What is the importance of religion ? (Page 3)

Date: 08-11-2008 10:40 am (15 years ago) | Author: King Samuel O Dguy
1 2 [3] 4 5 6
- rbest at 9-05-2009 05:44 PM (14 years ago)
haba, ur view tooo long. we not fit read am beg. make am short so one can read it
Posted: at 9-05-2009 05:44 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- McBona at 12-05-2009 12:28 AM (14 years ago)
well, from Ma understanding...  I think neverdless the harm Religion had caused 'mostly' @ the origination... Religion in so many ways have helped Us out Governmentally.     #1. for adoptational initiatives.     #2. helped in building the constitutions, & making it moderate for Mankind.      #3. Without em Constitutions'  Religion was made & was adopted by Man... Man living via the influence of Religion today 've gat the fear of evil recompense, 'if' he/she lives a sinful life.

Religion enhanced the spirit of Love as dessiminated earlier by the Martyrs.

Neverdless, a particular sec. of Religion that uses the name of Religion in killing their fellow human being & believing they've done the right thing unto God by so doing!

Religion remains a very good source for Love/Good-Faith/Administration/Education & so many more beneficiaries unto Mankind..
Posted: at 12-05-2009 12:28 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- happy75 at 1-06-2009 08:54 PM (14 years ago)
we don't need religion b'cos that's what is killing us. We're always looking at religion instead of looking on God to teach us His word.
Posted: at 1-06-2009 08:54 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- nollylove at 2-06-2009 01:55 PM (14 years ago)
 Cool
Posted: at 2-06-2009 01:55 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- rbest at 2-06-2009 07:37 PM (14 years ago)
a beg make i pass
Posted: at 2-06-2009 07:37 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- hyke at 11-06-2009 06:59 AM (14 years ago)
Quote from: sanmight on  5-12-2008 01:54 AM
Religion to my understanding is the Culture of people’s beliefs.
Culture is the general accepted Values and norms of group of people, society or country. The fundamental blocks of culture are values and norms.
Values are abstract ideas about what a society believes to be good, right and desirable. Values affect everything, political and economy systems as well as culture. Values include attitudes towards concepts like freedom, honesty, loyalty, justice, responsibility and personal relations including marriage. Values shape individual behaviour by identifying appropriate and inappropriate forms of human interactions.
While Norms are social rules and guidelines that prescribe appropriate behaviours in particular situations. Norm shapes the action of people towards one another.
Religion as per what I can deduce from above explanations is just like cultural value. The general accepted principle of people’s beliefs as per nature, existence of humans, divine and how to worship God is religion. For instance almost if not all religions teaches the rich to protect or help the poor and also for the strong to protect the weak and so also all other general accepted appropriate behaviours in every society. People’s beliefs renew their minds towards a particular direction and mostly to God and good behaviours in the society; it teaches them to conform to the rules, regulations and expectations of their faith. It give them hope, peace and expectation of eternal life or after life as a believer and eternal condemnation to hell as non believer.
The all of the above, are the reasons why we have religion. It has been hijacked though for selfish individual or group ambitions and goals. People are brainwashed and mislead by using the power of their beliefs to set them against each other. We cannot say one religion is guilty and the other is not. All religion is now keg of gunpowder or let me say nuclear bombs ready to be detonated.
The power of religion both in the olden days and even now has shown that people’s beliefs are their existence. Through religion believers seek answers to creation so also through science the scientist or mostly non believers seek answers to evolution. Some of us believe that evolution is just the scientific finding of God’s creation but in whatever form we may elucidate it, religion is a very volatile and delicate property of our world.

she na note you con write here niiiiiii.if you must discuss any isssue ,it must be short and clear not this ...............thanks
Posted: at 11-06-2009 06:59 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- hyke at 11-06-2009 07:06 AM (14 years ago)
Instead of you people to search may be you mind is clean enough,than to think of discussing anything religion.this as create a lot of hatred in our society b4 we were born still yet we refuse to learn our lesson as the growing ones .so pls search for the word of God and follow it than to be bordering yourself about religion stuff. Lips Sealed
Posted: at 11-06-2009 07:06 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- herdeysohjy at 21-06-2009 06:13 PM (14 years ago)
The importance is much
Posted: at 21-06-2009 06:13 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- fireman at 21-06-2009 06:14 PM (14 years ago)
like...?

Posted: at 21-06-2009 06:14 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- bskez at 22-06-2009 07:41 AM (14 years ago)
Inspite of everything we've been blessed with(or even what we choose to believe),there is a void in us no one else would fill.So in humanity's state of not knowing(and searching to fill this void),they tried a lot of things they call religion. How can anyone go through life not knowing purpose? How can anyone go through life not knowing the one true God,and the gift of life He gave to us again through Jesus Christ His Son?
Posted: at 22-06-2009 07:41 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- myragonza at 22-06-2009 07:53 AM (14 years ago)
Quote from: dguy on  8-11-2008 10:40 AM
Why should we have a religion?

its where we put our faith and beliefs in

Posted: at 22-06-2009 07:53 AM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- GlamourPuss at 22-06-2009 11:03 AM (14 years ago)
so many reasons...
luk: functions of religion :
- educative
- regulative
- ideological
- compensative
- communicative

choose d ones dat suit 4u..
Posted: at 22-06-2009 11:03 AM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- Petosa at 24-06-2009 06:51 PM (14 years ago)
RELIGION IS THE OPIUM OF THE OPRESSED MASSES. BUT MY OWN FRIENDS ARE: "

