Can the north survive without the Niger-Delta oil? (Page 3)

Date: 09-08-2008 6:28 pm (15 years ago) | Author: FORTUNE A
1 2 [3] 4 5 6 ... 9
- Godsson at 6-09-2008 09:55 PM (15 years ago)
JOHNADE
Howz Ivory Coast?Hope there's complete peace there now?We dont hear much from that quarter anymore.How is the UK?I hope they aint killing U with taxes?Good to know U're a good & patriotic ambassador of Nigeria.

I've asked myself this question U just ask now.And Ur conclusion is as good as mine.HELL NO!I only brought up this topic as a response to the hypocrisy of the Northern Governors.
No matter how bad the truth is,we ve a duty as humans to face it.Any denial of the truth is a creation of a world ruled by lies.The Northern Governors should stop lying & start thinking of viable means of building strong economic bases & drastically reduce their dependence on ND Oil.
The whole of Nigeria should also start thinking of ways to diversify the Nigerian economy.It's very much disadvantageous for a country to operate a Monocultural economy like Nigeria is doing now.What if the price of oil drops to an unbearable LOW?It has happened b4.This was part of what destroyed the 2nd Republic.But I dont know why our rulers ve failed to learn from history.Those who fail to learn the lessons that history teaches are bound to repeat the mistakes of yester years.

This topic is not an attack on any section of this country.It is not an attack on the NORTH as it may appear to some.It is a call for truth.And a challenge to we the youths to think straight & not repeat the lies & mistakes of our fathers.That generation ve not only failed us,the ve destroyed our future,thereby failed the generation of our own children.You cannot give ur child what U do not ve.There most be something wrong with our fathers' generation

As I stated in one of my unpublished works"According to Segun Adediran, in the early days of Obasanjo years as President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, “about N2bn was committed to solid minerals deposit survey in the country. It was discovered that except oil and gas, at least 34 minerals remain untapped”. This is January 2008 and they are still there, untapped. What kind of people will be stupendously blessed with at least  36 different resources, shared almost evenly by nature throughout their country, and still be envelop in a fierce and bloody duels over just two of them-oil and gas? In my mind, the answer is lunatics"*

Although,I wrote those words sometime back,they still capture the realities of today.I want the economy to get better.How,good intentions alone is not enough to achieve great success.You & I've good plans for our country,but we lack the necessary instrument to bring the Nigeria of our dreams to a reality.This is the problem.So anytime we meet in fora like this,we must,as a matter of duty to our country,speak the truth.No matter who it pains.I am not against any part of Nigeria.But we must wake up & face the true state of affairs in this country.
JOHNADE,like U,I am praying.But U & I know that we must do more than that.Thanks.Takia.Cheers!
Posted: at 6-09-2008 09:55 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- johnade at 6-09-2008 11:17 PM (15 years ago)
hello Godsson,

the economy in UK is not better, electric bill and gas are every high, most of the youth in UK live on grants we can say about 65% live on benefit, unemployment, my brother 33% of salary for tax which is then spent on wars, high inflation. They even beg their children to go to school for every student that enrol in college or university is given a grant of about £2500, and a week allowance of £30 for deciding to go to college. we have a lot of intelligent youths in Nigeria, if Nigeria can develop human resources may it help the situation.

Come to think of it Nigeria, as other resource they can explore, Uranium, Gold, diamond, etc. I read in the newspaper that the price of crude oil dropped. if the developed countries should find alternative for crude oil what will happen.......

I think the problem of Nigeria leaders are the type of adviser they choose, How come we have the same set of people in power in the last 40years as leaders. civilian stil rules like military

Posted: at 6-09-2008 11:17 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- johnade at 6-09-2008 11:34 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: johnade on  6-09-2008 11:17 PM
hello Godsson,

the economy in UK is not better, electric bill and gas are every high, most of the youth in UK live on grants we can say about 65% live on benefit, unemployment, my brother 33% of salary for tax which is then spent on wars, high inflation. They even beg their children to go to school for every student that enrol in college or university is given a grant of about £2500, and a week allowance of £30 for deciding to go to college. we have a lot of intelligent youths in Nigeria, if Nigeria can develop human resources maybe it will help the situation.

Come to think of it Nigeria, as other resource they can explore, Uranium, Gold, diamond, etc. I read in the newspaper that the price of crude oil dropped. if the developed countries should find alternative for crude oil what will happen.......

I think the problem of Nigeria leaders are the type of adviser they choose, How come we have the same set of people in power in the last 40years as leaders. civilian stil rules like military

Posted: at 6-09-2008 11:34 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- Godsson at 7-09-2008 12:12 AM (15 years ago)
JOHNADE MY BROTHER!
And I was thinking of coming over in January?Damn!I guess these allowances is for their citizens exclusively?

As for Nigeria's problems,I dont blame advisers that much.They question we should ask ourselves is:"Do this rulers listen to advice?"Can OBJ the Professor Omniscience listen to anybody?I just dont seem to know the future of this country.But I fear,it's not a good one.Let me talk like a real Nigerian.ONLY GOD CAN HELP US.lol
Posted: at 7-09-2008 12:12 AM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- khadijah at 7-09-2008 12:19 AM (15 years ago)
sometimes i even think he wants us to be like this cause it gets only worse..
Posted: at 7-09-2008 12:19 AM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- johnade at 7-09-2008 09:13 AM (15 years ago)
But if u receive salary less than £3500 a year is not taxable, but any above £3500, 25% tax off
Posted: at 7-09-2008 09:13 AM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- Godsson at 7-09-2008 01:19 PM (15 years ago)
But 3500 GBP a year is poverty now!How do they expect anyone to live that way?The world is bad everywhere.
Posted: at 7-09-2008 01:19 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- johnade at 7-09-2008 02:28 PM (15 years ago)
yes, they exploit foreigners alot, "housing" a room which u share kitchen, bathroom is about £350 per month or more. to tell u the truth their transportation is great. If u r coming as a student u only have 20hrs a week to work, and 40hrs per week during vacation, u need NI national insurance to work. visitor visa difficult to get a job mostly cleaning jobs. but there is value for d money spent.
Posted: at 7-09-2008 02:28 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- Godsson at 7-09-2008 04:30 PM (15 years ago)
That's good.I am coming as a student.So one can get a more dignified job with a B.Sc?I am not against cleaning,just want to know if Africans like me can get a better deal in a society where there own kids hate school.
Thanks for the low down so far.May God help us to see the days when we wont ve to leave our fathers' land to get quality education.
Posted: at 7-09-2008 04:30 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- walerian at 8-09-2008 12:15 PM (15 years ago)
dont spend too much on ur addmission in the u.k cos u still might not be granted visa my dear. remember, not all pay is refundable.
Posted: at 8-09-2008 12:15 PM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Godsson at 8-09-2008 10:14 PM (15 years ago)
WALLERIAN
Thanks.
Posted: at 8-09-2008 10:14 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- daramson at 10-09-2008 07:21 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: shamsuddeen on 27-08-2008 11:21 AM
WHAT I HAVE DISCOVERED OVER THE YEARS IS THAT OIL IN PARTICULAR IS A CURSE! LOOK AROUND THE WORLD AND YOU WILL FIND THAT MOST DEVELOPED NATIONS WERE'NT OIL PRODUCING NATIONS. JAPAN, US, UK, RUSSIA, GERMANY... YOU NAME THE REST. BUT WAIT A MINUTE, WHAT IS THE FATH OF THOSE ARAB OIL GIANTS? WAR, LAZINESS, FEAR, MONARCHY, ETC. OR BETTER STILL, WHAT CAN THEY ACTUALLY OFFER THE WORLD? OIL...IN IT CRUDE FORM I GUESS. VERTUALLY NOTHING, NOT EVEN REFINING TECHNOLOGY. FOR YOUR INFORMATION, ADVANCED COUNTRIES OF THE WORLD ARE MORE FOCUSED ON DEVELOPING THEIR HUMAN RESOURCE AND NOT OIL, AS IT IS THE ONLY SUSTAINABLE MEANS OF DEVELOPMENT. ONLY LAZY PEOPLE THINK ABOUT MAKING MONEY FROM RESOURCES, WHICH OFCOURSE IT IS BY COINCIDENCE THAT THEY HAPPEN TO BE THERE, IT COULD HAVE BEEN THE NORTHERNERS IN THE NIGER DELTA.

MY FRIEND, IF YOU THINK NIGERIAN MASSES AS A WHOLE (NOT TALKING ABOUT THE NORTH FOR NOW) ARE SURVIVING ON OIL, THEN THINK AGAIN. GO AROUND THE VILLAGES AND TELL ME ANY SIGN OF OIL DOLLARS. FOR YOUR INFORMATION, MOST NATIONS WITHOUT OIL ARE DOING BETTER THAN THEIR OIL PRODUCING COUNTER-PARTS.

AGAIN, IF THE NIGER DELTA PEOPLE WHERE TO BE LEFT TO CONTROL THEIR OIL???, THEN THEY WOULD HAVE SEEN THE END OF PEACE, COS EVERY VILLAGE AND HELMET WOULD WANT TO CONTROL THEIR SO-CALLED OIL. INFACT NIGER DELTA WILL DIS-INTEGRATE INTO SEVERAL AUTONOMOUS COUNTRIES...GOD FORBID.

LASTLY, AS A NORTHERNER, I WOULD LIKE TO SINCERELY ADVISE THE NIGER DELTA PEOPLE TO EXPLORE THE OPTION OF HUMAN RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT IN THE AREA OF SCIENCE, TECHNOLOGY, AGRICULTURE AS A VERITABLE MEANS OF LIBERATING THEMSELVES FROM THEIR PREDICAMENT AND EQUALLY FOCUSE ON MORAL RE-ORIENTATION OF THEIR YOUNG ONES SO THAT THEY DON'T GROW UP IN THE LIGHT OF PEOPLE LIKE ODILI, DSP ALA AND ALL THOSE NIGER DELTA GOVERNORS THAT HAVE STOLEN THEIR STATE ALLOCATIONS AND DEPOSITED IN FOREIGN ACCOUNTS, LIVING THEIR PEOPLE WITH GUNS, POVERTY AND ENVIRONMENTAL DEGRADATION. AS FOR WE THE NORTHERNERS, OUR GRAND FATHERS LIVED BETTER AND IN A MORE PEACEFUL NORTH WITHOUT OIL THAN WE ARE LIVING NOW WITH OIL. IT WILL BE OUR PLEASURE TO RE-EXPERIENCE THE PAST. ATLEAST WE HAVE PLENTY FOOD TO EAT AND LAND TO BUILD HOUSES AND FARM. BESIDES WE HAVE PLENTY OF RESOURCES THAT WE COULD DEVELOP AND MAKE TWICE AS MUCH AS NIGERIA IS MAKING FROM OIL! WHO SAYS THERE IS NO OIL AND GAS IN THE NORTH??? ONLY TIME SHALL TELL.

THE NIGER DELTA PEOPLE SHOULD TAKE IT EASY, OIL IS NOT EVERYTING AND NOT HAVING IS NOT THE END OF HOPE. A WORD IS ENOUGH FOR THE WISE!

SHAMSUDDEEN MAHMOUD
[email protected]

man i love ur write up
but then let me tell u somthing about one of ur point
its about ur claim tht ''oil is a curse' with u giving the ARAB OIL GIANTS as an example,
should i tell u tht the north and the arabs r having the same problem?
yea they r coz of their system of leadership.
imagine tht the north has produce most of our rulers and yet they remains the poorest zone
but u will notice tht they ve much rich men than other zones, likewise the kings in saudi arabia who control the oil whealth there therby enriching thelmeselves.
while the westhern countries who does not ve oil and still make progress are fully democratic with visional leaders
the northen leaders only know about their pocket and with them we seems not to go anywhere in this country.
well when we say they cant survive without all money, we are not saying  they will all die,
take for instance in those days when we pratice confedralism in nigeria take a look @ what the south-westhern poeple were able to achive through their farming then.
THE FIRST TELEVISION STATION IN AFRICA, LOCATED @ IBADAN,
THE FIRST UNIVERSITY IN NIGERIA,UNIVERSITY OF IBADAN,
FIRST SKY SCRAPER IN WEST AFRICA.COCOA HOUSE.
(UNIVERSITY COLLEGE HOSPITAL, IBADAN WAS AWARDED THE FOUTH BEST HOSPITAL IN THE WORLD THEN)
THEY WERE ABLE TO PRATICE FREE EDUCATION THEN, AND EMERGE AS THE FIRST ZONE TO DO THT IN AFRICA
SO WHEN U TALK OF AGRICULTURE NOW, R THEY NOT PRATICING AGRICUTURE THEN?
WHAT DO THEY ACHIEVE WITH IT?
SO I THINK THIS IS THE REASON WHY D NIGER/DELTANS SEE D NORTHS AND PARASITES AND THT THEY WILL ACHIVE A LOT WITH THIER OIL WHEALTH IF THEY CAN SET THEM FREE
BUT NEVERTHELESS I SUPPORT THT STATEMENT(NORTH IS A PARASITE) FOR ONE REASON IT WILL MAKE THEM TO SIT TIGHT AND MAKE SOME POSITIVE IMPACT
BUT MY FRIEND I MUST CONFESS TO U THT THE FIRST PROBLEM OF NORTH IS LACK OF EDUCATION
Posted: at 10-09-2008 07:21 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- Godsson at 16-09-2008 11:40 PM (15 years ago)
THE FIRST TELEVISION STATION IN AFRICA, LOCATED @ IBADAN,
THE FIRST UNIVERSITY IN NIGERIA,UNIVERSITY OF IBADAN,
FIRST SKY SCRAPER IN WEST AFRICA.COCOA HOUSE.
(UNIVERSITY COLLEGE HOSPITAL, IBADAN WAS AWARDED THE FOUTH BEST HOSPITAL IN THE WORLD THEN)
THEY WERE ABLE TO PRATICE FREE EDUCATION THEN, AND EMERGE AS THE FIRST ZONE TO DO THT IN AFRICA
SO WHEN U TALK OF AGRICULTURE NOW, R THEY NOT PRATICING AGRICUTURE THEN?
WHAT DO THEY ACHIEVE WITH IT?
SO I THINK THIS IS THE REASON WHY D NIGER/DELTANS SEE D NORTHS AND PARASITES AND THT THEY WILL ACHIVE A LOT WITH THIER OIL WHEALTH IF THEY CAN SET THEM FREE
BUT NEVERTHELESS I SUPPORT THT STATEMENT(NORTH IS A PARASITE) FOR ONE REASON IT WILL MAKE THEM TO SIT TIGHT AND MAKE SOME POSITIVE IMPACT
BUT MY FRIEND I MUST CONFESS TO U THT THE FIRST PROBLEM OF NORTH IS LACK OF EDUCATION

