Dino Melaye Criticizes President Buhari, Says His National Assembly Statement Was Derogatory

Date: 01-06-2018 8:46 am (5 years ago) | Author: Dammy Olutayo
- at 1-06-2018 08:46 AM (5 years ago)

The lawmaker representing Kogi West Senatorial District, Senator Dino Melaye, maintained his seat at the Peoples Democratic Party section in the chamber. He relocated to the seat on Wednesday in spite of being a member of the All Progressives Congress.

Melaye also raised a point of order to describe President Muhammadu Buhari’s recent comments on the National Assembly as against his personal privilege as a member.

The President had penultimate Tuesday attacked the National Assembly members at the Presidential Villa, Abuja, while receiving members of the Buhari Support Organisation led by the Comptroller-General of the Nigeria Customs Service, Col. Hameed Ali (retd.).

Buhari had said, “Let anybody come and confront me publicly in the National Assembly. What have they been doing? Some of them have been there for 10 years. What have they been doing?”

Melaye alleged that the President’s body language towards the National Assembly was the reason why the Inspector-General of Police, Ibrahim Idris, and heads of Ministries, Departments and Agencies often refused to answer invitations by the lawmakers.

He described Buhari’s comments as derogatory and unparliamentary, asking the President to apologise to the National Assembly.

Melaye said, “As a Senator of the Federal Republic of Nigeria who came to the National Assembly in 2007 – about 11 years ago, I am particularly unhappy and my privilege was abused by President Muhammadu Buhari last week.

“Last week, the President, in the Villa, addressed the delegation of the Buhari Campaign Organisation, and this was televised on Channels TV. The President said he didn’t know what we were doing in the National Assembly. He said that some of us had been in the National Assembly for over 10 years and we had nothing to show for it.

“I felt that this statement is not only unpresidential but it is an assault on my person and the institution of the National Assembly where I am proudly a member. Such derogatory statements and insult on the National Assembly should not be allowed to go unnoticed.”

Melaye added, “One then begins not to wonder why we summoned the IG and he refused to come. We are not surprised why directors-general of parastatals and heads of agencies will refuse to honour the summons of the National Assembly. The body language and the statement of the President are already demeaning the integrity of the National Assembly.”

Posted: at 1-06-2018 08:46 AM (5 years ago) | Upcoming
- Haso112 at 1-06-2018 10:02 AM (5 years ago)
BUT DID HE LIE...? MR ELENU NLA... YEN YEN YEN...

“Last week, the President, in the Villa, addressed the delegation of the Buhari Campaign Organisation, and this was televised on Channels TV. The President said he didn’t know what we were doing in the National Assembly. He said that some of us had been in the National Assembly for over 10 years and we had nothing to show for it.''

YES..! WHAT DO YOU GUYS HAVE TO SHOW FOR IT.. TELL US...! OTHER THAN YOUR EXPENSIVE CARS, MANSIONS, STACKED MONIES HOME & ABROAD, SO MUCH MONIES YOU GUYS CAN'T EVEN FINISH SPENDING, LIVING LA VIDA LOCA WHILE PEOPLE ARE GOING CRAZY & YOU IN PARTICULAR WILL HAVE THE GUTS TO BE RUBBING IT OFF IN OUR FACES... IYA LAYA E... WHAT ARE YOU PEOPLE DOING IN THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY ACTUALLY? TELL ME..

AWON ONIRANU....
Posted: at 1-06-2018 10:02 AM (5 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- arusmu at 1-06-2018 10:41 AM (5 years ago)
Quote from: Haso112 on  1-06-2018 10:02 AM
BUT DID HE LIE...? MR ELENU NLA... YEN YEN YEN...

“Last week, the President, in the Villa, addressed the delegation of the Buhari Campaign Organisation, and this was televised on Channels TV. The President said he didn’t know what we were doing in the National Assembly. He said that some of us had been in the National Assembly for over 10 years and we had nothing to show for it.''

YES..! WHAT DO YOU GUYS HAVE TO SHOW FOR IT.. TELL US...! OTHER THAN YOUR EXPENSIVE CARS, MANSIONS, STACKED MONIES HOME & ABROAD, SO MUCH MONIES YOU GUYS CAN'T EVEN FINISH SPENDING, LIVING LA VIDA LOCA WHILE PEOPLE ARE GOING CRAZY & YOU IN PARTICULAR WILL HAVE THE GUTS TO BE RUBBING IT OFF IN OUR FACES... IYA LAYA E... WHAT ARE YOU PEOPLE DOING IN THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY ACTUALLY? TELL ME..

AWON ONIRANU....
Posted: at 1-06-2018 10:41 AM (5 years ago) | Upcoming
- cypanyahucha at 1-06-2018 12:01 PM (5 years ago)
I see
Posted: at 1-06-2018 12:01 PM (5 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Mykie010 at 1-06-2018 01:13 PM (5 years ago)
I think buhari is right this time but I still don't like him
Posted: at 1-06-2018 01:13 PM (5 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- nature7888 at 1-06-2018 01:47 PM (5 years ago)
Hmmm, serious matter
Posted: at 1-06-2018 01:47 PM (5 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- fineboy77 at 1-06-2018 02:26 PM (5 years ago)
We need more voices like his

Posted: at 1-06-2018 02:26 PM (5 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Haso112 at 1-06-2018 03:28 PM (5 years ago)
Quote from: fineboy77 on  1-06-2018 02:26 PM
We need more voices like his

MORE VOICES LIKE THIS... FOR IDIOTS AND LOW I.Q'S LIKE YOU.....!
Posted: at 1-06-2018 03:28 PM (5 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- slimber at 1-06-2018 04:11 PM (5 years ago)
Carcus
Posted: at 1-06-2018 04:11 PM (5 years ago) | Hero
- fineboy77 at 1-06-2018 06:24 PM (5 years ago)
Quote from: Haso112 on  1-06-2018 03:28 PM
MORE VOICES LIKE THIS... FOR IDIOTS AND LOW I.Q'S LIKE YOU.....!
The chimp is out !!!!

Posted: at 1-06-2018 06:24 PM (5 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Haso112 at 2-06-2018 02:53 AM (5 years ago)
Quote from: fineboy77 on  1-06-2018 06:24 PM
The chimp is out !!!!

SOUNDS LIKE A HOLLYWOOD BLOCKBUSTER... ''THE CHIMP IS OUT'' ABI NA YOUR PAPA BE CHIMP WEY HIM OFFSPRING NA FINEMONKEY..... ASIWIN.....
Posted: at 2-06-2018 02:53 AM (5 years ago) | Gistmaniac