem dey preach for dis church? i wonder how pipu go see dis kain name for sign board waka enter..puaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhh
Life is 2short to wake up in the morning with regrets. LOVE KEEPS NO RECORD OF WRONGS*SOPHIEBABY* :*
Posted: at 18-04-2012 02:35 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero