FIFA threatens Nigeria!

Date: 04-07-2010 4:18 am (13 years ago) | Author: Isaac Sunday
- at 4-07-2010 04:18 AM (13 years ago)
The Federation of International Football Association yesterday gave Nigeria until Monday evening to reverse its decision to pull its national team, the Super Eagles out of international competition for two years or face suspension.

President Goodluck Jonathan on Wednesday approved the withdrawal of the Super Eagles from international tournaments and the dissolution of the Nigerian Football Fede-ration management board after Nigeria’s first-round exit from the South Africa 2010 World Cup. He also ordered a probe into alleged financial corruption at the federation.

FIFA’s ultimatum was given several hours before Africa’s last hope of reaching the semi-finals of the World Cup was extinguished when the Black Stars of Ghana bowed out after a spirited match against Uruguay that was determined by a penalty shoot out.
The world football governing body’s Communi-cations Director, Nicolas Maingot providing clarification in Johannesburg on the ultimatum said: "FIFA has sent a letter to the Nigerian Football Federation indicating that the government of Nigeria has until Monday at 6 p.m. to cancel its direction to withdraw Nigeria's participation from all FIFA and CAF competitions for the next two years. Failure to do so will lead to the suspension of the NFF.”Maingot also warned that FIFA would not recognise the interim body set up by the federal government to oversee the affairs of Nigerian football until a new NFF board is put in place.

However, he indicated that FIFA was still ready to dialogue with Nigeria in an effort to seek an amicable solution to the impasse.
In line with this, Maingot said Dr. Amos Adamu, a Nigerian member of the FIFA Executive Committee would be dispatched from South Africa to Abuja to see if a solution can still be worked out. "Adamu will be in Nigeria on Monday for a last mediation attempt," Maingot said.

Maingot also took pains to explain what the suspension would mean for Nigeria, saying that it covers the national team and club matches in African competitions, referees as well as the cash that flows from FIFA to national associations.
“A suspension goes beyond the suspension of the national teams. It also freezes financial help and no Nigerian referee can participate in international competition,” he said.

Reacting to the deadline, officials at the National Sports Commission in Abuja told this newspaper last night that the Nigerian government is yet to get official communication from FIFA. However, one official confirmed that Nigerian officials have been meeting with FIFA “since the day of our last match with South Korea on the need to overhaul the entire football administration in the country.”
“In our discussion with FIFA, we were quite frank about the rot in the Nigerian Football Federation and even though FIFA said that it would not support graft by any football association, it cautioned Nigeria to tread with caution and adhere to FIFA rules,” said the official.

FIFA rules protect soccer from government intervention, with power to suspend members who do not manage their affairs independently.
When suspended, national and club teams cannot play in international competitions and soccer officials are barred from attending meetings.

Nigeria was knocked out of the World Cup in South Africa last week after losing two of its first-round matches and scmolesting a 2-2 draw with South Korea.
The Super Eagles, one of a record six African teams at the tournament, finished last in Group B, while Argentina and South Korea advanced to the second round of the tournament.

FIFA secretary general Jerome Valcke had also described the Nigeria issue as “a threat to the whole set-up of international football.”Speaking on South African Radio 702 yesterday, Valcke said: "If the government of Nigeria does not back down, we will suspend Nigeria and the decision will be taken in the next 48 hours.

“We have been severe with France, why would we not be towards Nigeria? We have 208 members and if one of them goes against our constitution and the system, then the whole footballing pyramid is in danger."

