More Players Heading to China-Yakubu As Wigan Rejects Moses' Third Bid

Date: 19-07-2012 1:43 am (11 years ago) | Author: Omogbolahan Babs
- at 19-07-2012 01:43 AM (11 years ago)
Wigan Athletic chairman Dave Whelan claims he has rejected a third Chelsea bid for Victor Moses after again urging the Nigerian to stay.

The attacker has just one year left on his contract at Wigan and the 21-year-old has been linked with a summer move to several fellow Premier League clubs with Chelsea and Arsenal being the most prominent.

Chelsea appear to be leading the chase for the former Crystal Palace youngster and an initial offer of £3.5m was quickly turned down by the Latics. Reports from the Wigan camp claim that the European champions’ latest bid was £5m, but Whelan is adamant that Moses will not leave the club on the cheap. He is reportedly insisting on £10m or no transfer.

Whelan is prepared to listen to any further offers for Moses, but is not giving up hope that he can persuade the attacker to stay with Roberto Martinez’s side for at least another season.

“They’ve made three bids and we’ve not accepted any,” said Whelan in The Sun. “We’re still hoping that he signs an extended deal.

“They’ve all come in the last three weeks, but they’ve not offered enough. I don’t know if they’ll bid again, but if they do we always listen. And if it is what Roberto believes he is worth then we will take it from there. If the lad had any brains he’d stay under Roberto for another year or so.”

While Moses and Wigan haggle over transfer, his countryman Yakubu Aiyegbeni says there are a lot of players eyeing China.

Guangzhou R&F striker Rostyn Griffiths said his new teammate Yakubu told him that plenty of players are looking to come to China.

The Nigerian attacker left Blackburn Rovers to join the Chinese Super League club recently and revealed to his Australian mate that there were a few others in the same boat as himself and Shanghai Shenhua pair Nicolas Anelka and Didier Drogba who both departed Chelsea for China’s top flight.

“Yakubu reckons a lot of players he has played with are trying to get to China,” Griffiths told au.fourfourtwo.com. “I read that Drogba was saying the same thing. Hopefully that’s the case because they certainly have everything to make the Chinese league very strong and able to attract big players.

“Of course the league is getting a lot of hype because of Yakubu’s signing and the likes of Drogba. I think in China there is a feeling that it’s only going to get better.”

Posted: at 19-07-2012 01:43 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mallorca at 19-07-2012 10:58 AM (11 years ago)
China too na my final destination Smiley Smiley

Posted: at 19-07-2012 10:58 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Idbabe at 19-07-2012 01:43 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: mallorca on 19-07-2012 10:58 AM
China too na my final destination Smiley Smiley

Final destination as in u wan die put dia?  Just asking jare
Posted: at 19-07-2012 01:43 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- chicco77 at 25-01-2013 08:53 PM (11 years ago)
 Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 25-01-2013 08:53 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero