Comedian Chris Rock 'Sought Therapy With His Daughters After Oscar Slap From Will Smith

Date: 18-09-2023 3:25 pm (1 year ago) | Author: onuigbo felicia
- at 18-09-2023 03:25 PM (1 year ago)

Comedian Chris Rock's close friend, Leslie Jones has revealed that he went for therapy with his daughters after the  'humiliating' Oscar slap from Will Smith.

Jones, 56, opened up to People about the March 2022 slap, which happened after Rock, 58, made a joke about Jada Pinkett Smith, 52, which Smith, 54, took offense to, which comes after Sean Penn stating that Smith undermined his Oscar win.

Jones revealed in a new interview with People that the slap was so 'humiliating' for Rock that he attended therapy with his daughters.

'That s**t was humiliating. It really affected him. People need to understand his daughters, his parents, saw that. He had to go to counseling with his daughters,' Jones said of Rock and daughters Lola, 21, and Zahra, 19.

Jones said the incident made her, 'so infuriated' that she was ready to head over there.

'You don't know that I was going to jump in my car and roll up there. I was so f***ing mad on so many levels,' Jones reveals.

The comedienne reveals in her book Leslie F***ing Jones (due out September 19) that she met Rock in the mid 90s and they've always had a special bond.

'He's like my brother,' she said, adding he threw her name in contention to land a spot on SNL in 2013, though she wasn't entirely convinced.

'I was like  "Why, those aren't real comics." He was like, "Shut up. You sound like an idiot,"'
Jones recalled.

Rock even wrote the foreward for Jones' new book, with the comedienne added, 'He's just always there to give me the perfect advice when I need it.'

She also revealed that, 'For a long a** time I was just mad. Chris Rock did a f***ing joke.'

'I know Will, too... I was like, you couldn't handle that s**t afterwards.

This is the Oscars. The whole world is watching,'
she said of the slap.

She added that when she spoke to Rock after the slap, she asked why he didn't run when he saw Smith taking to the stage.

'I was like, "Chris, when he got up why didn't you run?" I would've been running around that stage like "Will, calm down. Jada, call your man!"' Jones admitted.

Several minutes after the slap, Smith won his first Oscar for Best Actor for his performance in King Richard, with Jones admitting he still could have 'fixed' the slap during his speech.

'He could have still fixed it,' she said, adding she would hav said, 'I shouldn't have did that. Bring Chris out. I can not accept the Oscar right now because that was f***ing wrong.'"

'Everybody got pissed off about him doing a special. That's what comedians do," she says of his Selective Outrage standup special that debuted on Netflix this past March.

'Instead of us going crazy we f***ing go talk about it on the f***ing stage. Thank God we've got the stage,'
she admitted.

Posted: at 18-09-2023 03:25 PM (1 year ago) | Addicted Hero
- gogoman at 18-09-2023 09:30 PM (1 year ago)
can u see wetin women cause  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 18-09-2023 09:30 PM (1 year ago) | Grande Master

1. "How Sandra Duru Hired Me To Damage Natasha’s Reputation" – Journalist Confesses

2. Fire Guts Truck At Ibadan Mechanic Workshop, No Casualties Reported

3. Biology Teacher Who Has Been Teaching For 18 Years Cries Foul After Scoring 37 In UTME

4. "Afrobeats Is Not Akon's Creation" – Veteran Producer, ID Cabasa Fires Back At Singer's Claims

5. 16-Year-Old Maths Wizard, Olamide Aderibigbe Scores 336 Overall In UTME; Scores 98 in Maths

6. Lagos Police Foil Cult Meeting, Arrest Three, Recover Firearms in Elemoro

7. NDLEA Seizes Over 500kg Of Skunk In Bauchi Drug Bust;Two,Isaac Onogure & Ikechukwu Peter Nabbed

1. Lady Calls Out JAMB After Mysterious Overnight Change in Brother’s UTME Result

2. “He Got Me Pregnant”: Nigerian Lady Accuses Popular Pastor Of Sexual Misconduct In Viral Video

3. "Why Was I Held Hostage?" — VeryDarkMan Blasts GTBank Over EFCC Arrest Ordeal (Video)

4. Socialite, Pretty Mike Shows up to 2025 AMVCA Looking Like This... (Photos)

5. Pregnant Woman Dies Mid-operation As Jehovah’s Witness Doctor Refuses Blood Transfusion

6. Wizkid. Ayra Starr Face Backlash Over “Gimme Dat” Lyrics Allegedly Insensitive To Amadou Diallo

7. AMVCA 2025: Seven Doors & Lisabi: The Uprising Light Up Nollywood’s Biggest Night (Full Winners

8. Lagos Lady Recounts Ordeal in 'One Chance' Bus, Says She Was Hypnotized, Robbed & Abandoned

9. Chaos In Port Harcourt as Woman Acts Erratically After Alleged Drop-Off By Suspected Yahoo Boy

10. PHOTOS: How Your Favourite Celeb Stepped Out For 2025 For AMVCA Cultural Night