I go with U to an extent.
Posted: at 16-09-2008 11:40 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- TheTruth at 30-09-2008 12:08 AM (15 years ago)
Quote from: Godsson on  3-09-2008 09:57 PM
It's always hilarious to me when people talk about reverting Nigeria to an agrarian economy.It strikes me as mastery of ignorance.Although,for the sake of internal food security,I am not against people engaging in agricultural activities.But I see any talk of making agriculture the mainstay of our economy as backward,retrogressive,naive,myopic & out of sync with contemporary existential realities of International political economy.Anybody who knows the price of primary goods or products in the international market will not say this.When other states are talking about shifting their focus from 'mere' manufacturing (a stage we ve not yet gotten to)to service provision,someone is here talking about a primary economy.
Agriculture in Development Studies or Development Economics,falls under what we call traditional economy.This is the lowest stage of economic development.This was the stage Europe & America was before the Industrial Revolution.This was the stage that caused slave-trade.We are talking about a time before the 18th century.Pls,U should take classes on Economic History.

Now,let's talk about the North and agriculture,assuming that I accept ur argument.What are the implements U hope to use?Pls dont tell me U want to continue the practice of using OIL MONEYS to buy fertilizers that some emirs & Local officials will steal & sell,cus it wont work.The recent Fertilizer scandal is still fresh in every in every informed mind.Or do U intend to buy tractors and other equipment on credit?

Let's also assume all of these huddles ve been successfully crossed,how many months will u take to reap ur harvest?And while waiting for harvest,what ll u be leaving on?I just dont know why people come up with things like this.

Now,in fairness to the North,there are many solid minerals in the North.All the 19 States in Northern Nigeria are blessed with one Solid Mineral or the other.They ve Gold,Copper,Bitumen,Iron ore,Zinc,Limestone,Granite,Tin etc.However,they ve wickedly left all these & more to concentrate on Niger Delta Oil.They want to suck the Niger Delta people dry before they ll start exploring and exploiting their own Natural resources.They want to make sure there is nothing left for the Niger Delta people.They want to make sure future generations of Niger Deltans become their slaves.As harsh as my analysis is,U all know it's the gospel truth.Let me not detain U any further,I'll rest my case now.

In conclusion,until the North start to tap its own many untouched resources,it cant not live without Niger Delta Oil.Until WE NORTHERNERS decide to stop our parasitic mannerism & look inwardly to provide our needs,OUR leaders should SHUT UP!Their salaries & all the moneys they steal everyday come from the Niger Delta.

