'How We Jumped Out Of Boko Haram Truck' - Girls Who Escaped Speak

Date: 04-05-2014 6:00 pm (9 years ago) | Author: Victor A. Ofoma
- at 4-05-2014 06:00 PM (9 years ago)

Punch interviews two of the girls who jumped out of the truck they were being transported in by Boko Haram men after the men stormed their school and kidnapped over 250 girls. Interview below

What is your name?
Sawok: My name is Amina Sawok.
Walse: My name is Thabita Walse.

Can you describe the attack on your school?
Sawok: We were in the hostel. One of the men dressed in military camouflage asked us where our dining hall was. From our hostels, they took us to the dining hall and from there, we were moved into the waiting vehicles and they headed towards Damboa town. The incident happened around 11pm.
Walse: It is a long story. They came to our school and deceived us into believing they were soldiers. They were dressed in military uniform and made us believe they were about rescuing us only for us to later find out that they were insurgents. When we discovered, it was already too late and there was little we could do. Continue...

At what point did you know they were not real soldiers but insurgents?
Sawok: They were shouting and rude. That was when it became clear to us that they were insurgents, then they started shooting and set our school on fire. They even shot the security men guarding the school.

How did you escape?
Sawok: I jumped out of the vehicle that looked like a truck.
Walse: Our vehicle developed a problem and they were forced to stop. I took the opportunity with some girls to run into a dark bush.

What gave you the courage to jump out of the vehicle?
Sawok: I have heard a lot about Boko Haram, the bad things they do and how they have killed many people in the state. I was afraid and I became desperate. I felt getting to their camp could be dangerous for me and it would be better if I escaped.  That gave me the courage to jump out.  I believed that I would only get injured since it was dark and they may not know how to look for me in the bush.

Did all the girls that escaped plan it?
Sawok: No, I believe the same thing was running through our minds. Immediately one of us jumped out, the rest of us just started following her.

Do you have any injury?
Sawok: No, I am very fine.

How do you feel about the others that were not able to escape?
Sawok: I would have loved all of us to escape.  I can’t celebrate my escape because some of my friends and classmates are still in the hands of the insurgents and I don’t know what they are facing. It is my prayer that they should be freed.
Walse: I have no problem, I am okay and very strong physically. The only problem I have is that some of my friends are still held hostage by terrorists.

Posted: at 4-05-2014 06:00 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Topsylucas at 4-05-2014 06:12 PM (9 years ago)
Ok,so what do we do now? We haven't see the pictures & full names of the remaining abducted girls. Who do we look 4?
Dis is the kind of intelligent questns jona & his ppl shd be asking so as 2 shun those branding this story as true if its actually a lie.
Posted: at 4-05-2014 06:12 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- emmasnetg at 4-05-2014 06:13 PM (9 years ago)
Thank God for U and the others that were able to escape from the hands of these BH people, i pray that they should pls allow the rest of the girls to go.
Posted: at 4-05-2014 06:13 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- humphreyedet at 4-05-2014 06:16 PM (9 years ago)
Dis once are d wise one..d rest wan go enjoy aboki rod...
Posted: at 4-05-2014 06:16 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- Wysetots at 4-05-2014 06:19 PM (9 years ago)
Weldone girl
Posted: at 4-05-2014 06:19 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- paulohking at 4-05-2014 06:42 PM (9 years ago)
eeeeeeeya, congrats gals, may God save others too IJN
Posted: at 4-05-2014 06:42 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- dynasty4all at 4-05-2014 06:51 PM (9 years ago)
MY PEOPLE, SPIRIT OF ISLAM IS DEMONIC.
Posted: at 4-05-2014 06:51 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- daveobahon at 4-05-2014 07:00 PM (9 years ago)
pictures pls
Posted: at 4-05-2014 07:00 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- h_kingsman at 4-05-2014 07:00 PM (9 years ago)
Who cares??  Angry daughters of boko harams Roll Eyes
Posted: at 4-05-2014 07:00 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- EmekaBlue at 4-05-2014 07:01 PM (9 years ago)
Boko really surprised Nigeria..Unpredicted terror! I miss abacha here
Posted: at 4-05-2014 07:01 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- daveobahon at 4-05-2014 07:02 PM (9 years ago)
pictures of d interview pls
Posted: at 4-05-2014 07:02 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- EmekaBlue at 4-05-2014 07:04 PM (9 years ago)
Quote from: h_kingsman on  4-05-2014 07:00 PM
Who cares??  Angry daughters of boko harams Roll Eyes
These girls r all muslims but Nigeria christains still fight and urge d govt to work on their release but they r just wicked to us...Muslims r selfish 4real..I c ur point! iys high time we dnt care too
Posted: at 4-05-2014 07:04 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- blensey at 4-05-2014 07:06 PM (9 years ago)
COURAGEOUS GIRLS

Thank GOD for your lives.

And for the ones captured, GOD in HIS infinite merices will see them through IN JESUS NAME AMEN
Posted: at 4-05-2014 07:06 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- wizsky at 4-05-2014 07:22 PM (9 years ago)
You are really gals
Posted: at 4-05-2014 07:22 PM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- realbaby2 at 4-05-2014 07:32 PM (9 years ago)
God we are in ur Hands
Posted: at 4-05-2014 07:32 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- angesco at 4-05-2014 07:34 PM (9 years ago)
Quick thinking intelligent girls.

Thats what comes with education - the one thing BK hate!

Posted: at 4-05-2014 07:34 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- FBI__CIA at 4-05-2014 07:38 PM (9 years ago)
Just stop by to say Hi
Posted: at 4-05-2014 07:38 PM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- klinhear at 4-05-2014 07:41 PM (9 years ago)
There is something missing hear...how can some of those girls jump out of the vehicle in a forest they have never been to and the Insurgent just let them go like that without going after them or even scaring them with gunshots...I think this girls should be questioned or investigated.
Posted: at 4-05-2014 07:41 PM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- newmanchima at 4-05-2014 07:48 PM (9 years ago)
honestly this girls showed in the picture are fake......... the Nigeria SSS need to call the attention of the principal, teachers of the school to provide to the national television the details of this girls. i strongly believe that this lost of girls in Nigeria is a political game. As we all hard the missing of Malaysia airline  which we all see the prove of the passengers.  You cant wake up one morning and begin to fake us with this political game without prove.

Posted: at 4-05-2014 07:48 PM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- newmanchima at 4-05-2014 07:55 PM (9 years ago)
As said by Mr President that some of the girls was found by the police, please can the Nigeria police bring those girls to Abuja for more questing? including this two girls appeared in the picture here on naijapals.com.   
Posted: at 4-05-2014 07:55 PM (9 years ago) | Newbie