Six Times Foreign People And Media Have Unfairly Called Nigerians Scammers

Date: 24-02-2016 4:56 pm (8 years ago) | Author: CLARA JANCITA
- at 24-02-2016 04:56 PM (8 years ago)

Nigerians are some of the most hard working people on earth. Their ability to persevere no matter the adversity they face is something Innate.  Among these hard working people are honest people who no matter the situation will not break the law, even when it means they won’t be caught.
Case in point is Miss Josephine Agwu; the woman that returned the money which was misplaced at the airport. She is not the only one, there are a thousand and one similar stories like this that happen every day in Nigeria, unfortunately these stories are hardly ever reported. We have Nigerians who are doing exceedingly well both home and abroad, but again these stories are never reported.
They have been overshadowed by the actions of a few people and unfortunately the media and foreigners have succeeded in selling to the world that we are nothing but scammers.
Let us count down the times we were unfairly kicked down
Ginuwine

This is the most recent scenario. The singer alleged that a Facebook page in his name had been opened by someone to scam people and instead of condemning the act, distancing himself from it and moving on, he decided to ignorantly blame Nigerians alleging that it must have been the work of a Nigerian. He has however deleted the post and apologized after Nigerians attacked him over his comment.
Ted Cruz

Back in 2013, now American presidential hopeful, Ted Cruz took a swipe at one of Pres. Obamas programs, Affordable Care Act whose website was having issues and somehow he also decided to shade Nigerians in the process.
“You know the Nigerian e-mail scammers? They have been a lot less active lately because they have all been hired to run the Obamacare web site.”

Nigerians around the world rose up to condemn his words which forced him to apologize.
The Huffing Post……..
The respected news site wrote an article where they criticized American presidential hopeful, Donald Trump. The title of the article read “Is Donald Trump Pulling a Nigerian 419 Scam?”
While berating Donald Trump, they also took a swipe at Nigerians in the article. Read excerpts below……
He also knows he has zero chance of winning the Republican nomination for a billion reasons.So he did a classic marketing strategy. He did the Nigerian 419 scam.The Nigerian 419 strategy is to have a misspelled email from the son of some deceased Prince who needs all your bank info in order to release $20 million that he will eagerly split with you. Then he steals all of your money.
Why is the email misspelled? After decades of Nigerians sending the exact same email, why is it always mis-spelled? And, by the way, the OFFICIAL LANGUAGE OF NIGERIA IS ENGLISH.
Gabrielle Union in BETs ‘'Being Mary Jane”

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=78OAtDZBgXA" target="_blank" class="aeva_link bbc_link new_win" rel="nofollow">http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=78OAtDZBgXA</a>

Being Mary Jane is a show that is shown on BET network. It is a show where Gabrielle Union plays the role of Mary Jane. It centres on her life…from work to romance. But another distinct thing about the show (that I like) is that it also sheds light on some of the challenges being faced by people in the black community. From harassment of young black people to stereotypes that black people are subjected to, the show addresses it all. So you can imagine my surprise and disappointment when an episode of the show was aired and the main character Mary Jane took a swipe at Nigerians +
Her friend in the show who was going away to Nigeria tried consoling her that they would communicate via the Internet to which she replied
“You know that is not why Nigerians use the internet…….Email scams”!

It is ironic because the show addresses the issue of stereotypes but they ended up doing the same to Nigerians.
President Buhari

This is perhaps the most painful, as it was allegedly said by our president. He reportedly collaborated the view of most foreigners that we have a reputation for crime.
"Some Nigerians claim is that life is too difficult back home, but they have also made it difficult for Europeans and Americans to accept them because of the number of Nigerians in prisons all over the world accused of drug trafficking or human trafficking. I don't think Nigerians have anybody to blame. They can remain at home, where their services are required to rebuild the country."

Most Nigerians found his words hurtful with so many of them condemning his words, one of whom is outspoken senator, Sen Ben Bruce…..
“But why will a President go abroad to say with his own mouth that his own people have a reputation for crime?
“President @MBuhari, Nigerians are not criminals. Nigerians are honest hardworking people. #IAmANigerianNotACriminal. If you agree you are a criminal, who am I to disagree? But certainly in the case of my followers and I, he is lying!”

Despite the way the world sees us, we Nigerians are not criminals. We may have a few people tarnishing our name and reputation abroad (which society dosen’t?), but that should not take away or diminish the honesty and hard work of great Nigerians like Wole Soyinka, Ufot Ekong, Dr Opeyemi Enoch, Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie and a host of other wonderful Nigerians including readers of this blog.