Posted: at 30-09-2008 12:08 AM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- Cleverman at 6-10-2008 03:17 PM (15 years ago)
 I'm a bloody notherner but honestly north can not survive for good three month without revenues from oil. The main stay of the region's economy which is farming has been relegated to the background. Most annoying is the attitude of nothern governors to agricultural development of the region. Just take a look at  the percentage given to agriculture by the 19 nothern governors in their budgets and that will open your eyes on why north can not survive without revenues from oil. I'm not a tribalist or a regionalist, i think it's high time we should come together as Nigerians not notherner or southerner and cooperate with one another on issues that will move our country forward. The question of wether north can survive without N/Delta oil does not even arise. Which one of the regions including ss that can survive without oil money? The oil money has done more harm than good to us as a nation. Come to think of it; With all the billions coming from the oil revenues where are we today? are we better off?
Our own generation must break our selve from the politicks of regionalism and tribalism. Our parents who are the present leaders of this country are nothing but tribal and regional champions. They've instituted curruption in to the system of governance and have mismanaged the resources of this country in the name of tribalism and regionalism. I don't want to follow their foot step neither do you. I always maintained that if we don't want our children to curse us just like we are cursing our present leaders, we must do everything possible to change the present situation. If we don't, We'll suffer and our children will also suffer. Time to act is now. Visit my blog to find out about 100 ways to make Nigeria a better place for all of us.
Posted: at 6-10-2008 03:17 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- prince1973 at 7-10-2008 08:32 AM (15 years ago)
No country in the world can survive now without oil.Even here in AMERICA with everything in thier possession,they can not do without it,with the advent of ELECTRONIC car and how many household in YANKEE has an access to it ---NO.
    By this , we are talking of 40 to 50 years to come ,may be 10 percentage of the world with electronic cars, also we should ask DANGOTE,DANTATA and the rests on why they block the upgrading of RAILS SYSTEM in NIGERIA due to heavy investment in LONG BEDS (TRAILERS).
Posted: at 7-10-2008 08:32 AM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- Cleverman at 7-10-2008 01:10 PM (15 years ago)
2 godson or devilson (whichever applicable)

After diagnosing your problem, i discovered that you are suffering from notherphobia. I advise you to go and study history before coming to a very respected forum like naija pals blabbering rubbish. No part of Nigeria is a parasite. All the component units that make up the present nigeria are interdependent on one another. The fact that large chunk of the the nation's revenue comes from oil does not make N/Delta region more important than the other regions. After all the oil blocks are natural gift from God and you can not tell me if the oil blocks were made and deposited in the region by legendary king JaJa of Opobo or Nana of Itshekiri. Let's try to promote issues that'll foster unity and understanding between us not issues that'll further divide us and create suspicion and hatred between us.

Posted: at 7-10-2008 01:10 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- TheTruth at 8-10-2008 12:29 AM (15 years ago)
RE: Stupidman,oh sorry claverman.
I loved your first post.However,you spoilt everything by attacking someone beyond your league.Why?Why are you trying to encure the wrath of Godsson?Is it because you know that he wont stoop to your level to reply you?

And who told you the the North is North a parasite?Also,what gave you the sick impression that Gidsson is Arewaphobic & you are a champion & defender of the north?Stop showing your dry far to say nonsense.And who told you you are a youth?You are an oldman that smokes Goldleave or captain black.

You have the guts to say "The fact that large chunk of the the nation's revenue comes from oil does not make N/Delta region more important than the other regions. After all the oil blocks are natural gift from God and you can not tell me if the oil blocks were made and deposited in the region by legendary king JaJa of Opobo or Nana of Itshekiri"

Daiska! Wana daiska dubu dari! wana nama gangariha.

That's the most stupid thing I have seen here so far.

I wont waste my time on you anymore.I only commented on your foolery because I think,it's my duty to defend all the reasonable people from attacks from fools like you.As long as scums like you continue to attack different wise men in here,I will continue to put you in your play.

Mallam! Stay your lane.
Posted: at 8-10-2008 12:29 AM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- Cleverman at 8-10-2008 12:25 PM (15 years ago)
thank u. I've now seen ur true colour. militant, kidnapper, oil bunkerer, mother phyuker, son of a bitch.
Posted: at 8-10-2008 12:25 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- Godsson at 11-10-2008 01:39 PM (15 years ago)
CLEVERMAN
What's the matter?Why ve U decided to turn my discuss to a battle ground?Please,dont do that.It's not a wise or clever thing to do.

Nagode.Sai da sa fei!
Posted: at 11-10-2008 01:39 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
1 2 [3] 4 5 6 ... 9