1. WHO EVER DOES NOT CLOSE HIS EAR TO THE LAMENTATIONS OF THE MISERABLE, NOR HIS HEART TO GENTLE PITY.
2. WHOEVER IS A FRIEND AND BROTHER OF THE UNFORTUNATE
3. WHOEVER HAS A HEART CAPAPLE OF LOVE AND FRIENDSHIP
4. WHOEVER IS STEADFAST IN ADVERSITY, UNWEARIED IN THE CARRYING OUT OF WHATEVER HAS BEEN ONCE ENGAGED IN, UNDAUNTED IN THE OVERCOMING OF DIFFICULTIES.
5. WHOEVER DOES NOT MOCK AND DESPISE THE WEAK; WHOSE SOUL IS SUSCEPTIBLE OF CONCEIVING GREAT DESIGNS, DESIROUS OF RISING SUPERIOR TO ALL BASE MOTIVES, AND OF DISTINGUISHING ITSELF BY DEEDS OF BENEVOLENCE.
7. WHOEVER SHUNS IDLENESS.
8. WHOEVER CONSIDERS NO KNOWLEDGE AS UNESSENTIAL WHICH HE MAY HAVE THE OPPORTUNITY OF ACQUIRING, REGARDING THE KNOWLEDGE OF MANKIND AS HIS CHIEF STUDY.
9. WHOEVER, WHEN TRUTH AND VIRTUE ARE IN QUESTION, DESPISING THE APPROBATION OF THE MULTITUDE, IS SUFFICIENTLY COURAGEOUS TO FOLLOW THE DICTATES OF HIS OWN HEART IN DOING ONTO OTHERS AS HE WOULD WISH OTHERS DO UNTO HIM. SUCH A FELLOW IS MY RELIGIOUS FRIEND.[/color]]

1. WHO EVER DOES NOT CLOSE HIS EAR TO THE LAMENTATIONS OF THE MISERABLE, NOR HIS HEART TO GENTLE PITY.
2. WHOEVER IS A FRIEND AND BROTHER OF THE UNFORTUNATE
3. WHOEVER HAS A HEART CAPAPLE OF LOVE AND FRIENDSHIP
4. WHOEVER IS STEADFAST IN ADVERSITY, UNWEARIED IN THE CARRYING OUT OF WHATEVER HAS BEEN ONCE ENGAGED IN, UNDAUNTED IN THE OVERCOMING OF DIFFICULTIES.
5. WHOEVER DOES NOT MOCK AND DESPISE THE WEAK; WHOSE SOUL IS SUSCEPTIBLE OF CONCEIVING GREAT DESIGNS, DESIROUS OF RISING SUPERIOR TO ALL BASE MOTIVES, AND OF DISTINGUISHING ITSELF BY DEEDS OF BENEVOLENCE.
7. WHOEVER SHUNS IDLENESS.
8. WHOEVER CONSIDERS NO KNOWLEDGE AS UNESSENTIAL WHICH HE MAY HAVE THE OPPORTUNITY OF ACQUIRING, REGARDING THE KNOWLEDGE OF MANKIND AS HIS CHIEF STUDY.
9. WHOEVER, WHEN TRUTH AND VIRTUE ARE IN QUESTION, DESPISING THE APPROBATION OF THE MULTITUDE, IS SUFFICIENTLY COURAGEOUS TO FOLLOW THE DICTATES OF HIS OWN HEART IN DOING ONTO OTHERS AS HE WOULD WISH OTHERS DO UNTO HIM. SUCH A FELLOW IS MY RELIGIOUS FRIEND.
Posted: at 24-06-2009 06:51 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- Matteio at 8-07-2009 12:46 PM (14 years ago)
Life evolves around religion. WE OFTEN ASK OURSELVES MANY QUESTIONS ABOUT EVERYTHING THAT HAPPEN AND EXIST IN OUR WORLDS. EVERY ANSWER LEADS TO A QUESTION AND THE CHAIN GOES ON UNTIL THE ANSWERS ARE NO MORE AND WHAT DO WE DO WHEN IT ALL GOES BEYOND OUR ABILITY TO ANSWER... GOD KNOWS. BUT SOME RUN AROUND SPECULATING, THEREBY CREATING SOME SORTS OF RELIGIONS... YOU KNOW ABOUT THAT!
Posted: at 8-07-2009 12:46 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- olame4 at 10-07-2009 11:17 AM (14 years ago)
ask urself
Posted: at 10-07-2009 11:17 AM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- blauestern at 16-07-2009 06:52 PM (14 years ago)
religion , is the first stage on the path to descovering the truth behind the mystery of whom we are ....

religion takes on different cultural dresses determined by the environment .

all religions say thesame thing but have differing approaches due to culture of a place.

in discovering the truth of our origin , religion , is only the kindergarten stage ....

Posted: at 16-07-2009 06:52 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- MrDon at 17-07-2009 04:23 PM (14 years ago)
well the essence of any religion is to make man better.... there it left fort him to search and follow the religion of truth...........
Posted: at 17-07-2009 04:23 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- fireman at 18-07-2009 05:18 AM (14 years ago)
well still don't see the use of any religion except that they help to strengthen divisions.eg Nigeria

Posted: at 18-07-2009 05:18 AM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- herdeysohjy at 19-07-2009 06:10 PM (14 years ago)
Posted: at 19-07-2009 06:10 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- nellygold at 23-07-2009 07:31 AM (14 years ago)
Is to help us to have a recognition of God, n how to associate with d humanity......, but we 've been pushing it too far, as a result, there r many bad effects from dat.......
Posted: at 23-07-2009 07:31 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
1 2 [3] 4 5 6