Posted: at 24-02-2016 04:56 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Chericoco at 24-02-2016 05:02 PM (8 years ago)
I don't blame those people for calling Nigerians scammers. Nigerians made them calling Nigerians scammers.
Posted: at 24-02-2016 05:02 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Eazyatumeyi at 24-02-2016 05:05 PM (8 years ago)
Hmmm, all these are provoking.
Posted: at 24-02-2016 05:05 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Mykie010 at 24-02-2016 05:06 PM (8 years ago)
This is rather unfortunate, Nigerians wouldn't have enters into crime,had it been that we did not have d likes of dasuki,Jonathan, army generals,obj abubakar,babangida,abacha,olisah metuh,tinubu,amaechi,etc,etc
Posted: at 24-02-2016 05:06 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- freethinker at 24-02-2016 05:13 PM (8 years ago)
BLAME BUHARI, DON'T BLAME
Posted: at 24-02-2016 05:13 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 24-02-2016 05:15 PM (8 years ago)
say whatever!! na una get una mouth.. no be today he no pain me
Posted: at 24-02-2016 05:15 PM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- okatee at 24-02-2016 05:30 PM (8 years ago)
ANYHW ANYWAY ANYWHERE ANYTYM ANYCITY, I WIL ALWAYZ REP NAIJA.
Posted: at 24-02-2016 05:30 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Powerfulify at 24-02-2016 06:17 PM (8 years ago)
Ben Bruce my senator carry go.
Posted: at 24-02-2016 06:17 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kison at 24-02-2016 07:17 PM (8 years ago)
CHANNELS TV NEWS @10PM.....NONSENSE..THEY HAVE TO be careful,to be very very careful, CAREFULLLLLLLLL...............
Posted: at 24-02-2016 07:17 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- kp45 at 24-02-2016 07:31 PM (8 years ago)
Screw una jare........
Posted: at 24-02-2016 07:31 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- eric2000 at 24-02-2016 07:35 PM (8 years ago)
Nigerians are scammers period
Posted: at 24-02-2016 07:35 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Machealex at 24-02-2016 07:53 PM (8 years ago)
Na dem get their mouth.
Posted: at 24-02-2016 07:53 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- nwaafoigbo at 24-02-2016 08:27 PM (8 years ago)
thank god they say nigerian the zoo..........thank god im from the great biafran..in biafra we stand.all hail biafra
Posted: at 24-02-2016 08:27 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- ujmaria at 24-02-2016 08:33 PM (8 years ago)
No be them be baba for fraud, make they go Sidon
Posted: at 24-02-2016 08:33 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mr2lydreal at 24-02-2016 08:47 PM (8 years ago)
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VT_WYcY2Mcg" target="_blank" class="aeva_link bbc_link new_win" rel="nofollow">http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VT_WYcY2Mcg</a>

Posted: at 24-02-2016 08:47 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- BournIdentity at 24-02-2016 09:44 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: christian eze on 24-02-2016 08:27 PM
thank god they say nigerian the zoo..........thank god im from the great biafran..in biafra we stand.all hail biafra
Biafra ewu, cos say u cari cross no mean say all is well with u. Ur ancestors don invoke d mad people wey die 4 ur Biafra zoo make u b dier boy-boy. Make u dey mad dey go, nothing do u.. street plenty 4 u ewu malu
Posted: at 24-02-2016 09:44 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- SOGaiya at 24-02-2016 09:53 PM (8 years ago)
I Read
Posted: at 24-02-2016 09:53 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- SOGaiya at 24-02-2016 09:56 PM (8 years ago)
I Read
Posted: at 24-02-2016 09:56 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- emma4love3 at 24-02-2016 10:46 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: efe meana on 24-02-2016 10:25 PM
Tonto Dikeh and Koranzo Doing Something Weird in Her Bedroom Despite She is Attach To a Man
WATCH THE VIDEO HERE:

.....come young man take this your video advert to somewhere no give us virus here....
Posted: at 24-02-2016 10:46 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- emma4love3 at 24-02-2016 10:48 PM (8 years ago)
yes is good for them to call us that.....
our own is too much the news is all over
how nigerians run to all corners of the world
and scam.....
Posted: at 24-02-2016 10:48 PM (8 years ago) | Hero

1. I Never Wanted Him to Play Chess - Record Breaker, Tunde Onakoya's Dad Breaks Silence (Video)

2. One Dead, Three Injured, N8.7m Recovered On Kaduna Road Crash

3. Court Strikes Out Suit Seeking Ro Remove Hannatu Musawa As Minister As She's A Serving NYSC Mem

4. "End This Hiding, Submit Yourself To The Law" - Ologbondiyan To Yahaya Bello

5. APC Youths Besiege APC Secretariat, Demand Fresh Primary Election In Ondo

6. Police Inspector Sunday Baba Shot Dead By Gunmen In Rivers

7. "Davido Was The First Big Artiste Who Supported My Career" - Skitmaker, Sabinus

8. My Father Raised Me To Be A Modern Day Man – DJ Cuppy Praises Billionaire Father, Otedola

9. UPDATE: Security Operatives Launch Manhunt For 109 Fleeing Inmates Of Suleja Prison

10. Two Chinese Men, Company Docked By EFCC Over Illegal Mining Activities

11. Korra Obidi’s Ex, Justin Dean Laments As His 4Yr Old Daughter Twerks Like Mother

12. Despite Devilish Conspiration, Air Peace To Begin Abuja-London Flights

13. I'm Yet To Be Contacted By NFF – Peseiro Breaks Silence On Super Eagles' Return

4. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

5. Ex-Nigerian Customs Sole Administrator, Omlago Ango Damages Estranged Wife's Abuja Home

6. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So

7. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office

8. VID: Peter Obi Replies Critics Asking Him Why He Didn't Build a School in Anambra as a Governor