Gunmen Abduct Nigerian Air Force Two-Star General, Smith In Lagos

Date: 28-09-2021 11:48 am (2 years ago) | Author: CLARA JANCITA
- at 28-09-2021 11:48 AM (2 years ago)

The gunmen were said to have whisked the retired general away in a waiting speedboat. Gunmen have abducted Air Vice Marshal Sikiru Smith (retd.), in the Ajah area of Lagos State.

Smith is a cousin to a former Inspector-General of Police and current Chairman of the Police Service Commission, Musiliu Smith.

According to Reporters, the retired general, who is currently the Chairman of Double Wealth Ventures Limited – a dredging and engineering firm – was supervising work on a site in the Ajah area of Lagos State on Monday when masked gunmen invaded the place and shot sporadically.

The gunmen were said to have whisked the retired general away in a waiting speedboat and sped away.

According to an SOS voice note shared by his driver, Corporal Odiji, the retired AVM engaged in a struggle with the gunmen before he was subdued.

Odiji stated,
“This is an emergency. I am Corporal Odiji attached to Air Vice Marshal Smith. They just abducted him from the site where we were working. Some gunmen who were wearing masks just came and snatched my boss now. They shot everywhere. I was near where I was fixing my boss’ vehicle.

“As I was coming, I saw them leaving in a boat but I wasn’t armed so I just ran to the site and I saw his glasses and where he struggled with them. Please pass this information. It is an emergency.”

When contacted on the telephone, the Spokesman for the Lagos State Police Command, Mr. Adekunle Ajisebutu, promised to make inquiries and give a detailed response in due course.

The Spokesman for the Air Force, Air Commodore Edward Gabkwet, also promised to make inquiries and provide information on the matter later.

AVM Smith was commissioned into the Nigerian Air Force as a Pilot Officer in 1979 and had a highly successful military officer that combined soldering with serious academic pursuit.

He holds BSc, MSc, MBA and PhD degrees. He is an Alumnus of Harvard University and fellow of many professional bodies including the Institute of Management, Nigeria.

Smith attended several military courses both locally and overseas which include flying and engineering. He was awarded numerous military decorations such as Distinguished Service Star, Pass Staff College (Dagger) and Fellow of the prestigious National Defence College.

The notable appointments he held include Commanding Officer Air Engineering Wing, Sierra Leone/Liberia; Commander, Nigerian Air Force Station, Calabar; Deputy Director, Air Engineering, Nigeria Air Force Headquarters, Abuja, Commander 333 Logistics Group, Kaduna, Commander, 401 Aircraft Maintenance Depot, Ikeja; Chief of Logistics, Nigerian Air Force Headquarters, Abuja and Chief of Defence Communications, Defence Headquarters, Abuja.

Posted: at 28-09-2021 11:48 AM (2 years ago) | Hero
- nikiniki at 28-09-2021 07:47 PM (2 years ago)
Money to be made!  Oya, the rich, he don reach your turn! We shall see
Posted: at 28-09-2021 07:47 PM (2 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Apache-AH64 at 29-09-2021 08:49 AM (2 years ago)
Just imagine this type of news .  This man has worked hard for his money and is still working even after retirement .  Clear evidence of a hard working individual .  Does it mean that no one is save in Nigeria these days . ?   Indiscriminate kidnapping  without meaning or sense.    Where is law and order in the society ?
Posted: at 29-09-2021 08:49 AM (2 years ago) | Newbie

1. Ex Super Eagles Player, Tijjani Babangida’s 1yrs Old Son Dies & Wife ‘Loses Eye’ in Car Crash

2. Two Guards Arrested In Oyo Private Varsity For R*ping Female Student

3. Ghana v Nigeria: Ghana, Medikal Sparks Uproar As He Declares He’s Richer Than Nigeria, Asake

4. Division Among Stakeholders Over Abysmal Performance Of Candidates In UTME

5. Floor Is Set,We’ll Dance, Anywhere We Meet – Ex-President Obasanjo Tells Gov. Adeleke

6. IBB Associate Debunks Death Rumour Of Former Military Head of State, Says Babangida Is Alive

7. EFCC To Join Forces With UK Prosecutors In Diezani’s Case, Seeks Access To Ex-Minister’s Assets

8. Burna Boy Framed Davido And Wizkid’s Picture In His House, Sparks Outrage

9. Mother’s Day; Burna Boy Gifts His Mum A Mercedes Benz Maybach (VIDEO)

10. I Was Offered Money To Impeach Fubara But We’ll Teach Them That....-Rivers Chief Of Staff Ehie

11. Aston Villa v Liverpool: English Premier League Match,Team News,Goal Scorers and Stats

12. "Tinubu Can Only Wish You Well" – Falana Wades In Wike, Fubara's Crisis

13. Alleged Notorious Boko Haram Terrorist Surrenders To Army In Borno

14. BREAKING: FG To Receive $2.25bn World Bank Loan, June

15. Nigerians Naïve To Understand Tinubu’s ‘Renewed Hope’ – Catholic Priest, Oluoma

16. "I Regret Opening Up On Weight Loss" - Real Warri Pikin Laments

17. Nigeria Looks More Like Murder Land Than Motherland Says Archbishop Onuoha

18. Lady Weeps After Property Her Family Bought In Lagos In February Got Demolished 2 Months After

19. JUST IN: 14 Abducted Confluence University Students In Kogi Regain Freedom

20. Singer Dr Sid And His Brothers Recreate Their Childhood Photo Forty Years After

1. POLITICAL TURMOIL UNVEILED! 'Wike Was Instrumental To Peter Obi's Exit From PDP' - Paul Ibe

2. Reactions as Naira Marley and Sam Larry Were Spotted Vibing to Portable's Diss Track About Them

3. Nigeria Rapper, Dremo Hits Back At Sarkodie’s Shade Of Nigeria’s Big 3 Artists With Diss Track

4. Lady Raises Alarm Over State of Actor, Nonso Diobi After Spotting Him in Her Area (Video)

5. Wetin She Wear - Movie Producer, Stanley Nwoko Mocks Destiny Etiko Over Her AMVCA Outfit

6. EFCC Boss, Olukoyede Faces Visa Ban Threat Over Yahaya Bello's Case

7. 'We Kidnap, Extort & Rap3 Male Victims' - Gang Of Homosegxwal Criminals Arrested In Lekki

8. Afrobeat Singer, Davido Blasts Popular Blog For Calling Him “Papa Ifeanyi”

9. Niger Speaker, Sarkindaji Initiates Mass Marriage For Orphaned Girls Affected By Banditry

10. Man Shoots Stepmom Who Tried To Give Him Hug During Graduation Ceremony