Posted: at 4-07-2010 04:18 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- Freesmile at 4-07-2010 05:00 AM (13 years ago)
FIFA vs Nigeria the war is in motion! or guys what do you think?
Posted: at 4-07-2010 05:00 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- ajanni at 4-07-2010 02:38 PM (13 years ago)
i saw it comming so , i think it will not be in the best interest of the foot ball loving nation like nigeria to be at logger-head with the FIFA ,so some thing has to be done so quick right now , we can,t afford to miss the 2014 FIFA world cup so
Posted: at 4-07-2010 02:38 PM (13 years ago) | Grande Master
- ajanni at 4-07-2010 02:39 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: ajanni on  4-07-2010 02:38 PM
i saw it comming so , i think it will not be in the best interest of the foot ball loving nation like nigeria to be at logger-head with the FIFA ,so some thing has to be done so quick right now , we can,t afford to miss the 2014 FIFA world cup so
Posted: at 4-07-2010 02:39 PM (13 years ago) | Grande Master
- Freesmile at 4-07-2010 03:47 PM (13 years ago)
But seriously who the hell is FIFA! We could not secure a single 3 point in a tournament and they expect us not to probe our own system??? please bail me out guys!!!
Posted: at 4-07-2010 03:47 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- ajanni at 4-07-2010 05:44 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: Freesmile on  4-07-2010 03:47 PM
But seriously who the hell is FIFA! We could not secure a single 3 point in a tournament and they expect us not to probe our own system??? please bail me out guys!!!
if they descend so heavily on nigeria , that time for sure you will knows what its called FIFA so , noting wrong in we re-organizing our national team , but the proach we made is just very wrong and uncivilised -- period
Posted: at 4-07-2010 05:44 PM (13 years ago) | Grande Master
- Freesmile at 4-07-2010 06:22 PM (13 years ago)
nothing will happen, after all football is not the source of our economy wealth!
Posted: at 4-07-2010 06:22 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- ajanni at 4-07-2010 06:53 PM (13 years ago)
yes, but rather we waste so much on it , so let see the step the fifa will take
Posted: at 4-07-2010 06:53 PM (13 years ago) | Grande Master
- divineproject at 5-07-2010 01:06 PM (13 years ago)
We don already ban ourselves...........so if they suspend us, e no go too pain us.......only they might increase the ban....

Posted: at 5-07-2010 01:06 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- Freesmile at 5-07-2010 02:30 PM (13 years ago)
Thank you divine! Help me tell Ajanni to deport himself go Ghana becos dat guy dey behave like Ghanaian. Grin Grin Grin Let the Ban proceed!
Posted: at 5-07-2010 02:30 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- Mr-World at 5-07-2010 05:21 PM (13 years ago)
if FIFA descend on us, U will see GOODLUCK J, on T.V where he will kneel down begging them to forgive him

Posted: at 5-07-2010 05:21 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- MandateofGod at 5-07-2010 05:59 PM (13 years ago)
dp u be chamelion? why u dey change like change now. well sha na tru you talk, nothing dey happen, we go dey watch leagues and other tornaments, they can not ban that one.
Posted: at 5-07-2010 05:59 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- ajanni at 5-07-2010 11:24 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: Freesmile on  5-07-2010 02:30 PM
Thank you divine! Help me tell Ajanni to deport himself go Ghana becos dat guy dey behave like Ghanaian. Grin Grin Grin Let the Ban proceed!
hahhhaah , you well so Huh?Huh?? na you be ghana -ghana . me i be pure naija . you go soon tell me where you come from , you think say i no dey see you for kumasin there Huh?Huh??
Posted: at 5-07-2010 11:24 PM (13 years ago) | Grande Master
- ajanni at 5-07-2010 11:25 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: divineproject on  5-07-2010 01:06 PM
We don already ban ourselves...........so if they suspend us, e no go too pain us.......only they might increase the ban....

o yes , for sure
Posted: at 5-07-2010 11:25 PM (13 years ago) | Grande Master
- ajanni at 5-07-2010 11:29 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: Mr-World on  5-07-2010 05:21 PM
if FIFA descend on us, U will see GOODLUCK J, on T.V where he will kneel down begging them to forgive him

haahhah , medicine after the death Huh?Huh?Huh? Grin Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 5-07-2010 11:29 PM (13 years ago) | Grande Master
- hackynoni111 at 3-09-2015 11:31 AM (8 years ago)
phyuk fifa
Posted: at 3-09-2015 11:31 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac