There's a lot to unpack here assuming that the bride is being completely honest.
1 First of all the tailor is wrong for giving away an outfit that she sewed and received payment for, that's a fact.
2. Second of all, the bride is unwise for waiting until the last minute to receive the clothes. Why would anyone seriously wait until 3 days before the wedding to pick up the outfits for changing? I would give it at least 2 weeks to account for amendment.
3. Third of all why would the bride trust waybill for something this urgent? 3 days until the wedding and she's dealing with waybill, that's not the time to deal with waybill, 3 days until your wedding is when you go to the tailor directly to fit the outfit, what if it gets sent to the wrong place? That's happened to me before.
4. Fourthly
I don't know if it's really fair to blame Mercy Aigbe because who knows if she knew the bride personally and planned to steal the dress or just saw something in the tailor's shop and the tailor lied to her.
5. Lastly, it's the day after Christmas which is the busiest time of year for a tailor, expect delays and have a contingency plan in case, she should have had the dress sewn by 15th of December to not deal with the X-Mas wahala.
This is not at all to excuse the tailor for the pain that she caused by selling the bride's dress, no. This is just reasons for why I can't put my eggs in 1 basket and I definitely don't wait until last minute during busy season, for my wedding, I have back up outfits and backup tailors should anything disappoint, I also tell the tailors a date much earlier than the actual date to account for procrastination.
Posted: at 2-01-2018 05:10 AM (7 years ago) | Newbie |